We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent alternative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Convent Santa Brigida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Convent Santa Brigida
Save
You added Hostal Convent Santa Brigida to your Saves list
Historic Centre, Havana, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Havana
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent alternative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

As mentioned by others, the location of this option is perfect if you want to wander around Old Havana, and you can come and go at all hours, there is no curfew.
The rooms are large and comfortable, particularly compared to the hotels and to other accomodation in Cuba.
Everything works, nice shower, very clean, comfortable beds....
The breakfast was good too.
It would have helped if we could speak Spanish, but the nuns are helpful.
Probably not the place to stay if you want to have wild parties in your room....but there are plenty of options for that in the bars in havana!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The only thing I can say about this accommodation is wonderful. It's located in the heart of old havana, and havana is not the most quiet place on the earth, and as soon as you entered hotel after spending a day walking around, all you can hear is absolute peace and silence. Really good breakfast (ham, cheese, eggs, cereals, fruit, fresh juice, absolutely the best coffee in havana, tea...), rooms are cleaned in daily basis, you can buy water in the hotel... And location couldn't be better, many sights close to the hotel, also many restaurants, bank, tourist offices... Definitely strong recommendation!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helena Island, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

After spending a week traveling in rural Cuba where sleeping conditions were less than optimal, the Santa Brigida Convent was a haven of peace and of comfortable sleep. The rooms are large with modern marble bathrooms. The breakfast included was delicious. And the location can't be beat. It's right in the middle of Old Havana.

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms. There is an elevator and walking is minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doral, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Strongly recommend this hostal as an oasis of peace and love in the middle of the shocking reality of the daily life in Havana. It's almost like a refuge, a retreat and allow you to regain the serenity and strength to discover and enjoy the hidden treasures of "La Habana".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Nice and clean! Quiet, too. TV- for those starved for it. CNN. Breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: We were in 15 and 16!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

My church group stayed here for a week, and we had no idea what to expect. Austere cells, perhaps? Well, we were pleasantly surprised.

The photos do not lie. The architecture and ambiance are utterly charming, and the rooms are spacious and clean, with air conditioning (individually controlled), a private bath, and satellite TV. When we arrived, there were two bottles of water in the room, and we could buy extras at the front desk for either 0.80 or 1.20 CUCs each.

A buffet breakfast is served every morning. The contents vary, but there's always coffee, juice, bread, cereal, hot and cold milk, yogurt, and fruit.

Step outside the door and walk a bit in one direction, and you're in the Plaza San Francisco. Step outside the door and walk a bit in the other direction, and you're in the Plaza Vieja. Both plazas have a number of restaurants and shops, and although this is definitely tourist Havana, "real" people live here, too. Sitting on the Plaza Vieja having coffee one afternoon, I saw some kids having soccer practice.

The nuns were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to accommodate us to the point of serving breakfast early when we had to leave on an excursion.

Our church sponsors regular exchange visits to Cuba, and I've recommended that future groups stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

The location is perfect, in the middle of old Havana, with walking distance to most of the sights, and on a pedestrian street. The building was an aristocratic house before it was converted into a convent+hotel. Like many old houses in Havana, it is built around an inner patio – or, rather, three of them. A profusion of flowers and birds make these patios lovely little gardens.
The rooms are large and comfortable and, like the rest of the hotel, always spotlessly clean and very well kept. There is no restaurant (only breakfast is served, but then with the best coffee I had in Cuba) but there are plenty of good restaurants within short walking distance. There is a chapel with a service every morning and even though hotel guests are in practice not expected to attend, they are most welcome (otherwise, no faith requests – guests with or without any religious beliefs are welcome)
As this is a convent, there is obviously no live band playing round the clock, no mojitos and no bar, no jineteros or jineteras around. In other words, not really the place if you are looking for serious Cuban nightlife.
But if you want to sleep (without the need of ear plugs) in a clean and comfortable room after walking around and visiting the city, and if you want to escape the hustle and bustle of Havana whenever you pass the entrance door, then there is probably no better place to be.
Being an old house, there are quite a lot of steps and stairs, and (as far as I know) no handicapped facilities.
I stayed with my husband and children (10 and 12) and we all loved it, but I admit that very “active” children may find it dull (no pool, no playground, no game consoles …). Mine were more than happy chatting with the nuns and feeding the birds (especially the friendly parrot Ephraim). We ended up staying in Havana much longer than we had planned, simply because it was so wonderful!

Last but not the least: the hotel is run by the ten nuns living in the convent. Of different ages and origins (so far no Cubans, but all speak Spanish, English and Italian), they are all very friendly, helpful and generous, always smiling, always ready to stop for a little chat with the guests. They certainly contribute a lot to my review.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Convent Santa Brigida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Convent Santa Brigida

Address: Historic Centre, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Havana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Havana
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Hostal Convent Santa Brigida Hotel Havana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Convent Santa Brigida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.