We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Barca

La Barca
Kaya Jan N.E, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 55 restaurants in Kralendijk
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: New Restaurant- fabulous food! Reasonably priced
US
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Although we can't comment on the entire menu since we always order fish when on island, this little place seems unappreciated! Huge mista salad, dressed as you see fit, along with reasonably priced wine. Homemade bread. I can't seem to order anything except the fish pasta--memorable favors! I ask for a little hot sauce, too, and the dish never disappoints. Always too much to eat in one sitting. Hubby had grilled tuna with veggies and potatoes, and rated it top-notch. Yes, you might need to bring your bug spray, but there are many restaurants in Bonaire which necessitate a spritz. Server is so pleasant and accommodating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    32
    15
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Really enjoyed a dinner party I attended at La Barca. The food was delicious and the service, friendly and attentive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Puzzled by all the great reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Booked a reservation at La Barca (after discovering that Carpaccio is closed on Tuesday) based on the many recent, great ratings. Clearly something has changed at this restaurant since those reviews.

We started with salads, which were simple but fine. The entrees, however, were generally inedible. Two of us had gnocchi, which were hand made but not by someone who has ever tasted them before. They were very pasty, and were not properly rolled or cooked. The sausage in the sauce was not Italian sausage; it tasted like breakfast sausage. The only discernable spice in the sauce was salt, and there was far too much of that.

The other two in our party ordered pastas. Again, the noodles were fresh, but not properly cooked, and were quite chewy. And there was even more salt in these dishes. The meats used in the sauce were cheap and flavorless.

The service was the only highlight, but as we were the only customers in the place the entire 90 minutes we were there, it was not much of a challenge. The chef did send his apologies and comp the meal when he saw we had barely touched our plates, but claimed that he did not add (or even have?) any salt in the kitchen. He blamed the switch to a new tomato sauce.

Without the salt, I guess the food would have at least been edible, but it still would be far from good. And what kind of chef doesn't taste the sauce? Or check the ingredients?

It's rare that following the advice of other TA travelers leads you down a bad path, but this was the exception. There are so many wonderful places to eat here, I would move La Barca to the bottom of the list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, NV
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food and View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Went here in June, 2011, and had a wonderful meal! My partner surprised me in June, 2013 with a surprise birthday for a group of 20 of us. And we went back a few nights later for more. The dining is superb, and the food was excellent as always. Loved the attention to detail in the preparation. I'm still amazed at how excellent everything was, especially for a large crowd. WOW.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

12 of us had gone to La Barca to celebrate a friends birthday. (Happy Birthday Andrea!!) We had called ahead and asked for a large table to be arranged and a surprise birthday cake with candles. They had said they would be happy to help us celebrate. The food was delicious and the service was great. Everyone loved it. The biggest surprise was when they brought out the cake, surrounded by chocolates and lit the candles......one candle was shooting up all different sparkles. The entire staff of La Barca really went out of their way to make this a memorable evening. The food is delicious, the location is beautiful with views of the water and the staff knowledgeable and helpful. They helped us feel like we were all family, including the staff gathering to celebrate a friends birthday. Thank you. It is my favorite restaurant in Bonaire.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Barca also viewed

Kralendijk, Bonaire
 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to La Barca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Barca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.