We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Luna

Cafe Luna
Enterprise Beach Rd | Little Arches Boutique Hotel, 17135, Barbados
+1 246-428-6172
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Savage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I went here based on the reviews it has received and it turned into a brill night. We seated outside under the stars and surrounded by lovely decor. The staff were fantastic, very charming and out to make your night great. The food was gorgeous, especially the gnocchi starter it was savage. We ended up staying there for ages, our table was not needed after our seating and so we relaxed with wine, beer and some cocktails. We have never done that before not even back home would we stay that long, if we are back again in barbados we will defo be back here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    116
    41
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Personality & Charisma!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have been going to Cafe Luna for many years and it's a real little hidden gem. This time was different they got our order mixed up and whilst slightly irritating it certainly didn't interrupt the fun or ambience. Without prompting the owner 'Moo' was over to smooth things out and then very generously comped our starters which were delicious. A lovely touch. Great charisma to match a restaurant with a unique personality. Unlike the previous reviewer from Carolina we will be back! Ps for Boxing day what do you expect it's a holiday and staff costs are more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Boxing Day”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Absurdly bad. Have enjoyed Luna for years, but what a ripoff and total disappointment this year. Add in Barbados Menu magazine indicates 3 course price fixed for $79bds ($40US). We show up with party of 6 and get a "Boxing Day" price fixed of $188bds ($89US) for two course (piece of fish and salad). $900 of fried shrimp, totally unlike their formerly wonderful boulle aide, we left, never to return. Owner/manager hit every table but ours, as believe everyone else was a hotel guest not being ripped off. Stay away!

Also, should mention they called to confirm reservation without mentioning their "special" Boxing Day Menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinmomma, Owner at Cafe Luna, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
bsurdly bad. Have enjoyed Luna for years, but what a ripoff and total disappointment this year. Add in Barbados Menu magazine indicates 3 course price fixed for $79bds ($40US). We show up with party of 6 and get a "Boxing Day" price fixed of $188bds ($89US) for two course (piece of fish and salad). $900 of fried shrimp, totally unlike their formerly wonderful boulle aide, we left, never to return. Owner/manager hit every table but ours, as believe everyone else was a hotel guest not being ripped off. Stay away!

We are very sorry you didn't enjoy our Boxing Day menu and apologise if this set menu was not explained to you when you booked. We certainly did not mean to mislead you in any way, this information was supposed to be passed on to those who booked and we apologise if you "slipped through the cracks" when you made the reservation, it was not intentional.
The information in the Menu magazine is indeed accurate for every night of the year other than Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year's. This is the norm in Barbados and most other places I know of. Apart form offering a special menu for a special occasion we offer the more limited set celebration menu as a means of helping the kitchen cope with higher volume of traffic. To offer our full menu on a night where we do double the usual number of meals would not be possible or practical.
If we are reading your review correctly you seem to insinuate that our hotel guests are somehow receiving different treatment, and even a different price to what you and your party were offered and I can assure you that that most definitely was not the case. We had one menu for every guest, hotel guests are not treated any differently than our other valued customers from outside the hotel.
Again we apologise for any disappointment and hope you consider Cafe Luna again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
“Local Produce at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This restaurant is using the finest (mainly organic) local Barbados Meat, Poultry, fruit and vegetables. The dinner that my wife and the writer recently had the pleasure of consuming, would have put many London restaurants to shame.
To start, we both had Blue Crab cakes which were devine, we followed on with a Chicken Breast stuffed with dried tomato and Brie and the flavour of the stuffing complimented the organic chicken
We had organic banana crepes with Rum and Ice cream for sweet,
The house wines are excellent, the service superb, all in all the most pleasurable experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband's birthday was on Sunday and we chose to dine here for the first time. The service blew us away, but unfortunately I do not recall our waiter's name. He went well above and beyond to ensure that we were comfortable. The entire staff went out of their way to ensure that the overall dining experience was memorable. It was not just the service that was worth the mention as the food was also fantastic. If you are looking for a place to dine in Barbados, please visit Cafe Luna, you will not be disappointed. In my husbands' so words, it was "awesome".

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Luna also viewed

Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Cafe Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.