We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a night!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Taberna

Cafe Taberna
Calle Mercaderes #531 | esquina Brasil (Teniente Rey), Havana, Cuba
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 443 restaurants in Havana
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What a night!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This place is a gem! It was recommended to us by a local taxi driver who drove us into town. It was 30 CUC each for entry and we got 3 cocktails included. The venue was absolutely buzzing, everyone was up clapping and dancing Salsa down the aisles. Absolutely fantastic. The music was incredible!! Exceptional Cuban experience!!! A*****

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    50
    36
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best night in Havana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

If you enjoy The Buena Vista Social Club's music then this is the place to go.
Paid 40 CUCs each for 2 cocktails and a 3 course meal and the entertainment. Well worth the money.
The food was ok.My husband is a vegetarian and they made a special meal for him. But it's the music you come for and that was fantastic. If you can only spend one evening in Havana this should be the place to go.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Not very exciting for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

In the evenings this is the home of the famous Buena Vista Social Club musicians (or rather their successors), but we happened to have lunch in Café Taberna. If you’re walking around in Old Havana this is a reasonable option, with rather mediocre food, and a live show: a band with a dancing couple. The place is clean, the service fast and friendly, prices not too high for such an obviously touristic place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“The show is a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have seen the show four times and everytime was a great experience. The show starts promptly at 9:30pm and ends approximately 11:10pm with non-stop excellent entertainment. Currently priced at 35 CUCs (about US$34) and well worth it. The cost covers two drinks and light snacks. I have not eaten the food here other than the snacks so only commenting on this must-see show.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It's so powerful and beautiful to see them perform!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

If you like Buena Vista Social Club, you have to come here. Even though most of the original members had passed away, the spirit and soul are still here, alive!

It's a very big venue, they host big tour groups, for dinner and show. We stopped by in the early afternoon, wanted to get tickets for that night. They told us, it's sold out. But they could put extra two high chairs at the end of the bar.
Okay. We paid USD$35 each, it came with one or two drinks. We didn't want the meal here.

We came by at 9 pm, show starts at 9:30 pm. It was packed. We saw our seats were taken, my boyfriend was upset. I knew they will figure something out. Sure enough, now we had to sit inside the bar at front (the only place they could squeeze couple bar chairs in) which is much better, very close to the stage, great!!

Even better, this beautiful friendly woman sitting on the other side of the bar from us turned out to be the manager of the band, she sings with them too.
Wish I could speak Spanish better to talk to her.

Those old guys put out incredible great show! The youngest member is 79 and oldest one is 84 now. They could still sing and dance perfectly well and have fun. It's so powerful and beautiful to see them perform. It's the most unforgettable evening in Havana!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Taberna also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Taberna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Taberna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.