We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gelato Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gio's Gelateria & Caffe

Gio's Gelateria & Caffe
Kaya Grandi 34, Kralendijk, Bonaire
+599 717 5700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 69 Restaurants in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
West Long Branch, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gelato Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I don't believe I have ever had gelato before, so the Gelateria was a divine destination as we walked down Kralendijk's main shopping roadway. It wasn't a particularly hot day last Sunday (11/10/13), and in fact there was no diving that day as a storm moved across the island in the morning hours. So, it appeared I was to accompany my wife on a shopping adventure "downtown" as we walked the few blocks from the Divi Flamingo where we were staying. Apparently, gelato has less cream than ice cream so it had a different and wonderful texture in my mouth. I had Hazelnut, but my wife had Snickers. I like them both, but the Snickers flavor was my favorite (if only I had known before I ordered!). It is apparently also true, due to the manufacturing process, gelato has less air in it so the flavor was much more intense than ice cream. The Caffe was cute and clean, the gelato was delicious, and the staff was warm, smiling and friendly. For a mid-day shopping break, everyone deserves to stop into Gio's for at least a small cup of Gelato! And on a not-so-hot day sit outside and watch the world go by on the street!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    127
    25
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hot Spot on a Hot Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Gelateria is why we stopped, but the smell of coffee prompted us to try both! The gelato selection has a flavor for everyone,and was sweet, smooth and cool on a hot afternoon. So why did we have coffee too? The atmosphere lent itself to having a cup which was also served with special touches like whipped cream and flavors to try. Excellent! We visited this place twice!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interlaken, NJ
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Packed with flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just the right treat after dinner or anytime for that matter, centrally located, can eat in with air conditioning or outdoors at tables. Prices start at $1.75 per scoop. Had the pineapple and coconut, both excellent

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A must when in Bonaire. Best ice cream on the island. We would skip a dessert at most restaurants just to pop in and have a treat at Gio's. It's also nice to sit in the air conditioned room to get cooled down.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Gio's is one of the best gelato places I have been to. They even accommodated my lactose intolerance and gave me a soy version of the hazelnut. Their strawberry and lemon gelato are divine too.

Side note: We went twice in within 2 hours. It was THAT good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gio's Gelateria & Caffe also viewed

 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to Gio's Gelateria & Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gio's Gelateria & Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.