We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best meal we had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Madeleine

Chez Madeleine
Yachtclub Apartaments, Kralendijk, Bonaire
005997821714
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Kralendijk
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“best meal we had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Our meal was so good I had to hug the chef on our way out. Don't leave Bonaire without eating here, it really is that good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    17
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Awesome food, not sure understand gluten free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Chez is a great little find! It is romantic restaurant in a strange location. I hope they make it as they are hard workers and great food (one waitress, one dish washer and chef worked the whole restaurant!) I had the special starter esgarot in garlic and butter. Others at the table ordered off the menu with two having the scallop starter and one having the goat cheese which they enjoyed. For dinner I had the duo local fish special wahoo and another white fish I cna not recall name.....it was very well cooked and flavored. Everyone else off the table ordered the tuna off the menu. We all really enjoyed! We drank french chardonnay and merlot. I am not real sure the waitress or chef really understood gluten free. However she told me all the ingredients and I felt that what I was eating did not have gluten.

Everyone wants to go back before we leave the island!

My two recommendations: Do not allow smoking! We saw 2 of the 6 tables smoking! We did not smell as they had good fan systems but this could be an issue. Second is one of our members got really bit by sand flies! She had bites all over her legs!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The food tasted as good as it looked.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed at Yachtclub Apartments and after smelling the incredible food being prepared at Chez Madeleine we had to try it. We were not disappointed!! The presentation of the food is amazing and the taste was even better. Madeleine is a perfect hostess- happy and smiling and always attentive to every need. We will return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Angels dancing on my tongue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews, we saved this small, intimate restaurant for what we hoped would be a very special meal for our final dinner of a 17 day stay on the island. Not only were we not disappointed, we were absolutely blown away! The service was wonderfully attentive, friendly, gracious, and perfectly timed. The presentation was a work of art. Each preparation--from the complimentary starters to the appetizers, entrees, and dessert--was a labor of love, for nothing else could possibly explain the exquisite flavors we experienced throughout. This is true French cuisine at its best, even to the point of a wine list that is 100% French; no US, South American, or South African wines. And in the great scheme of things, the French still do it best. If you can visit only one fine dining restaurant while on Bonaire, this one is a must. It puts Bistro de Paris to shame.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The pearl of Bonaire!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Chez Madeleine is a cozy, romantic restaurant with excellent food and well priced. Renowned Belgium chef Jean Buyens makes art on a plate with fresh products. The combinations that he creates are a subject that you'll be talking about weeks after you've eaten there. Can't wait to visit Bonaire's pearl again!

Denise

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Madeleine also viewed

Kralendijk, Bonaire
 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to Chez Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Madeleine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.