We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay And Dive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buddy Dive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Buddy Dive to your Saves list
Buddy Dive
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kaya Gob. N. Debrot 85, Kralendijk, Bonaire   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay And Dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Buddy Dive makes diving in Bonaire so easy that even a cave man could do it. With their all inclusive room, truck, and NITROX it's almost impossible to not dive till you are nearly exhausted! I have stayed at other resorts on Bonaire where everything is separate - truck at the airport, extra charge for NITROX, and have found it much more convenient to get everything at once.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    204
    75
    43
    18
See reviews for
78
183
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calhoun, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Exchanged a timeshare through RCI for a week in a 1 bedroom suite. Instead of giving us just whatever unfilled room they had at the time of our arrival like some resorts often do for timeshare exchanges. They gave us the best room on the property! Right next to the dive shop with a waterfront balcony overlooking the beautiful Carribean. There is awesome diving right from the shore of the resort which also is one of the most popular night dive sites on the island and featured in Sport Diver Magazine. Tanks are available for guests 24 hrs a day for diving from their docks. They also have a drive through air station where you can drive through and drop off empty tanks and pick up full tanks if you have a rental vehicle which is a must because there is great shore diving all across the island! If your a scuba diver, It will be hard to find a better vacation. If your not it's still a great place for vacation to get away and relax. The room had been remodeled and updated. Housekeeping was better than anywhere I've stayed. The ladies cleaned the room thoroughly every day. The staff was friendly and helpful. Definitely will be going back the first chance I get!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Bonaire and Buddy Dive - a very hard combination to beat and you know it as soon as you show up. The dive shop is first class and the accommodations are neat, clean and inviting. And talk about convenience. You simply take a few steps outside of your room and you wade into world class diving. Their equipment storage is well located and has plenty of space but the exciting part of the day is simply walking up and having all the air tanks you want.... its like being hungry and walking up to a well stocked buffet. The food is very good in both the restaurant and the bar and there are a number of very nice restaurants within minutes of the resort using the pickup truck furnished with the package. This place is first class and whether you are a bigger or a seasoned pro diver you will have a good time at Buddy Dive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Buyer beware about this resort. Don't book a vacation here unless you can afford pre-purchased trip insurance. My husband and I were to stay a week there in early Aug., but, unfortunately, he broke four bones in his foot six days prior to our trip and we were unable to go. Luckily, we'd purchased trip insurance for our airfare and, due to our medical emergency, we were able to recoup that money. We didn't, however, have trip insurance for the resort and diving portion of our trip. The choice to not purchase trip insurance, of course, was ours and its definitely something we'll give consideration for future trips, but we were extremely disappointed in what the resort offered us given that this was an unavoidable medical emergency. We certainly didn't expect them to refund our money, but we were shocked when they offered us only a third of what we'd paid in the way of a resort credit. Because of the nature of our reason for canceling, we expected a credit for the full amount or at least close to that amount. If we'd rebooked at a more expensive time of year, we'd have been happy to pay any upcharge, etc. We would have even understood a small rebooking fee, but we did not expect them to keep 2/3 of our money because we had a medical emergency. They cited their cancellation policy of 60+ days out as a reason and acted as if they were doing us a favor by offering us a third of the total in a resort credit. When I asked exactly how one plans for a medical emergency, they had no response.
Let me say again that I realize the responsibility of purchasing trip insurance rests with the traveler and we chose not to do that in this case. We certainly didn't plan for this emergency, but we did expect a bit more empathy and understanding from the staff at Buddy Dive Resort. Their offer of only a third of our total in the way of a resort credit was, in our opinion, lacking in empathy, reflective of poor customer service and, frankly, insulting. After reading some of the other reviews, I suppose they needed to keep our money in order to do some updating and repairs. It doesn't sound like the place is in great shape, so I don't think we missed much by not being there.
My husband and I were very much looking forward to our first dive trip to Bonaire, but we will most certainly find another place to stay when we do finally get there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This review is following my first stay on Bonaire and at Buddy Dive. I am comparing the resort against other properties in Grand Cayman, Bahamas, Turks & Caicos, and Curacao. The room/condo was clean and maintained well by the housekeeping staff, however the in-room AC units were noisy, and in my room water leaked down the wall dripping through the light fixture mounting, then it created a water fall off the wall mirror to the desk top. I saw no bugs/ants until the last night when I found a giant roach on my floor. You are issued a beach towel at check-in that you are accountable to return for a $20 deposit which is an unnecessary logistical concern every day. WIFI on the property costs hourly or $40 a week and it totally sucks. There is no good time to use it, the signal is very weak, and it frequently fails when needed most. The walkways and driveways were not cleared well and the water quality in both pools is DISGUSTING to say the least. Water pressure in my room was very poor at peak times (morning and dinner time). The house reef diving is acceptable and the dive boats in use were more than adequate. If you are there to just dive only with very little collateral focus then it might work for you. The pickup trucks on-site are also very suitable to diving remotely. There is no noise between rooms/units to be concerned about because of the construction used. Drinks are expensive at the bar, and food service for lunch and dinner could be much improved. Breakfast was the highlight of each day. On-site security at night was present but, seemed obviously laid-back. The check-in process at the front desk caused gridlock at peak times, and it would behoove any visitor to get the registration form in advance to speed-up the check-in process. Although the staff was friendly, communications with them were frequently confusing (may just be a Dutch thing). My suggestion would be to look elsewhere, but be aware that the same owners may own the alternative property you are looking at so ASK first as problems may span multiple properties/resorts. As for travel to Bonaire, be very careful about any weight overage on your luggage as they are STICKLERS for every ounce overweight.

Room Tip: If I had to chose a room it would be off the ground floor, away from the pool, and preferably a 3 be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is my second trip to Buddy Dive and it has had a marked decline from two years ago. I however found it very hard to pick a number rating for the review. This is because certain thinks like the location and dive center were fantastic, but the facility maintenance, care for the customer, room furnishing were all lacking. Especially helpful and useful was Francesca at the dive shop. What a fantastic resource for local dive info.

To start with, I stayed in room 407, a 1 bed room apartment on the second floor. There were a number of problems: The king size bed was two twin beds pushed together, not really acceptable. The bed room had an air conditioner, but not the living room / kitchen. It was always hot in the living area. The staff brought us an extra fan, but there was no place in the bedroom to plug it in so you could blow cooler air into the living area. More than 5 roaches were found in the room during the course of our stay. The room had a "wicker" couch that was rather uncomfortable. There was no cork screw in the room, and we asked multiple times for one. Finally we were told to have to bar open the bottle of wine for us. (Seriously) The room was supplied with shampoo only 2 days during the course of a week. We started with 4 bath towels and finished up with 2. The maid just didn't brin them back. There were no wash clothes, even though we asked several times. It wasn't possible to drive the truck to the apartment for loading and unloading 90% of the time. This is because Buddy Dive allowed people to park and block the drive way. The Internet would not stay connected for more than 10 minutes. Crappy 19 inch "old school" tube TV in the room. Also the AD didn't work on the first truck we received from Buddy Dive. And yes they replaced it with another truck, but only after some complaining. Cooktop stove was ancient and took forever to warm a pot of water.

There were some nice things with Buddy Dive. The breakfast was nice. Tasty and lots of variety. The location for breakfast can't be beat. The reef at Buddy dive is quite nice. And there was never any issue with getting tanks. Also, they seemed very relaxed when getting weights and towels back. --No up charging here. I also think Buddy dive did a good job picking up and dropping off at the airport.

All in all, I felt Buddy Dive has declined since I visited two years ago. It wasn't a good value for the money. I paid approximately $215 per night, including breakfast for two. I'll probably stay elsewhere next time I visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyDan
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Septic smell in rooms.
Pot holes in road.
Mold growing on walls in several units.
Rank and file employees could care less.
Management tried to resolve problems but staff was resentful when asked to do their job.
Dive operation was top notch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buddy Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Dive

Address: Kaya Gob. N. Debrot 85, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddy Dive 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Bonaire and Buddy Dive Resort. An unhurried, unspoiled natural paradise offering spectacular sunsets, gentle breezes and crystal clear, turquoise waters. Buddy's is a resort where you can DIVE DIVE DIVE, take part in a multitude of activities or just sit back, relax and enjoy the atmosphere. At Buddy Dive, we're known for our casual atmosphere, personable staff, spacious accommodations and a dive operation that has something for every diver: comfortable boats, complete rental and retail center, exceptional staff, and a unique "Drive Thru" with a two-lane air/nitrox fill station. No matter which apartment you are staying in, you're never further than a giant stride away from our popular and lively house reef which is perfect for diving and snorkeling, day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Buddy Dive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Dive Kralendijk
Buddy Dive Hotel Kralendijk
Buddy Dive Bonaire/Kralendijk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddy Dive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.