We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Revisited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel to your Saves list
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
E.E.G. Boulevard 10, Kralendijk, Bonaire (Formerly Bellafonte Chateau de la Mer)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Kralendijk
Atlanta, Ga.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Paradise Revisited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2007

We looked forward to our 8th trip to Bonaire with great anticipation. Our first trip there was in 1987 so it would be our 20th anniversary visit. We had stayed in several different resorts/hotels on Bonaire with each having its positives and negatives but could never seem to find the "perfect" place. We have almost found it in the Bellafonte. This 4 story condominium is beautifully layed out on the edge of the ocean with wonderful landscaping and amenities. Bonaire is an island for avid scuba divers and this property is perfectly designed for a diving vacation. Diving is great off the very large dock on the premises with 3 methods of entry. Gear storage is just steps form the dock and even includes a beatiful marble "bath" for post dive rinsing. Next you step into the adjacent open air shower and you are ready to sit in the spa overlooking the ocean while enjoying an Amstel lager. Note: This is the "real" Amstel beer brewed under license in Curacao vs. the light abomination sold in the U.S.
Next you retreat to your 1 or 2 bedroom condo with a stunning view from both the living room and bedroom of the turquoise waters of Bonaire. The condos are huge by any standard and very well furnished. The spacious kitchen has full sized appliances and all the kitchen essentials. If you need anything for your condo the management on site responds immediately and politely. In fact, the staff at the Bellafonte was one of the best parts of the stay. There is no restaurant on the premises but it is just a short drive with no traffic to any restaurant in town. Being south of town, the Bellafonte is very close to all the southern dive sites. The Bellafonte arranged our diving package with a facility a 2 minute drive away which was very convenient and competent. If you are looking for great diving, peace and quiet, and a very comfortable accomodation, the Bellafonte would be hard to beat.

  • Liked — peace and quiet
  • Disliked — lack of restaurant
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    27
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
94
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

The Bellefonte is a perfect place for those that do not want to be in a gigantic resort, but want privacy, amazing views from every room, and a pier which is steps from your door loaded with marine life. My wife and I travel extensively and visited many other resorts and hotels on the island while we were there - almost all pale in comparison to the Bellefonte. During our 2 week stay, couples from Buddy Dive, Hamlet and other hotels checked in having had horrible experiences at those places and transferred even though it meant losing money... the rooms are perfectly furnished with tile floors, brand new kitchens (granite counters) and baths... the whole place is fairly new which is wonderful. We went for 32 dives during our stay and though the east coast produced the largest creatures, the dive off the hotel pier was amazing for squid, barracuda, puffer fish, eels and even a hawksbill turtle..... The staff at Bellefonte are also a delight and were helpful for anything we needed (we really did not need much, since the rooms are so well maintained)....

We used Yellow Submarine both for shore diving and boat trips to klein bonaire (amazing octopus, moray, lobster and sitings of so many species of fish as to boggle the mind). Their drive up for tanks was fantastic, and their staff tremendous - particular kudos to divemaster Albert who found magic for us in every boat dive we did (as well as showed us a world on the east coast that we could not have found without his help - and we are very independent, but he knows the sea and the creatures so well in Bonaire (he has done about 8000 dives)....!!!!!

Also, of the restaurants on Bonaire, go to Cactus Blue - the most amazing tuna and other perfect dishes you will ever find... with everything soooo fresh!!! The family that owns this, Corrina and Hagen, add kindness and joy that we did not find anywhere else (we also became addicted to their apple struedel desert and are now suffering withdrawls....)

  • Liked — newness of rooms, quality of kitchen and accessories, great dive pier
  • Disliked — leaving!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

Wow! We stayed in the third floor junior suite and had a sweeping view of the sea, Klein and north part of the island. Can’t say enough great things about the staff at Bellafonte and the great accommodations. It was wonderful and really suited our casual and quiet style. The grounds are beautiful and the hardscapes throughout give it a very upscale feel. Diving / snorkeling right off the pier is great, just a little ways out. The airport noise never bothered us and I only heard the KLM red-eyes once when I happened to already be awake. Would definitely stay at Bellafonte again.

  • Liked — views, price, location
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

We stayed at the Bellefonte from May 5 to May 12 in one of the Grand Suites. The place is excellent and I highly recommend it.

Before I get to all of the good things, I must mention one thing that wasn’t good – but that management responded to quickly and fairly, and was a temporary situation unforeseen by them. The day we arrived, we looked out on the dock – the view is wonderful – and found it was torn up. I expected that workmen would simply be putting in new boards on the dock. But the following day, on Sunday, the “bang, bang, bang” of hammers on metal started, followed by power sander. And this went on, all day long. We were unable to use the dock during the day, and while I would have been content to have been in the water the entire day, my wife needed to relax and really couldn’t, despite the beautiful property and setting. Management, however, made a significant and appropriate adjustment to our rate, to our satisfaction. They were very good about the entire thing, and most apologetic, since apparently the owner scheduled the work without them knowing it being able to warn anyone coming there.

Now, the place itself is magnificent. The exterior of the place is immaculate, super clean, really beautiful and Mediterranean in feel. Loved the exterior. And the dock, by now, will be great as well. .

As for the interior, our grand suite was spacious, with a well-equipped kitchen, nice size bathroom, clean, beautiful, Mediterranean décor on the inside. The balcony was really wonderful – with a view right out over the water. The place is quiet, and peaceful, with one exception – but one you have to accept when you go to Bonaire. The final approach to Flamingo airport is no more than ¼ mile away. Now, being an aviation person and an airplane buff, I really enjoyed the approaches, which are actually quite quiet – both at night and during the day. Fortunately, you do not hear the roar as planes take off away from the leeward side of the island and over the windward side. But if you keep your bedroom closed with a very modern air conditioning unit, frankly, you don’t hear them anyway at night. Do note that there are mosquitoes on the island but that can be dealt with fairly easily by keeping doors and windows closed at certain times of the evening. It may be a desert island but it is not without bugs.

As for the service, it is really excellent – A wonderful and typical blend of Dutch friendliness and efficiency – on the part of the all of the staff.

It is also very close to the airport – the aircraft noise being one consideration but on the other hand, my God, you land and you’re there.

For those going for diving and snorkeling, this place is a short driving distance and even walking distance from some of the best dive and snorkeling spots on the Island, and nothing is far from the restaurants of the town (its probably about 2 miles away). The snorkeling off the dock is pretty interesting – a nice resident barracuda lives under the dock with lots of fish, etc. Its not the premiere snorkeling free diving spot around, but it is only about 200 meters from Windsock, one of the better ones; frankly, you can drift over if you want. But for someone who just wants to climb down some stairs and watch the fish live under the dock, this is your place. There’s a nice Jacuzzi outside along with generous showers and tubs for cleaning diving and snorkeling gear. Good elevators to reach the top floors as well

In summary, here’s my take. We were unlucky enough to have experienced a real problem unexpected by the hotel, but that at least was addressed professionally and quickly. The dock by now is fixed, and I saw nothing else that was going to be repaired.

Would I recommend this place to anyone else? Absolutely. I give it a solid 5.

  • Liked — view, qualitiy
  • Disliked — Work being done on dock which should not be a problem for others now
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

We stayed at the Bellafonte May 16th-May 31st. This is our seventh trip to Bonaire and our seventh stay at the Bellafonte. My husband and I have traveled throughout the Caribbean on business and pleasure and have stayed at many hotel properties, but the Bellafonte is at the top of our "favorites" list. The hotel has 18 oceanfront single and double suites and two studio island view rooms. We stay in a beautiful senior (one bedroom) suite on the third floor (the property has an elevator). There is a large terrace/balcony with absolutely breathtaking views of the turquoise blue caribbean sea. The floors are marble with fully equipped kitchens. There is a large living room/ dining room with comfortable furniture, cable TV and CD players. The bedroom is spacious with a king sized bed and generous closet space. A safe is provided for your valuables. The bedroom is air conditioned with a well functioning wall unit; ceiling fans and the ocean breezes keep the other living spaces comfortable. The bathroom is modern with a marble floor and shower. Water pressure has always been great.
The Bellafonte property is located in the quiet residential neighborhood of Belnem just south of the airport. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with native plants- many in flower. We wake up each morning to the birds singing and that amazing ocean view. There is a large jacuzzi on the terraced deck. The hotel has a private pier/dock that has just been completely renovated and is a favorite "hangout" for sunning during the day, magnificent sunsets in the evening and star gazing at night. Snorkeling and diving can be done 24/7 off the pier. There is a locked gear room and rinse tank for your scuba equipment.
The dedicated general manager of the Bellafonte, Robert, is a wonderful host and along with his attentive and professional staff have given us first class personal service. They have done everything from shopping and stocking our refrigerator prior to our arrival to arranging for last minute New Year's Eve reservations at a popular restaurant. There has been no question we have asked or request we have made of Robert that he didn't follow up immediately, fully and to our great satisfaction. Finally, the housekeeping staff is as good as you will find anywhere. They work hard to keep our suite absolutely spotless.
We highly recommend the Bellafonte without hesitation. We'll be back in October and hopefully for many years to come.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

Kudos to Robert and his outstanding management of this beautiful property--everything from cleanliness, comfort, amenities, staff receptiveness/helpfulness is excellent. They really made my vacation very comfortable, memorable and wonderful.
The property is very close to the airport yet noise was never an issue. For divers, the Yellow Submarine (an excellent dive shop) is less than 2 minutes away by car. I defintely will return and stay here again in the near future.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2007

I can highly recommend this condo after my boyfriend and I spent a fantastic week here. The managers were friendly and helpful and let us check in early at 6:30am without charge. The condo is beautiful with a fully equiped kitchen. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom clean and upscale with natural marble. We are divers and found the location to be great. We used the dive operation at Port Bonaire with the convienent drive through tank pick-up. The rates are extrememly reasonable considering how nice a place it is. The web site provides nice pictures [--].

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel

Address: E.E.G. Boulevard 10, Kralendijk, Bonaire (Formerly Bellafonte Chateau de la Mer)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellafonte is a small and friendly resort on an intimate setting facing the sparkling blue Caribbean Sea and the everyday breathtaking sunset. It offers a fine selection of luxurious Studios ( no ocean view), one- and two-bedroom 'apartment'-size Suites and spectacular Penthouses, each of them having a secluded veranda that unfolds the most beautiful ocean view panoramas and sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellafonte Chateau De La Mer Hotel Bonaire
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel Bonaire/Kralendijk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.