We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scuba diving vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Don's Habitat

Save Saved
You added Captain Don's Habitat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain Don's Habitat
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   103 Kaya Gobernador Debrot, Bonaire   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Bonaire
Chaska, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Scuba diving vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was a very nice hotel. It is not fancy but it is clean and very convenient for scuba diving. The dive shop employees are very helpful. the dive masters, if you decide to do some boat dives, are great and i suggest that you do some boat dives as there are some sight you can't get to by shore diving. The breakfast was very good and we did that as part of our package. you can do other meals as well but we found out we were gone scuba diving and would miss dinner anyway. The night diving off the dock was as good as any night dive we did and we did one every night and we did the hotel dive twice. Again this is not an exclusive high end hotel but I would go there again in a minute.

Room Tip: Some rooms or cabanas have kitchens in them ( we had one) so you can cook some meals if your schedua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    86
    32
    32
    17
See reviews for
41
60
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is our third trip back to Captain Don's and it won't be our last. If you are a serious diver, this is the place to be. You have total diving freedom 24/7! Take your choice of 3 daily boat trips and unlimited shore diving day or night. Tanks are filled on the dive boat but you do set up your own gear. We prefer this anyway. The diving operation is simply the best. We like to book the 2 bedroom bungalow since we travel as a threesome. This gives us a bit more privacy, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen, a nice outside covered porch . . feels like a home away from home. The restaurant, dive shop and hotel are separate entities, so you need to settle up 3 tabs when you check out - not a big deal if you are prepared for it. The food is excellent, the best we have found on the island. Lunch is leisurely . . maybe not the best choice if you are in a hurry. Dinner a bit less so - seems to be more staff on hand for the evening mealtime. All in all, a great operation with a great staff!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This was my first trip to Bonaire and I will absolutley go again and stay with Captain Don. We were there for a week and got to know a lot of the staff. They are all very friendly and always available to help. Captain Don's makes the diving so easy, and enjoyable. The house reef is amazing. They have lockers by the house dock which make it easy to store your gear and not have to take it back to your room. The rooms all have a fridge so you don't have to eat out for every meal. They also have lines outside each room to hang your gear on and small sinks to rinse your smaller gear, dunk tanks are by the lockers for your larger gear. If you're considering going here for a dive trip DO IT, you wont find better easier diving.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We've just returned from another trip to Bonaire. Captain Don's is outstanding! We stayed in the newer units and they are excellent accommodations. The diving operation is wonderful - we will miss Netto, Lutty, Ervine, Wilco and the rest of the dive staff until our next trip. They did everything possible to make our dives memorable and fun. The restaurant facilities and staff are also excellent - we had outstanding breakfasts at the buffet and dined on wonderfully prepared seafood almost every evening! Thank you for a fantastic vacation.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer section of the resort are worth a few extra dollars. They are clean, updated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Scheduled a boat dive/snorkel trip on line-with confirmation. When I got there-they didn’t have a record. That was OK, went as scheduled to Klein Bonaire etc. Dive folks went off with a guide-snorkel folks were sent off on own. Overall impression was they didn’t care much-not laid-back, just indifferent. Was reinforced when I got feedback from a friend who went on the Woodwind snorkel tour to Klein Bonaire—THEY got lots of information, multiple sites, beverages, guide, enthusiasm, saw turtles etc. – couldn’t say enough about what a great tour they had. Will do Woodwind next trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We rented one of the garden bungalows. A little grungy around the edges. Could use a thorough cleaning. Capt. Don's is a good location for dives. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were always able to sign on to the boat dives we wanted. We could rent the gear we needed and there was dockside storage room and rinse tanks to make diving easy. The food is OK at best. We went next door to Buddy Dive for dinner if we did not want to drive into town. We booked our Bonaire in January and Buddy Dive was booked up so we went with Captain Don's because we wanted an easy dive location. It was that, just a little run down and could use some renewal to attract more vacationers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We booked 11 nights at Don's in a ocean front junior suite. The room is new, clean, spacious, has a good bed and a nice terrass with a view on "Klein Bonaire".

We joined the "meet the Captain" evening, had a word with him, bought his book and got the book autographed by him. Afterwards we had the babeque which was good value. The restaurant has nice open wines by the glass and the staff is very friendly.

The diving operations staff was also friendly and helpfull and we where taken to many nice diving spots.

We had two more dinners and time and again it was a good experience. (food, wine and service)
(can't understand an earlier reviewer who recomended the place next door because of price and menu. Yes is was cheaper there but the wine was bad and the food substandard. Whish I had ignored that recommendation)

Still some more days to go but sure want to come back

Room Tip: The ocean front junior suites are very nice indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Captain Don's Habitat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Don's Habitat

Address: 103 Kaya Gobernador Debrot, Bonaire
Location: Caribbean > Bonaire
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Bonaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Don's Habitat 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Captain Don's Habitat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Don`s Habitat Hotel Bonaire
Captain Dons Habitat Bonaire
Captain Dons Habitat Hotel Bonaire
Captain Dons Bonaire
Captain Don's Habitat Bonaire, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Don's Habitat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.