We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch - great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Blue on the Beach

Cactus Blue on the Beach
Donkey Beach, Bonaire | Donkey Beach, Kralendijk, Bonaire
+599 701 7873
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Kralendijk
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Street Food
Description: Located at "Donkey Beach" offering great burgers and cold drinks. Donkey beach is located directly underneath the approachroute for planes at the landingstrip of the airport. Start cooking from around 11 am till around 4 pm Monday to Friday. Group sunset dinners can be arranged within 24 hours comprising of Boneless Chicken, Fall of the bone Ribs, Spiced Island Sausage, Lionfish Ceviche, Salad & Bread - $20 per person. Beers and Wine are BYO.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch - great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Based on all the wonderful reviews, we did have lunch twice at Cactus Blue on the Beach. It was the perfect location for us after two morning dives on the south side of the island. Kite burgers are awesome and the view even better! Haagen who owns the Cactus was extremely pleasant and a joy to talk to.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    76
    23
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hidden burger paradise within an Island paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We would told about this great burger place on the beach. So after a couple of Scuba dives near the south end of Bonaire we decided to make the trek just a little further down the road to Cactus Blue and boy are we glad we did. All 15 of us came away saying "that was the best or one of the best burgers I have ever had." So when in Bonaire make the trip just south of the Aquarius dive site and visit the little trailer than does burger right!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“No Lionfish to be found?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We went to Cactus Blue to try the Famous Lionfish Sandwich but after 2 different occasions going there we gave up! First time we were told that he had no Lionfish and to come on Thursday because he had his "Divers" out to replenish his supply. So we came back on Thursday, only to be told that he did have Lionfish, but was saving it for a private party that he was catering! It would have been better if he have told us that his "Divers" did not get any that day. Just bad Customer Service! Burger was good, but he is not the #1 restaurant in Bonaire?

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Waves- what more could you need?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Love, love, love this place. Just vacationed in Bonaire and read about this place on tripadvisor and am so happy I did. The service was exquisite, the food and beer were unique and tasty, and the atmosphere was phenomenal. If you want a lion fish wrap however try to arrive before noon because they go fast and I now know exactly why- they're delicious! If and when I return to Bonaire I will be back here upon arrival for lunch with the donkeys and kite boarders.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great burger on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

A great burger. We ate while watching the kite surfers! Cost was $20 for two burgers and two drinks which is good for Bonaire.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Blue on the Beach also viewed

Kralendijk, Bonaire
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Kralendijk, Bonaire
 

Been to Cactus Blue on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Blue on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.