We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel is part of the Havana-experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nacional de Cuba

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Save
You added Hotel Nacional de Cuba to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 21 y O | Vedado, Plaza, Havana 10400, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Havana
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This Hotel is part of the Havana-experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Not the best rooms, nor the best food or service you can experience, but regardless of that the best place to stay in Havana. Location is good. Pool-area ok. Food ok. Buena Vista Social Club-concert great. But the thing with this place is the building in itself and its history! A must do in Havana.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    1,276
    607
    236
    125
See reviews for
411
1,546
200
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We started our holiday of Cuba here at the Nacional. It is an impressive building, all air conditioned which is a huge bonus! It has a traditional Cuban feel, but is clean and tidy. To get into the centre of Havana it would cost about 5 CUC in an average taxi and 10 CUC in a cool old fashioned car which are all readily available outside the hotel 24/7. There are 3 restaurants at the hotel, catering for all price ranges. We tried the basic cafe one night before the show and it was good cheap food with friendly service. Breakfast was great, plenty of food to select from a great start for the day. Take your water bottle to fill it up here for the day.

We had a sea view room, with comfy beds, a clean en-suite, a clear TV (limited English channels) and two rocking chairs. I have read on here that some people found this side noisy but I didnt hear a thing and went straight to sleep. You do have to pay for your safety deposit box, 2 CUC a day (£1.50).

If you go on a day trip remember to change your money the day before at the hotel because the Exchange desk opens at 9, too late for most trips that depart before then. Do not expect a welcoming smile though, we were told how friendly Cubans are but didnt find that the staff reflected this. Outside of the hotel the Cubans were super friendly and helpful. The spoken English of the staff is OK at the hotel. If you want to make a call to your rep you will be charged for the call which I think is a shame for such a nice hotel.

We also went to the Cabaret Parisien, 10pm - 12pm, which was interesting and a lot cheaper than the Tropicana. It was a very colourful show, one men would enjoy more than women possibly. The dancing was good as were the singing but it wasnt a running story so for non Spanish speakers I couldnt follow the songs that were being sang. Id get there around 9:45 to get a better table.

I wouldnt stay at the hotel again because of the location and the lack of friendly staff, I would certainly advise visiting the hotel for its history and stature but would stay closer to the Capitol building towards the old city more.

Room Tip: I would go for the higher floors they seemed to be nicer with better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of US professors staying for a week here. Excellant place, food inbuffet was great, but by the end of the week it became mundane. Staff in all areas were great. One member of our group had to see the hotel doctor, the MD was great and even made a house call to the ill persons room!
Rooms are clean and safe, great outdoor seating for people watching or having a cold Cristal!
Not to miss!
Would not wanted to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear customer, we are very pleased to receive your comments to the Trip advisor Community, it was very good that you enjoyed your stay in the Hotel. We appreciate your comments about the politeness of our staff. You are right, nothing better than a coctel or a beer Cristal very cold in our garden.
We hope to have you again in our hotel on your next visit to Havana.
Best regards,
Antonio Martínez Rodríguez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here with my family for 3 nights at the end of July 2013. Located on the coast about 5 mins from the old town by taxi.

Location and walking the streets:

Quite at night with very limited restaurants in the near location. Plenty of food options at the hotel to compensate. Locals friendly enough with no issues on crime. I was warned to take off my gold chain in the old town. Silver chains apparently are not an issue. I was wearing a Breitling wrist watch all the time whilst in Havana, got some looks but more for respect than threats of theft, so no problems there.

The Hotel:

Food is very good. Four main places to eat. 1, the bar at the pool. Simple snacks but great prices and great food 10 CCP P/P. 2, The main restaurant buffet in the basement, great breakfast and great evening meals, lots to choose from and meets international needs for all. CCP 25 P/P for evening meal. 3, the restaurant at the end of the reception lobby. Superb quality and food and works out about 25 CCP P/P. 4, Cafe in the basement. Open 24 hours (room service performed from this cafe). Supplies good quality simple food for 10 CCP P/P.

There are further drinks bars in the gardens which supply good cocktails etc.

The pool is great and the area catches the sun all the day through. Kids had a great time.

Wifi is available but at a cost. No idea of performance as I refused to pay for the service due to the cost.

The room(s):

Clean but a little dated. This is typical for Cuba so don't compare to the Holiday Inn etc that gets decorated every 6 months. Very comfy and air con worked a treat. No problems with the room.

The staff:

Great friendly people. If you offer small tips (1 CCP), you will be served quickly and efficiently. These people are not wealthy and survive on tips. If they see you tipping, you will be attended to as a priority.

Summary: A great hotel for visiting Havana. Wifi should be free allowing business travelers to perform their work.

Room Tip: Be clear to the staff of your expectations and converse in a simple English language. Speak in a cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear customer, We are very pleased to receive your comments to the Trip advisor Community, we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the quality of our food and the friendliness and professionalism of our staff. Our hotel has different places to enjoy: pools, Cabaret show and the garden.
A greetings to you and your family, we hope to have you again in our hotel on your next visit to Havana.

Antonio Martinez Rodriguez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Built by the Mafia in 1930 and hardly changed. Imagine yourself in an old movie and you are there. Dated and tired, but full of character. Rooms basic, but clean and comfortable. Don't expect much from the wifi - it works - slowly!!! Bars and drinks outside with wonderful gardens and views. Two nice pools. Good location. Breakfast buffet loads to choose from. Staff very helpful. Air conditioned throughout.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the sea on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELNACIONAL, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are very pleased to receive your comments to the Trip advisor Community. You will enjoy our services. Our hotel has a great arquitecture, two pools and the garden are beautiful places, from our garden you will enjoy a unique view enjoying a cuban cocktail.
We hope to welcome back with us in the hotel,
Best regards,
Belkys Berros.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just home from a fabulous two week holiday in Cuba. Spent 3 nights in Havana to begin with at the Hotel Nacional and then 11 nights in Varadero. Beautiful old hotel, stunning views from the rooms and outside bar areas. Breakfast was extensive with everything you could wish for, cooked or continental. Service from the staff in the Breakfast buffet was good and they were very friendly. Rooms smelt damp but they provide a dehumidifier to take the smell away. Our shower was cold and we had to ask 3 times to get it fixed however it finally got done and we had nice hot water. The hotel is about 5km from the old town however the walk along the Malecon (Seafront) is lovely and therefore it didn't feel that far away. The Parisien show at the hotel was good however it was on quite late (10pm-12pm) therefore we were falling asleep half way through!! The two pools are also very nice, the curved shaped pool has a nice ledge around its whole perimter so you can sit in the water! Would thoroughly recommend this hotel, lovely hotel to come back after a busy hot day exploring the fascinating city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea for good views. Ask for a room overlooking the front of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Overall a very good hotel. Very nice breakfast buffet, great pool area and spacious rooms. The rooms are not of the newest kind and our bathroom couldn't be looked. In general it was very cold inside the hotel. The biggest con is that it is taxi distance to get into old Havana.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest, We are very pleased to received your comments to the trip advisor community. It is our purpose you enjoy your stay in our Hotel with our services and the unique view and ubication in Havana.
We welcome you back in our hotel for your visit to Havana, Cuba.
Best regards,
Antonio Martínez Rodríguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nacional de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Address: Calle 21 y O | Vedado, Plaza, Havana 10400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Havana
#6 Business Hotel in Havana
#8 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nacional de Cuba 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Also Known As:
Nacional De Cuba Hotel
Nacional De Cuba Havana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nacional de Cuba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.