We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“snorkeling with Dee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Klein Bonaire

Klein Bonaire
Bonaire
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 79 things to do in Bonaire
Activities: Scuba diving, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surrounded by reefs, it's a popular picnic spot and jumping off point for dives.
Twillingate, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“snorkeling with Dee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We reserved a spot on WOODWIND tours. A beautiful, clever and empathetic lady named Dee took us on her vessel to snorkel off the shore of Klein Bonaire. We saw some amazing fish including a mantra ray , and also some very curious turtles, as well as gorgeous coral. On the way from port , Dee and 2 other well-educated divers, taught us about the history of the area, as well as a lesson on coral, and its preservation, and of course about the fish. It was a great experience!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    65
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great first time snorkeling adventure!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We went to Klein as part of a Princess Cruise excursion and we LOVED IT! We spent the day snorkeling and swimming, there's so much to see and the peace and tranquility, it's awesome! Far from all the noise... Just a perfect experience!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nothing little about Klein (little) Bonaire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Big snorkeling here. The vast variety of marine life, towering sponges, big drop offs, and more is awesome! Klein Bonaire is a water taxi away from the cruise ship port and $20 US round trip per person. The island itself has no services to if you plan to spend the day take everything you will need with you - water, sunscreen, snacks, towels, etc. If you don't snorkel it may not be worth your while. The beach is OK but not one of those amazing caribbean ones. The snorkeling however is beyond compare. If you don't have your own gear you can rent it from the water taxi too. The water taxi will drop off either at the beach or down a ways so you can drift snorkel immediately from the boat. We opted to go the beach and walk down to where there is a break in the reef to get to the outer, deeper side (see physio2's review for more detail). We stashed our stuff on the beach and spent well over an hour snorkeling back. I think I spent 20 minutes just watching a sea turtle - I am silly like that. Don't miss Klein Bonaire if you are a snorkeler.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Wonderful reef--plenty of corals and diversity of marine life. We saw an octopus, sea turtles, and several species of fish we hadn't seen before.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Beautiful Unspoiled Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent the day here after arriving in Bonaire via cruise ship. We took the "Good Returns" water taxi from Karel's Beach Bar for $20 per person. The water taxi comes to the island hourly until 4:00 so one can stay as long or as little as you like. You can also rent snorkel equipment from them and buy drinks. Like many other reviews have stated, there is little shelter on the island and no facilities; so bring hats, towels, sunscreen, snorkel equipment, food and beverages.

The island is wild with a short sand beach and beautiful blue water. One can't walk far along the beach because the sand turns to piles of coral. For snorkeling, one simply has to walk along the beach to the left; (if facing the beach) for 10 min. until the sand turns to rock and find the coral break where you can swim on the deeper side of the reef. It can take up to an hour to drift snorkel to the start point. We saw beautiful coral, a sea turtle, and many interesting fish. It was the best snorkeling that we have ever done. We watched 2 tour boats drop off people for snorkelling but it is easy for novices to do it without a guide. Be careful not to touch the coral; I got a couple of fire coral stings.

I would definitely come here again if we are in port; cheap way to spend the day on a deserted island without hoards of people!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klein Bonaire also viewed

 

Been to Klein Bonaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klein Bonaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.