We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Paladar in Playa.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doctor Cafe

Doctor Cafe
Calle 28, between 1 & 3, Miramar, Havana, Cuba
(53 7) 203-4718
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 465 Restaurants in Havana
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“A Good Paladar in Playa.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Doctor Cafe (the owner is the doctor) is a paladar beside and behind a private house in Playa. There is a covered patio with a BBQ and a separate bar/kitchen/dining room on the north side of the house and a private garden for groups of 12 or so behind the house. The menu varies with availability. The service is friendly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loreto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Small and intimate Restaurant with great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I discovered "Doctor Cafe" on my last trip to Havana and will definitely make many return trips. It is a small restaurant with seating for 18 out in the patio area and 12 seats in the air-conditioned main room. The decor is very inviting but the food is the highlight of the place. Myself and my friend enjoyed an outstanding appetizer of shredded crab in a tomato and pepper sauce and it was as good as the same dish prepared in Baracoa. For the main course I had a grilled chicken breast that was moist and flavored with olive oil and garlic. My friend enjoyed the catch of the day and it was cooked to perfection as well. The wait staff ( Jesus and Diosvani) were super attentive and suggested a great wine for our meal. The owner Juan Carlos also has a room for private functions that will seat up to 10 people. The day we were there a Spanish film crew were doing an interview with the owner and I am sure that will only add to the popularity of the place. A little out of the way in Miramar and no menu are the only small negatives but the food and atmosphere make up for it. It's on my list of favorites now!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A new so call ' parador'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

a private restaurant in a private house, not a great location but at least with some friend a nice evening - no menu - just proposal of the chef.. Langust, fish. salad...

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocas Del Toro
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fine intimate dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

A bit pricey though the quality of everything we had was excellent. Grilled Pulpo as a shared starter done to perfection. The Mrs had a fillet steak that was cooked as she wanted and very tender. I had snapper fillet and we shared a plate of grilled Veggies that is to die for. All washed down with a bottle of wine.All in all very nice home with great service. The "verbal" menu changes daily and was extensive, can include Bambi, Alligator or Turtle.
We will be back.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
“Great for BBQ, Original Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Doctor Cafe is one of the most consistent restaurants in Havana, and that's quite something to say. Good ingredients too. Yet, on the odd occasion cooking can be sloppy, such as the overboiled molluscs or overcooked fish.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doctor Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Doctor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doctor Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.