We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just off Plaza Vieja - Buy Tickets for the Show and Drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Taberna

Cafe Taberna
Calle Mercaderes #531 | esquina Brasil (Teniente Rey), Havana, Cuba
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 446 restaurants in Havana
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Kauai, Hawaii
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Just off Plaza Vieja - Buy Tickets for the Show and Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is the best spot to enjoy Buena Vista Social Club music with a 10+ member band and a great location right in the heart of Havana Vieja. I purchased my tickets the day of the show at my hotel for 30 CUC, which includes 3 drinks (Mojito, Cubalibre, beer, etc.). The group started at 9:45 and was done by 11:00. It was an impressive group with various vocalists, numerous horns, percussion out of this world, and dancers that sparked the audience to get involved as well.
This is a must experience in Havana. I would suggest skipping the meal and do the after dinner drinks and dinner. Afterwards, we walked through Havana Vieja to the Malecon at night admiring the lovers on the Malecon, the stars, and the fort.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    52
    40
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good music, convenient location relative to our hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We opted for a night out at Cafe Taberna cos truth be told, we were on our second last night in Cuba and by that time, we had already run out of mostly cash / CUCs. Seeing as we would not have to spend on taxi fare going out to casa de la musica (we could walk to Cafe Taberna from Iberostar Parque Central where we were staying) we opted to buy ourselves tickets to the Buena Vista Social Club music performance night at Cafe Taberna. The tickets entitled us to several mojitos each. As it would turn out, it was an enjoyable night out for Cuban music, some dancing, the band was excellent and the crowd (all tourists) was lively and participatory.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but don't bother with the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Loved the atmosphere and music here, although once away from Havana felt we got more authentic atmosphere elsewhere. I really enjoyed it but the food was very poor given we had paid 50CUC per person (which did include 3 mohitos). No need to dine so I would suggest you just go and dance and drink and skip the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Buena Vista Social Club Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere and a great show, loved the older members particularly. Drinks were fine as was food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very Good, Expensive but Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We ate here the first night in havana and we saw Buena Vista Social Club. The live was great and the lobster also. The price was about 50 $ but havana is expensive anyway so it worth it

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Taberna also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Taberna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Taberna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.