We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice B4 you stay anywhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Dollar Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sand Dollar Condominiums to your Saves list
Sand Dollar Condominiums
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kaya Gobernador N. Debrot 79, Kralendijk, Bonaire   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Think twice B4 you stay anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in condo B4, which is privately owned. We had a large screened porch, a fully equipped kitchen, a living room with a couch and chairs as well as cable TV, a nice bathroom with a large shower, and a king sized bed with AC. The whole place had cute decorations and felt like home.

Our dive package included a rental truck, so on our first day we stocked our fridge and freezer, so we would have breakfast every morning and then pack a lunch for in between dives. To save some money, we utilized the oven and stove a few nights for dinner.

In addition to the shore dives, we did 6 boat dives with the dive shop, which is top-rate. The DMs were always friendly and helpful, and would give advice for places to go and what to see for our self-guided shore dives.

I imagine that each person's personal experience with this property is largely determined by how well the owner keeps up the unit. But our unit was fantastic for 2 people, and when we come back to Bonaire will be requesting this unit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    70
    23
    10
    8
See reviews for
47
66
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hingham, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great condo, well equipped, beautiful views of the water and great access to the water. First time in Bonaire and we very much enjoyed it. The Studio Condo A-3 was the perfect size for two and was very comfortable. The other owners of some of the other condos in this complex are very welcoming and nice. Enjoyed cocktails at night when them Sea Side many nights. All in all, it was a great vacation filled with warm weather, sun, fishing and some great food in a great condo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A group of divers shared a second floor 3-bedroom condo February 16-23. We were very pleasantly surprised by the amount of outdoor space we had. There were a number of hooks to hang our suits and gear to dry in between dives and more importantly, after our last dive.
All of the rooms were generous and well appointed. Two of the bedrooms had ensuites. The only thing that detracted from the unit was a musty smell in one of the kitchen cupboards. Other than that it was superb. This was my third trip to Bonaire and second staying at Sand Dollar. The reef right off the property has lots to see and very easy to access.
Eddy's Restaurant has a great breakfast buffet on the weekend and dinner through the week was excellent.
Dive Friends Bonaire has a facility on the property to provide tanks, weights, and most things you might need. If they don't have what you need there, one of their other locations probably will. We were very well looked after by Shelly and Suus during our stay. We told them when we arrived they would remember us with fond memories, and I can say without a doubt we certainly will remember them that way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoona, pa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our party had rented a three bedroom and a one bedroom unit last week. This is a very good location about two miles north of downtown; near enough to town but far enough to be quiet. All units are designed to be oceanfront and about 50 steps from the ocean. Most of the units are individually owned and can be rented directly from the owner or through Sand Dollar. That being said there are variations as to the condition and finish of each unit. We found that the units are not five star, but I would rate them ranging from 3 and half to four star. We were a mixture of divers and snorkellers and the location is great for both with the reef right out on front.
Just to compare, I looked up other places to the north and in town that I has considered staying at and came to the conclusion that the Sand Dollar was the best. I could go on but suffice it to say that if we come back to Bonaire we definitely would stay at the Sand Dollar again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Studio A-3 is spacious, clean, comfortable, has a well equipped kitchen and a fantastic view. Sand Dollar has a large uncrowded sea-front location with excellent diving and snorkeling just steps away from your condo. A-3 has a screened porch that is wonderful sit quietly and read or listen to the sea and the birds. You can choose from 2 on site dive shops. Sand Dollar is a great resort with friendly people and an excellent location.

Room Tip: All condos face the Caribbean Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We rented a studio privately and not through the Sand Dollar (A-4) and couldn't have been happier with our stay. The condo itself was cleaned and very well maintained. The property itself was also nicely maintained and the front office staff was very nice and accommodating. The Dive Friends location was very convenient as it was easy to retrieve tanks to head out diving for the day. Great snorkeling right in front of Sand Dollar with several easy access points to the reef. Sand Dollar is close to town and no restaurant or dive site ever felt too far.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A small group of us spent 2 weeks in Bonaire in October and November 2012 and had a great time. Other than one person who went out on some boat dives, the rest of only did shore diving and used Bonaire Dive & Adventure (http://bonairediveandadventure.com/ ) which is located adjacent to Sand Dollar.

We stayed in a Sand Dollar (www.sanddollarbonaire.com) condo. The Sand Dollar condos are all individually owned; however, they can be rented through the U.S. travel company. From personal experience we have learned that some owners have done a better job than others of keeping their units up to date. Be sure to ask for a unit with a walk-in shower (we did not like units that have tubs). You can also request a condo that has a screened-in porch.

We chose Sand Dollar, having stayed there many times before, because we like their spaciously sized accommodations, the great views and breezes, and the easy access to both the dive shop and their pier for shore diving. All the condos have fully equipped kitchens with large refrigerators, microwaves, toasters, blenders, and plenty of kitchen dishes and utensils. This is important for us, since we ate our breakfasts and lunches in and most of our group are good cooks. Maid service is twice a week, but you can get clean towels any time by asking for them in the office. Also, each bedroom has its own a/c unit and many have an additional unit in the living room, but there is an additional charge if you want to use the living room a/c in the two-bedroom units. Electricity and water are very expensive on Bonaire and being a good steward of these resources is important and not hard to do. It is amazing to us that so many tourists come to a fragile environment like Bonaire and don't adjust their habits, but for us, part of the charm of being in Bonaire is being conscious of how we affect our environment and doing something about it.

We found the office staff very accommodating. Each day when we wanted to make dinner reservations, we would stop in and they would take care of calling if we asked. And when we needed a repair done, the staff responded promptly.

One reason we stay at Sand Dollar is the ease in diving from there. We like Bonaire Dive & Adventure, since it is located a short walk from the condos. Another nice feature is that the BDA’s pier does not have steps, which makes getting into the water relatively easy. The diving was lovely as usual. We mainly went out ourselves and often right off the pier on Bari reef, which is known for its fish diversity. There were many fish and other sealife. Bonaire has been addressing the lionfish invasion aggressively and the close-in reefs were almost lionfish-free this trip. Bonaire is known for its sealife diversity but not usually for large critters; however, the tarpons who followed us when we dove were plenty big as was the single barracuda. We saw octopus on several dives and even a solitary squid. We had wonderful underwater adventures in Bonaire.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit with a walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sand Dollar Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dollar Condominiums

Address: Kaya Gobernador N. Debrot 79, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sand Dollar Condominiums 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Dollar offers some of the most spacious and comfortable ocean view studio, one, two and three bedroom accommodations on Bonaire. All of our condominiums have air-conditioned bedrooms, full kitchens, dining and living areas. The condo's roomy porches or balconies offer views of the Caribbean Sea and Bari Reef which beckon irresistibly to scuba divers and snorkelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sand Dollar Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Dollar Condominium Hotel Kralendijk
Sand Dollar Condominium Kralendijk
Sand Dollar Condominiums Bonaire/Kralendijk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Dollar Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.