We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diver's Lair Shop Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmar Oceanfront Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Belmar Oceanfront Apartments to your Saves list
Belmar Oceanfront Apartments
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   EEG Boulevard 88, Kralendijk, Bonaire   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chesterton, IN
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Diver's Lair Shop Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had 15 people join us for our sixth visit to Bonaire. This was our first stay at Belmar and we couldn't have been happier with the accommodations and the staff. Diving with Belmar is like pushing the EASY button. Transfers to and from the airport make arrival and departures easy. We stayed in the Classic Standard 2-Bedroom and that made just hanging out and using the facilities easy. A few steps from your deck - the pool - a few more steps - the ocean. You can leave your gear in a guest locker if you want to but with their security we were comfortable using the drying racks and hooks on our deck and no one touched a thing. Parking can be a bit cramped if your the last one back to the condo at night but there is always a friendly guard there to help you out. The house reef was very good. And we got to see something special - the string of pearls on our UV night dive - what a great experience. We're already planning our next trip! A special thanks to Chrissie and our Divemaster Alejandro - you guys are great!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    40
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We have stayed here several times while in Bonaire. This was the first time with other family members and we had the two story condo. It was perfect! Every unit has a balcony with view of the water. The main floor is on the second floor of the hotel with bedroom and bath, large kitchen, living and dining room, then a spiral staircase goes up to another two bedrooms and bath. Service is great, even had a parrot show up on the palm tree by our balcony the first morning. Belmar is part of Buddy Dive and the tanks are filled there, drive-up pick-up right at Belmar, Nitrox or air.

Room Tip: We have stayed in several different units. All have a great view of the water. Higher floors may h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We just got back from our third visit to Belmar (and about 13 visits to the island). Once again, it fit our needs perfectly. The staff in the dive shop are attentive and helpful at all times. The pool is clean (although it could do with a bit more shade) and the new pergola is very nice. One drawback is that there is no onsite restaurant or bar, but the Hotel Roomer has a nice one right across the street.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Very nice, fully equipped apartments, each privately owned by either Americans or Dutch. There is an on-site dive shop where they will rent gear, service your scuba gear if needed, help assist in booking dives that require dive masters. This is a satellite shop of Buddy Dive, so if you are up north diving, and need more tanks, simply stop by Buddy.

There are plenty of lounge chairs out by the pool, as well as on the sun-bathing dock. There is also a diving dock, complete with a rinse tank and oxygen tanks for your next dive. The house reef is beautiful...complete with resident sea horses. We have stayed at Bel-Mar each of our twelve visits to Bonaire, and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: Larger apartments on the second floor...better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I'm a diving professional. I was recently in Bonaire looking scouting out some new places to take a large group and stopped in the Buddy Dive shop at BelMar hotel to check things out and dive. The dive staff at the store was very unfriendly, especially the blond girl who had a major attitude about being better than everyone else. "Her way or no way" was her attitude. Ended up leaving and finding several other great dive operators on the island that were much more friendly and interested in groups.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I spent a week at Belmar condominiums while visiting Bonaire as part of a scuba club trip. The condos are pleasant but not luxurious. They totally cater to divers and support these customers very nicely.

Belmar is located a 5-minute drive south from the Flamingo Airport along a scenic shoreline. All of the condo units have balconies that overlook the nice pool and all have lovely ocean views. From your balcony, you can watch cruise ships, oil tankers, cargo ships, sailboats, dive boats passing by on a daily basis. Bring bincoulars! The sunsets are also absolutely lovely from here.

With two very nice docks, divers can easily enter the ocean from the docs or can be picked up by dive boats at the dock. The snorkeling in front of Belmar is nothing to rave about but the diving is reportedly quite nice. Large tarpon frequently visit Belmar's docks at night and a sea horse can reliably be spotted in about 40' of water a short swim from the docks.

The on-property dive shop is nicely equipped and very professionally staffed. Divers' support is very good but also extends to all matters regarding your stay. The dive shop personnel can address issues about the condos, the pickup trucks that are usually rented as part of a package, airport transfers and more. It's a decent dive shop, that doubles as a very goog property management/concierge service

However, for truly full service dive support, such as equipment repairs or purchase, clients should visit the Carib Inn Dive Shop located closer to town. The dive shop located at the Carib Inn provides exceptional support with dive equipment needs and does so at amazing rock-bottom prices. THAT is the dive shop to do business with! They're really GREAT!!!

The Belmar condos are not luxurious but are spacious enough and adequately equipped. Cleaning service and clean towels/bedding are provided every 2nd day. There were little glitches with each of the condos - mostly appliance problems. Overall, these were minor inconveniences.

The mosquitos, however are another matter. Skeeters are present at dusk and through the night in alarming numbers. Be prepared - DO NOT SKIMP when you pack the bug spray. You will definitely need it!

There is a very pleasant night-time securty guard that stands watch over the pickup trucks, the condos and all the divers belongings that are left out on the balcony to dry. Since petty theft is purportedly a serious problem on Bonaire, the Belmar's security officer provided great reassurance.

Belmar has a dedicated following with numerous repeat customers. If you are content with clean, basic accomodations and place that puts a priority on an independent, self-directed diving experience, Belmar might be the right place for you.

Room Tip: The first floor units are very convenient for divers hauling lots of gear. The best balcony views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This was my 4th stay in apt 1 at Belmar. It is like going to the cabin, you know where everything is. With the dive shop on site, and its quiet setting, this place is perfect for one or 2 week stays or even longer. The property has a great pool and easy ocean views. The balconys offer a great place to watch the sunset. I recommend apt 1 because of the lack of pedestrian traffic by the room. Also, you don't have to negotiate curving tile stairs to upper floors. Diving right in front of the building the water is easy access. I will retun again next year.

Room Tip: Apt 1 on the north end is quiet and somewhat secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmar Oceanfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmar Oceanfront Apartments

Address: EEG Boulevard 88, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belmar Oceanfront Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and intimate resort with a colorful garden and of course, spectacular ocean views wrapped around terraces and balconiesTake leave of your everyday stress and step into an exclusive resort that refreshes your body and soul!Now we have made it even easier, try our Drive, Dive and Stay packages and Surf Away Packages. Or any one of our three diving packages - unlimited shore diving, 1-tank boat dives, or 2-tank boat dives. Not to worry we have non-diver rates as well.Belmar Oceanfront Apartments Bonaire offering first class accommodations to scuba divers, sun-seekers, snorkelers, birdwatchers, nature lovers, and especially the "get away from it all" vacationer. Enjoy shore diving from our resort anytime of day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Belmar Oceanfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Oceanfront Apartments Hotel Bonaire
Belmar Oceanfront Apartments Bonaire/Kralendijk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmar Oceanfront Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.