We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windows to the Sea Kayaking and Snorkeling

Windows to the Sea Kayaking and Snorkeling
Kaya Kuarts 30 | Republiek, 00001, Bonaire
+5997863103
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Windows to the Sea Kayaking and Snorkeling is a small, unique tour guide business owned and operated solely by a mother and daughter team, Tina and Terra, who first came to Bonaire, Netherland Antilles from northern California in the year 2000. Windows to the Sea Kayaking are the original clear bottom kayaks on Bonaire. Enjoy a variety of kayaking tours on high quality cushy, lumbar support seats. Our two person kayaks are equipped with bpa free Nalgene water bottles and Mares waterproof dry bags. We offer snorkeling with all of our tours, top of the line snorkeling gear is provided. Let us transport you in our 14-person air-conditioned bus while you view Bonaire’s unique landscape. Enjoy ice cold beverages, fruit and munchies with all our tours. Let us customize a tour for you!
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

After many trips to Bonaire we finally went into the mangroves with Tina. What a great experience. Don't wait as long as we did!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A good mix of kayaking and snorkeling with a great host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Tina, our guide and host, host provided an interesting mix of kayaking and snorkeling. She genuinely loved what she was doing. We had a bit of rain during the kayaking but it was still fun. The clear bottom works well when the sun is out, There was plenty to see both along the shore and in the water. Snorkeling though was obviously the best way to see the fish. The location had a good variety and quantity. An honest rum punch at the conclusion set off a fine tour with a fine touch.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great tour with kayaking and great snorkeling All equipment is provided Also water fruit juice and light snacks Great afternoon in a nice small group Would highly recommend this tour to anyone going to Bonaire

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmawr, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome and peacefull time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Went on the tour with my 7 year old son, my niece and my brother. We had a great time. Love the mangroves and knew nothing about them before this tour. If you are visiting Bonaire it's a must stop to see another side of the island. Snorkeling through the Mangroves is something I'll never forget and am grateful me and my son got to experience it. And yes the friendly Barracuda is friendly. Thank you Tina.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
“The beauty of the mangroves that you don't see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We didn't really know what to expect when we signed up for Windows to the Sea. We had seen many beautiful reefs off the coast of Bonaire and wanted to do something different with one of our days. Tina's kayak tour through the mangroves was a wonderful addition to our trip. She quickly taught us the basics of kayaking and off we went. We had no idea just how incredible the mangroves are when seen up close and from below. Tina shares her passion for this ecosystem as she guides and teaches along the way. The mangroves are certainly a lot more than a tangle of green tree branches over water. The root system underneath the water is as colorful as the coral in the sea. It is truly the nursery for much of what is seen in deeper water off the coast. Little fish were darting around trying to get big enough to survive open water. Large schools of snapper would squeeze between us and the mangroves. Turtles were swimming into the area to dine on the upside down jellyfish. There were many interesting birds to spot. This includes the pink flamingos that are prevalent along the drive to and from Lac Bay. At the end of the Kayak trip, Tina set up a folding table and tablecloth for her fruit snacks, water, rum punch, and homemade cookies. Tina is a gracious host and a knowledgeable guide that we would definitely recommend to the traveler who wants to get off the beaten path. Enjoy your trip, Dan and Ray.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windows to the Sea Kayaking and Snorkeling also viewed

 

Been to Windows to the Sea Kayaking and Snorkeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windows to the Sea Kayaking and Snorkeling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.