We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Louis understands customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa 1932

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa 1932
Save
You added Casa 1932 to your Saves list
Campanario No 63 (Bajos) | e/ San Lazaro y Lagunas, Havana, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 434 Havana B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Louis understands customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Casa 1932 was an amazing experience right from the initial communication. The owner Louis speaks English fluently and has surrounded himself with loyal, respectful individuals that are extremely accommodating and strive to speak English. Don't be surprised if anyone may just encourage you to learn a few salsa moves or speak a few words of Spanish. You could not receive better service. There is always someone to offer suggestions for various activities and the tour offered in Louis' 1958 Mercedes added a nice overview of Havana to our trip, the driver Victor was very nice and accommodating. There are staff available 24 hours a day who never complain even if you come in at 4 in the morning. The meals were amazing and a great deal. We'll definitely stay at Casa 1932 when we return to Havana. Thank you Louis and you're professionally trained team for helping to make our trip so wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    42
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
303
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

And you who have not been to Casa 1932--go!

This place is unique, and just walking in there makes you gasp and takes you back in time. The owner Luis Miguel is an avid collector of all things antique. Breakfasts and dinners are served in fine china from pre-war Germany... And you can spend hours just looking at the gems on display. There is a sense of authenticity to everything in Casa 1932 - including the genuine hospitality of Luis Miguel and his staff.

Here you will find the comforts of a luxury hotel, fantastic food and service, paired with Cuban hospitality, and advice to make your stay in Havana an unforgettable experience. During my 2-week stay in Havana I stayed at the Casa 1932 for 3 nights (it books out very fast...highly recommend to book early), but kept coming back for dinners or just an aperitif in the evenings. You can always meet interesting people there!

Luis Miguel and his team run the Casa to a high degree of professionalism and provide an amazing experience to their guests.

Room Tip: Book way in advance to not miss out on this jewel of a casa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

What a stay we had in Havana in Casa 1932. The house is absolutely amazing with all the original antiques and the cozy atmosphere. Its situated within a walking distance of all the action in Havana and the Malecon . Needless to say that it is clean. BUT the BEST part is the owner Luis, his brother Xavier and the rest of the staff,,,We felt so pampered. These guys are so nice and helpfull and we miss them already. The food in the casa is without doubt the best in all Havana. I hope that you will be lucky and that they will have a vacant room for you. They made our stay in Havana perfect. Roni and Helle

Room Tip: If you are BIG people remember to mention it. One of the rooms is a bit small, but ok really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

It's hard to review Casa 1932. I was a little disappointed after reading the reviews on here. Luis and his family are very friendly and helpful. Our room was nice. The meals we ate were good (maybe too much food if that can be criticism). The location is ok for exploring Havana. We booked a car but on the day it turned out to be unavailable so we didn't get to make a much wanted journey. Overall it's a bit like Havana, not as great as people make out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robnkim, Public Relations Manager at Casa 1932, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks for your honest review. We apologize if there is anything we could have done to make your experience in Cuba better. Our small business depends heavily upon the scores and reviews left by visitors like yourself and so we take this with great concern. We truly wish we could have earned a 5 star score and made your experience better. Please feel free to send us any suggestions or comments if you think there is anything in particular we can improve upon and earn your repeat business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Rented Casa 1940 but hung out with Luis and his brother on and off during my stay in Havana. Everything is in walking distance from Casa 1932. My wife and I along with our two year old managed to even double dip on some of the sites in our two half days and one night in Havana. Luis and his family are amazing. The 1932 is an art piece on it own. They were very courteous and full of useful information.
He provided us with a taxi service in an amazing 1958 Mercedes Benz to Varadero for a great price.
If you're lucky enough to get a room here or at the 1940, you'll be in good hands.

Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The people were very nice and helpful.
The location is very nice, it's 5minutes from the "Malecon", and a fairly walking distance to the central park.
The meals were also very nice, in particular the breakfast. I even asked for a typical meal for dinner and I tried "Ropa vieja" which I like very much.
Safe, clean, well located great service.
I recommend this house to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here in September, 2012 and loved it. The owner, Luis, is very friendly and has lots of good advice for first-timers. The room was very comfortable, with a small fridge that always had a pitcher of water in it. There's a little key safe in the room you can use for your passport and small electronics. I especially enjoyed visits with the house cat, Tito, who even sat in my lap a few times:)
Overall this is a lovely casa and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa 1932? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa 1932

Address: Campanario No 63 (Bajos) | e/ San Lazaro y Lagunas, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Havana
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 434 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa 1932 is the most recommended and referred accommodation in all of Cuba. The house has been painstakingly restored back to the 1930`s era charm and character, and the decor is like stepping back in time.The house is affordable, comfortable, secure, and well located. The location is only 50 meters (150 feet) from the Havana seawall "Malecón Habanero". From this house it is only a short walk to all of Havana's most popular attractions; Malecon, the Prada, The Capitolio building, China town, shopping, restaurants, and nightclubs.Your host, Luis Miguel, speaks fluent English and loves to share Cuban culture with his guests. He is avid collector of antiques, a history buff, and a lover of architecture, design, and decor.This house stands above its competitors by offering authentic Cuban meals prepared by a personal chef, a full time driver on staff, a concierge, and full time cleaning staff. The property is meticulously maintained and operated, and was one of the first private Casa Particular properties in Havana, now with years of experience and satisfied customers. Many customers return frequently and we are pleased to welcome them like family into our home.Casa 1932 is consistently top ranked by travel professionals and is currently recommended as #1 by most professional travel guides. As a result of its popularity, room availability can be scarce, but it is well worth planning your trip around. As of 2012 we now have a professional reservation system in place, and are continually looking for ways to improve our guest experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa 1932 Hotel Havana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa 1932, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.