We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere but don't bother with the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Taberna

Cafe Taberna
Calle Mercaderes #531 | esquina Brasil (Teniente Rey), Havana, Cuba
Improve this listing
Ranked #146 of 515 Restaurants in Havana
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Reservations
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but don't bother with the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Loved the atmosphere and music here, although once away from Havana felt we got more authentic atmosphere elsewhere. I really enjoyed it but the food was very poor given we had paid 50CUC per person (which did include 3 mohitos). No need to dine so I would suggest you just go and dance and drink and skip the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    57
    22
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Buena Vista Social Club Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere and a great show, loved the older members particularly. Drinks were fine as was food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Good, Expensive but Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We ate here the first night in havana and we saw Buena Vista Social Club. The live was great and the lobster also. The price was about 50 $ but havana is expensive anyway so it worth it

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a night!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This place is a gem! It was recommended to us by a local taxi driver who drove us into town. It was 30 CUC each for entry and we got 3 cocktails included. The venue was absolutely buzzing, everyone was up clapping and dancing Salsa down the aisles. Absolutely fantastic. The music was incredible!! Exceptional Cuban experience!!! A*****

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best night in Havana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

If you enjoy The Buena Vista Social Club's music then this is the place to go.
Paid 40 CUCs each for 2 cocktails and a 3 course meal and the entertainment. Well worth the money.
The food was ok.My husband is a vegetarian and they made a special meal for him. But it's the music you come for and that was fantastic. If you can only spend one evening in Havana this should be the place to go.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Taberna also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Taberna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Taberna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.