We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like diving with an old friend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Div'Ocean

Div'Ocean
J.A.Abraham Boulevard 82 | Caribbean Court, Kralendijk, Bonaire
(+599) 717 4944
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Div'Ocean is like the name says a dive center with devotion, devoted to help you experience a perfect diving vacation in these incredible waters. We are a PADI Dive Center offering air packages, gear rental, shore diving, boat diving, courses and spectacular shore diving tours. With us you can meet up with anything from rare seahorses and frogfish to giant moray eels, sea turtles, rays and even sharks.We offer you the personal service and attention divers expect and deserve.
Pensylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Like diving with an old friend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is Beth and mine's third visit to Bonaire. The previous two trip we stayed with Peter and Bianca at their B & B, Villa Safir. This time we decided to extend our stay and rented a waterfront condo. We were delighted to learn that Peter had taken over the Div' Ocean Dive Shop. In the past Peter had been very helpful and professional in helping us plan our daily shore dives and we had also done guided boat dives to Klein Bonaire with him. On this visit we again did two 2 tank boat dives with his shop, the shop runs a small flat top boat with maximum 6 divers and the dives are lead capably by Peter or his assistant, Joop. For our shore dives we took advantage of their 6 days of unlimited nitrox for $150 US. For anybody coming to dive on Bonaire, check'm out!

\

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
“excellent operation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were in Bonaire for two weeks in late January 2013 and use the Div'Ocean dive shop. They had excellent, well-maintained equipment and were very helpful and knowledgable about dive sites. I definitely recommend them, whether you're there for 2 weeks or for a day from a cruise ship.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riegelsberg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect mix of professionalism, personal attention, cordiality, helpfulness and still always relaxed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We never before had such relaxed diving in an athmosphere of freedom, professionalism and safety at the same time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Another 5 stars for Div'Ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent a week diving with Div'Ocean, mostly shore diving but also two boat trips to Klein Bonaire, and I have to rate them as one of the best dive operations I have dived with in my 10+ years as a certified diver.

For shore diving, Div'Ocean supplied us with tanks as we needed them: we could drive to the shop (located just a couple of minutes away from the airport) and pick them up at any time. We drove with standard air mix but Nitrox was available. And they also had smaller tanks available for those who didn't use as much air.

On the trips to Klein Bonaire, we used Div'Ocean's speedy boat, set up for up to eight divers (as opposed to the larger boats used by operations such as Captain Don or Buddy Dive). That allows the Div'Ocean divemasters to provide the personal attention to the divers, which in my opinion makes a huge difference for the success of boat diving. Of course water and fruit snacks were provided as well.

But it's the Div'Ocean crew, led by Peter, that makes the big difference. Friendly, competent, ready to help, they made sure we had successful diving. Peter, Bianca and Jan provided great guidance on the dives -- and Peter quickly repaired two separate problems that popped up with my own equipment (free-flowing octopus and a leaking BCD), making sure of a successful diving holiday for us.

In case you don't bring your own gear, Div'Ocean's rental gear is top-notch Mares equipment, including computers.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“All 5 stars for a reason!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We had the pleasure of diving with Finn on this trip. We only had one day in Bonaire since we came by cruise ship. Finn met us at the pier and took us to the dive shop to get our gear. All of the staff was professional but laid back. Peter got us fitted for our gear while Finn loaded the trucks with tanks. We did two shore dives and both were great! I actually sat out the 2nd dive due to back issues but the other 3 in our party dove and said it was awesome. Even with the one dive I was so impressed and had such a good time. I can't wait to come back to Bonaire for at least a week to enjoy the wonderful diving. Thanks Div'Ocean for a wonderful day of diving!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Div'Ocean also viewed

 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to Div'Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Div'Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.