We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice because of Karlita and her staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Carlita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Carlita
Avenida San Lazaro no 1207, entre Mazon y Basarrate, Vedado, Havana 10400, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 402 Havana B&B and Inns
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice because of Karlita and her staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The house is located in Vedado, 30 min. walk from old Havana or 5 min. by taxi. It is a typical Cuban casa, the outside of the building looks scary, but once you are in it is quite and nice. The fact that you share a bathroom is not a burden and the room is spacious. Karlita is very friendly and will advice you on everything you will ask. Her staff is extremly nice. You will pay some extra 5 CUC for the breakfast, but it is worth (fresh juice and whatever style of egg you like).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I reserved this casa before my trip to Cuba, and I booked for five nights. The owner confirmed me two rooms by email. I even booked a dinner for our group at the casa since we will arrive in Havana by late flight. What happened is when I arrived there, only a lady who doesn't understand English at all asked me to wait. after nearly a hour's waiting, she showed me a piece of paper saying "we don't have rooms for you because two guys extended their stay"!!! what a redicilous reason!! then they forced us to stay in an awful casa nearby, which is dirty, small, and has no water in bathroom!! we had no choice since we don't speak spanish, and it was late night in Havana. on the second day, Carlita called us to say we could move in on the third night in Havana, n we believed her again! what happened is when we went to this casa on the third night, she again didn't show up and no room at all!!!!

Room Tip: terrible service, untrustful, don't believe what the owner said to you, never!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Casa Karlita for 2 nights in February. Room was clean - shared bathroom- with a decent bed and furnishings. We did have to ask for towels as they, apparently, are not normally supplied.
Breakfast was great- fresh juices and fruit, ham eggs and coffee.
Location was close to the University and Havana Libre/ Hotel National. It cost a peso per person to get to Old Havana ( more if you wish to ride in a private cab)
The place was secure, the neighbourhood surrounding it was safe but somewhat dark at night- take a flashlight.
Staff and owner were extremely friendly and helpful. Overall good value for the price (30CUC)we paid and a lot less than the nearest hotel- Hotel Colina ($70)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Carlita was as kind as ever with us. This is the third time that my wife and I visited Cuba and we decided to visit Carlita's house every morning. We stayed in another 'casa particular' located downstairs, but we used to go up every morning for b'fast. In a nutshell, the b'fast tasted better every morning, Carla and her staff ensured that everything was immaculately clean and the food served was of great quality! Thanks once again and see you next time, Carla.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I strongly recommend this place - it was our first time in Habana, and we had reserved a room for 2 days. However, considering how much we loved it there, we chose to expand our stay at Karlita's to the entire trip.

People were super friendly and helpful (without ever being annoying) and made us feel like family. The place is cute and very clean - all of it. The bathroom is shared between the two rooms of the casa, but over a week I've never had any problem out of it and it was always super clean, with hot water.

They LOVE Canadian tourists - saying you are earns you mucho smiles and love. If you are Canadian and you go, bring a little canadian item for the abuela; she will be so glad and your adorable "mi amor" name will be well earned.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao paulo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Karlita and her staff where excellent. The place is very clean and comfortable. All room have air-conditioning and high ceilings. The only set back is the shower, which has very little water pressure.

Room Tip: All three rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Carlita and the girls were amazing. the place is absolutely clean, the food they prepare is superb. I would recomend eating there a lot, specially when they make fish :-). its located about 30 minutes walk from the capitol "not 15" as we read before. maybe 15 if you run :-) . you can take a colectivo for 1 cuc for two people and you take it right in front of the place. HOT WATER, CLEAN BATHROOM AND TOILET PAPER that is a lot to say for most places in cuba. beer and waters are very cheap, so before going out to Casa de la Musica we could have some drinks. only a couple of blocks from hotel habana libre and famous Copelia Icecream. internet in hotel Habana Libre. a couple of blocks from the malecon. "DON'T EVER SAY YOU JUST GOT TO HABANA WHEN PEOPLE ASK YOU, JUST SAY WE HAVE BEEN HERE FOR A COUPLE OF WEEKS". overall it's the safest, cleanest and friendliest house I have ever stayed in Habana. "Thank you Carlita" :-)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Carlita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Carlita

Address: Avenida San Lazaro no 1207, entre Mazon y Basarrate, Vedado, Havana 10400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Havana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 402 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Also Known As:
Casa Carlita Hotel Havana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Carlita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Carlita to your Saves list