We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capriccio

Capriccio
5 Kaya CEB Hellmund, Kralendijk, Bonaire
7177230
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 61 Restaurants in Kralendijk
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great food and excellent service superior to common standards in the Caribbean. I enjoyed the food and I appreciated the gourgeous wine list.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    42
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lola treats you right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We dined there on a busy Sunday night and were fortunate to get a nice quiet table on the patio area. We had made reservations online prior to arriving to Bonaire and despite a little confusion, we were sat promptly with a gorgeous view of the water. They had a live acoustic guitar player who gently strummed a mixture of Latin music with some 70's easy listening hits. Lola is a wonderful purveyor of all things food and wine, and she regaled us with a humorous story about the wine we chose for the evening. My wife and I both had the tasting menu that was absolutely delicious, although they did forget the misto salad first course. As mentioned before, service is set at a very casual pace and our meal took 2 and a half hours. We really enjoyed the experience and would highly recommend making reservations since many of the islands better restaurants seem to fill up quickly one the sun sets. Bravo, Carpacio! It's time for an encore performance our next trip to Bonaire.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Two visits to a great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Capriccio is the one restaurant in Bonaire that we usually visit more than once per trip. Besides an early visit we have established a tradition of visiting Capriccio for our last dinner on the island. We used to focus mostly on thei seafood, which was very good, but recently we have discovered the wonderful fresh pasta dishes which we enjoyed on both our visits this time. All the dishes were delicious and the basket of bread as well as the plate of crisp, thin flat bread were excellent additions.
A discussion of Capriccio would not be complete without mentioning the great wine list (listed by Wine Spectator as one of the very best) and Lola’s knowledge of the wines. On our first visit she seem pleased that I asked for a Barbara wine as she thinks that is one of the most under-appreciated wines of Italy. On our second visit I had scallops in my pasta so Lola steered us toward a Pinot Noir (Pinot Nero in Italy) blend that worked very well.
We say that we go to Bonaire to windsurf, but I kid Susan that she really goes to Bonaire so she can go to Capriccio; it is that good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

One of the oldest restaurants in Bonaire. I've been going there for over 30 years and quality, and service (by the owners) still first rate. Moved to new. larger location but because of its reputation, could be a problem getting a table without a reservation. I've never missed a visit here at least once during my stay on Bonaire, and you shouldn't either.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Capriccio restaurant is one of my fav. restaurants on Bonaire. Great service and beautiful. Totally recommended as a romantic restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capriccio also viewed

Kralendijk, Bonaire
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to Capriccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capriccio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.