We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Guernica

La Guernica
Kaya Bonaire 4c, Kralendijk, Bonaire
(599)717-5022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 69 Restaurants in Kralendijk
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A pleasant harbour side restaurant serving tapas as well as more substantial meals. We went for the tapas option. The coconut shrimps with mango sauce were lovely and the ribs very tasty. Staff pleasant and good service.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    69
    31
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highampton
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Faultless, consistently good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have been coming to Bonaire for the last 5 years and have always made a point of having at least one meal here. This time we have been twice.. On both occasions the food has been perfectly cooked. My wife had fish on both visits, wahoo and dorado, both with excellent accompanying sauces. I chose a rack of ribs and the beef tenderloin steak. Again with very tasty sauces.

The service is first class, polite but not over the top and friendly.

Would we eat here again, yes absolutely, why change a good thing, it's one of the best restaurants on the island.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Ohio
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“best meal in Bonaire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our best meal in Bonaire but expenisive. My husband had the steak and was pleased .. I had Wahoo and it was also very good. Good view and the people were friendly .. the service was island speed … so don’t be in a rush.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Tapas on Bonaire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Excellent and a great variaty of dishes & tapas to choose from. Little background music to set the ambience and a wonderfull ocean view just in front of the restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Dirty Menus....slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our party of nine ate at La Guernica Fish & Tapas resturant. The first thing most of our party noticed were how nasty their menus were. Several of us washed our hands after handling them. Our meal. Was served an hour later and was unremarkable. My fish was overcooked and dry. The blaring music took away from an otherwise pleasant outdoor setting.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Guernica also viewed

Kralendijk, Bonaire
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to La Guernica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Guernica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.