We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of At Sea

At Sea
Kaya Hellmund 25, Kralendijk, Bonaire (Formerly The Yacht Club)
+599 701 0134
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 61 Restaurants in Kralendijk
Cuisines: Seafood, Continental
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The staff was very accommodating and the food was positively delicious! However, be prepared for A LOT of food. When you sit down you are served a complimentary platter of marinated olives, plantain chips, and Parmesan croutons. Then you are served a complimentary amuse bouche (a cube of pate with a cranberry jelly) followed by a plate of fresh rolls with butter and a curry eggplant caponata. Think about all of this food before you order! Plus-entrees are big enough to share plus some! We had the goat cheese & spinach springrolls (forgettable), the sea salad (BEST salad I have ever had), and the tuna special (absolutely amazing). This restaurant is a must go-just be sure to share!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    103
    40
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious fine dining on Bonaire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Based on recommendations we made reservations. Do so if you want a table on the outside closest to the water. The interactions with At Sea via internet were professional and friendly. Dinner was out of this world! Tuna two ways was both sashimi and tuna tartar deliciously prepared and presented. Spring rolls were hot and delicious. Filet mignon was served with a demiglaze, potatoes, green beans and mushrooms while the wahoo with beet salad was amazing. Service was prompt and impeccable while not overbearing. Only comment would be that they don't make a dirty martini but we'll chalk that up to the Dutch vodka! Everything outstanding. Two drinks a piece, two appetizers, two entrees and the bill was $115. Great dinner!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Super Good experience !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We are between courses as we speak but I can say that we really like this restaurant. A great experience on Bonaire !!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Top of my list!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had no reservations but arrived as soon as it was open. We were given a high top table in the bar area with a great sunset view. We ordered an appetizer to start the "Tuna 2 Ways". They didn't have any tuna that day but asked if they could substitute salmon and wahoo, we said yes. Before the appetizer arrived we were treated to two different Amuse-bouches. One was a plate with olives and two different spreads, the second a fish tartare in about a teaspoon of gazpacho that was outrageously good. The appetizer arrived and it was also excellent. We kept with the seafood theme for our main courses. I had the Wahoo and my wife had the Salmon (specials that night). Both were cooked to perfection and the sides and sauces were well matched and tasty but did not cover up the flavor of the fish. This was the best meal we have had on Bonaire and I would highly recommend it. Get reservations, we were lucky but we saw many turned away after we arrived.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad attitude; poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I've been to Bonaire six times, usually for 2 weeks at a time, so I am familiar with the restaurants and service level. We walked out of At Sea after failing to get so much as a glass of water (divers need water!), let alone a drink order, menu, or acknowledgement of our existence. We had a reservation, but were given the worst table in the place: a table for two in the entry and service traffic lane. The table had only one place setting. We gave up and walked out when I could not even get a server's attention to get water glasses filled (not refilled, just filled). The wait staff kept walking past with that head-turned-away "I don't see you" thing servers do when they are too busy to give service. This was the first restaurant I've walked out of in years.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed At Sea also viewed

 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to At Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.