We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best night in Havana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Taberna

Cafe Taberna
Calle Mercaderes #531 | esquina Brasil (Teniente Rey), Havana, Cuba
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 453 Restaurants in Havana
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best night in Havana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

If you enjoy The Buena Vista Social Club's music then this is the place to go.
Paid 40 CUCs each for 2 cocktails and a 3 course meal and the entertainment. Well worth the money.
The food was ok.My husband is a vegetarian and they made a special meal for him. But it's the music you come for and that was fantastic. If you can only spend one evening in Havana this should be the place to go.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    41
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Not very exciting for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

In the evenings this is the home of the famous Buena Vista Social Club musicians (or rather their successors), but we happened to have lunch in Café Taberna. If you’re walking around in Old Havana this is a reasonable option, with rather mediocre food, and a live show: a band with a dancing couple. The place is clean, the service fast and friendly, prices not too high for such an obviously touristic place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“The show is a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have seen the show four times and everytime was a great experience. The show starts promptly at 9:30pm and ends approximately 11:10pm with non-stop excellent entertainment. Currently priced at 35 CUCs (about US$34) and well worth it. The cost covers two drinks and light snacks. I have not eaten the food here other than the snacks so only commenting on this must-see show.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It's so powerful and beautiful to see them perform!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

If you like Buena Vista Social Club, you have to come here. Even though most of the original members had passed away, the spirit and soul are still here, alive!

It's a very big venue, they host big tour groups, for dinner and show. We stopped by in the early afternoon, wanted to get tickets for that night. They told us, it's sold out. But they could put extra two high chairs at the end of the bar.
Okay. We paid USD$35 each, it came with one or two drinks. We didn't want the meal here.

We came by at 9 pm, show starts at 9:30 pm. It was packed. We saw our seats were taken, my boyfriend was upset. I knew they will figure something out. Sure enough, now we had to sit inside the bar at front (the only place they could squeeze couple bar chairs in) which is much better, very close to the stage, great!!

Even better, this beautiful friendly woman sitting on the other side of the bar from us turned out to be the manager of the band, she sings with them too.
Wish I could speak Spanish better to talk to her.

Those old guys put out incredible great show! The youngest member is 79 and oldest one is 84 now. They could still sing and dance perfectly well and have fun. It's so powerful and beautiful to see them perform. It's the most unforgettable evening in Havana!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Entertainment Not To Be Missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

(This review is based solely on the entertainment.) The well-known Buena Vista Social Club entertainers perform here almost every night at 9:30--reservations required.Make your reservations upon your arrival because the taverna fills quickly. Occasionally they perform at another club, so check when making reservations. I felt lucky to see these performers in a small venue. Each performer was fantastic, enjoyed performing, and can still "move" on the dance floor.There was also a couple who performed dancing during some of the songs. For 30 CUCs you get 1 mojito and a small plate of cheese and crackers. We didn't eat dinner there, but it looked as though there is a nightly special which I saw on all the plates. But who needs to eat when there is wonderful, must-see entertainment?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Taberna also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Taberna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Taberna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.