We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sushi, very friendly people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osaka sushi bar

Osaka sushi bar
Kaya Grandi 52E, Kralendijk, Bonaire
7823140
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 61 Restaurants in Kralendijk
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Sushi, very friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We wnet twice during our two week trip and loved the food. We went with the recommended sashimi mix plate and it was amazing. So many different kind of fish that we had never had before. The rolls are also very good, very artistic!! I would go again, but we have to leave now and go back to the snow in Canada

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    29
    14
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Nice to see a different restaraunt that's not a meat place. The sushi was fresh and well prepared. The outside second floor dining was great, you could smell Patagonia grill beloew. The service was very slow, over an hour, but we had 16 in our group and we were on vacation and didn't care. Will definitely be going back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“tasty sushi!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great sushi made of fresh (local) fish. Made with pleasure by master chef Marc, real pieces of art! Had a great time and will surely visit them more often.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kralendijk, Bonaire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing sushi!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Osaka sushi bar is by far the best restaurant on the island.
The different sushirolls ( Volcano, Caterpillar, Dragonroll and many more ) and Sashimi are to die for!!
Service is also the way it's supposed to be, both Danielle and Joyce know how to treat their customers, always a warm welcome with a smile @ Osaka sushi bar.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“This sushi place left us cold”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Osaka was recommended to us during a dive - and we heard they had Lionfish on the menu (an invasive, yet plentiful, fish).

Our arrival was met with relative indifference by the "greeter." After seating ourselves, our server didn't stop by for about 15 minutes. She was brusque and disinterested, though she did inform us that they didn't have any Lionfish (the signature reason we chose Osaka), but that they had tuna caught just that day.

We ordered the tuna and a round of drinks. Since they only had one sushi chef working (on a Friday night - puzzling), we finished our round of drinks before our food arrived. We tried to catch the attention of our server . . . or any employee of the restaurant. They were busy talking / drinking / smoking with friends at the bar inside. So we didn't get another round of drinks until our food arrived.

Speaking of smoking - if you are accustomed to enjoying your meal without smokers, then Bonaire (and Osaka in particular) isn't for you. Smoking is allowed pretty much everywhere. Osaka is a bit cramped, so when a neighbor lit up during our meal, there was no escaping. Of course, most of the employees (thankfully not the sushi chef) were at the bar smoking during our visit (and the smoke drifted out to our table on the balcony).

Back to the story . . . the bar / wine by the glass / beer selection is VERY limited. I ordered a Bombay Sapphire and tonic - they were out of gin. Okay. How about a glass of wine? You have a choice of cheap pinot grigio, chardonney or merlot. Bleah. Maybe beer? Polar, something light or Heineken. You could also order sake. Don't know what kind of sake - the menu just said "sake." Good luck!

The food did eventually arrive - and the tuna was, indeed, delicious. All of the food we had was very good. No fault there.

Summary: Bad service. Disinterested staff. Poor alcohol selection. Smoky environment. Good food. In my book, you need more than good food to be a good restaurant. All around a disappointing evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka sushi bar also viewed

Kralendijk, Bonaire
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to Osaka sushi bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osaka sushi bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.