We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divi Flamingo is Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino

Save Saved
You added Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   J.A. Abraham Boulevard 40 | P.O. Box 413, Kralendijk, Bonaire   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Kralendijk
Austin, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Divi Flamingo is Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I just got back from my first trip to Bonaire. I went on a group trip put together by my local dive shop, and they let me know that this was the first time they were using Divi Flamingo instead of another Bonaire hotel, so I was a little nervous. We arrived early in the morning, and the check in process was quite slow, so it didn't seem like a good start. But that was the last disappointment of the trip - from there on the whole experience was wonderful. The dive shop is outstanding, and they make it VERY easy to do all the diving you want. They have a great pier with lockers for all your gear, and tanks of both air and nitrox available 24/7. There is a delicious breakfast buffet each morning that includes custom made omlettes/eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, waffles, and fresh fruit and juices. This made it really easy to get a good meal in before the 2 tank dive boats leave around 8:30am. There is another waterfront restaurant that made it easy to grab lunch on the morning dives, or to have a nice dinner after a day of diving.

And all the diving I did with the Divi team was fantastic. The boat was in great shape, with a nice ladder that made for easy exits after your dive. All the dive shop staff were very friendly, and the team for the boat our group used were outstanding. (Be sure to ask for Orlando and Endro when you go!). They were very flexible on which dive sites we visited, letting our group select almost all the sites we visited, and letting us know when/why certain sites might not be a good idea for our group. Both Endro and Orlando are great underwater, keeping the group together and helping point out and find the interesting coral and wildlife on each dive.

The room we had was fantastic. Very comfortable beds and pillows, so we always got a good night's sleep. Our unit had the kitchenette, which included two gas burners, a convection microwave, full size refrigerator, sink, and nice pots/pans/dishes. The A/C worked great, so we had a nice cool room to sleep in or cool off after a day of diving. We had a comfortable couch and chair inside, as well as a screened patio with a table, three regular chairs and one nice lounge chair. The screened porch really helped with mosquito control, and in our room we had way fewer problems with mosquitoes than we've had on other trips. And I was impressed that they did a mid-week mosquito fogging of the rooms just to make sure nobody had a problem.

We rented a truck for the week because we thought we'd do lots of shore diving on our own. it turned out that the boat diving through Divi was so good and took us to all the sites we wanted, so we only used the truck for a couple shore dives. The resort is a very short walk to the town center, so next time I will probably just use the rental shop on the property to get a truck for a day or two if needed rather than pay for the whole week.

Overall, we were very, very happy with the hotel and I think it was a big part of why the trip was so successful. I understand why so many of the divers we met had been to Bonaire several times already. I already want to go back, and when I do I will definitely stay at Divi Flaming again!

Room Tip: I recommend the upgraged room with screened porches and the kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    184
    79
    30
    12
See reviews for
66
169
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

You can not beat diving in Bonaire: Diving: The dive operations are 'exceptional' ( one of the best in the Caribbean) well run, convenient lockers, tubs, etc. professional dive staff that was cheerful, attentive and informative. Multiple opportunities for morning, afternoon and night boat diving plus tanks for shore diving or going to the many sites on the inland. Diving was included in our package and our group averaged 15-24 dive each for the week. Accommodations: close to town which was nice, resort was dated but the grounds and rooms were clean. Island pricing or above for food and beverage. The staff was polite but lacked that little something that made you feel welcome. The food was average and took 40 minutes most time to receive and was often not hot. If you like to taste your alcohol in your drink, don't bother as drinks are 'measured' one ounce shots, no hot tub, little entrainment but we were there to dive and they handled that exceptionally. If would go back because of the diving but see if they offered an all-inclusive (we just got diving and breakfast) to include all meals, beverages and diving. i recommend the resort for diving.

Room Tip: Bonaire in general and the resort is expensive for food. We had a room with a kitchen which helped a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

An older property on the island, but they are maintaining it well. Location and the dive shop are the best features, is in on the ocean and the dive shop has a great set up with dive lockers and tanks on the dock. Unfortunately, the reef at this location is not in good health compared to other sites on the island, but their is a tank locker right in the front parking lot to load up the truck and head out.

Now the negative. We booked on priceline and paid taxes and fees up front, only to have them charge us an additional 13% tax upon checkout. Very disappointing and somewhat dishonest in my opinion. Service around the resort is average, they don't pay much attention to detail, but it is a laid back dive island, so I would rate the service as acceptable and average.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I just learned to dive here, but didn't stay at the hotel so I have no idea what that experience looks like, but I can tell you learning to dive here was a terrific experience. No pool dives, just straight into the clear blue sea. The first 100' or so off the beach is only about 10' deep so it proves a perfect place to practice and get confortable. The instructor was a real pro.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington On, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent one week at the Divi Bonaire for a scuba vacation.
The hotel was nice, clean and quiet, perfect for diving.
You can drink the water from the taps!!!! Great.
The rooms were nice. The beds very comfortable.
The diving was good and the dive team did well.
I would recommend this resort for diving.
The reef in front of the hotel is very nice.
Food in the restaurants was good the couple of times we used them.
It is a short walk to town with lots of restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Led a group of 25 divers for our 9th trip to Divi Flamingo and Divi Dive Bonaire. This being our ninth trip says enough in itself, we love Bonaire and the Divi!!! From the hotel staff, Sara the General Manager, Mirna at the Front Desk to the wait staff and bartenders, everyone is there to ensure you have a Great Time! The resort is well maintained, the grounds well-kept, the pools inviting. The rooms are comfortable and offer all the creature comforts; air-conditioning, ceiling fans, in-room safe, fridge, coffee makers and hair dryers. Meals served at both the Calabas & Chibi Chibi did not disappoint, items were reasonably priced, the portions plentiful and the food tasty.
The diving is some of the best and easiest you’ll find! We’ve been to many, many resorts throughout the Caribbean and I can honestly say the diving in Bonaire is tough to beat and the Staff and Crew of Divi Dive Bonaire makes it all the better. Serge runs a great operation, checking in often throughout the week to make sure the group is happy. We were lucky enough to have Rafino and Orlando as our DiveMaster for the week, staff we consider friends as a result of our many visits. We enjoyed 2 tank morning boat dives daily, which always left promptly, with dive sites within close proximity and the marine life did not disappoint. We saw turtles daily, seahorse, frogfish and all the typical fish you would expect see in the Caribbean. The ocean always flat the visibility 100+! The thing I love most about staying at the Divi Flamingo and diving with Divi Dive Bonaire is the convenience of the shore diving! Lockers right at the water’s edge, grab your gear and a tank and a giant stride later you’re greeted by a beautiful reef! In addition to the 12 boat dives we made during our weeks stay, many in our group made upwards of 10 shore dives. We saw it all, eels, turtles, tarpon, cuda, crab, lobsters, BIG FUN! If you’re looking for a resort that offers comfort, convenience and GREAT DIVING this might just be the perfect place!
P.S. we had some non-divers join us and from all indications they had as much fun as the divers. Town is an easy 10 minute walk from the resort with some great shopping, little local restaurants and several “watering holes” to quench that thirst. A FUN time was had by all!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Eat sleep and dive dive dive ! Serge runs things just right. Max and Ruud were great dive masters for the week. I'm going back in Feb! The diving is just incredible with visibility that always seems to exceed 100 feet. Go you will love it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino

Address: J.A. Abraham Boulevard 40 | P.O. Box 413, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Flamingo Beach Hotel Kralendijk
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort And Casino Bonaire/Kralendijk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.