We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Jarrow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christ Church Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Jarrow
Save
You added Villa Jarrow to your Saves list
St Lawrence | Worthing, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Place, will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Really enjoyed my time here. All the comforts of home, and a beautiful beach all to yourself at your door-step. Centrally located in the St. Lawrence gap so anything you need is walking distance. Also get to enjoy the sea turtles that swim in the cove!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Myself and 4 other ladies are presently staying at Villa Jarrow 1/2 way through a 9 night stay. We have all decided that this may be our first stay but won't be our last! You simply can't get better than this! All the comforts of home including cable television, wifi, full kitchen, washer/dryer and 2 full baths. Not to mention the deck RIGHT ON THE BEACH! We were also surprised to discover you quite often will randomly run into a sea turtle when taking a dip in the ocean. When coming from the beach there is a great outside shower to wash off the sand or even give your hair a quick wash to get rid of salt water! As some others have said it can get noisy at night (Thursday night seems to have been the loudest so far) but simply take some earplugs with you and problem solved! The location is also convenient for restaurants, shopping and anything in between. You simply have to walk out the front gate to catch a bus or taxi or take a walk in the Gap. We had an issue with the AC in one bedroom and one of the toilets and Tim had repairmen sent over immediately. If your thinking of coming to Barbados and wonder where to stay look no further!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This has it all!! If you step of the deck you're on the beach. At the entrance to St. Lawrence Gap, one of the centers of nightlife for Barbados. The owner has years in the hotel business and knows how to run a rental villa. He arranged for a taxi from the airport and then met us on arrival to make sure all of our needs we're attended to. He even offered to book a rental car for us. (That was tough to get last minute so be sure to book in advance.). All the amenities worked great. If you go to bed early, bring earplugs, because you're in the midst of it all, but we loved it. Be sure to end your stay with dinner at the all you can eat Brazilian bbq.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Villa Jarrow was a very good choice by my family coordinator. The location is right close by everything. Yes you do hear the noise from the night life of the gap. This is how close you are to all of the clubs if you do not have a problem with walking you can walk up to all the clubs like Reggeaville which most nights did not have a cover charge. The Villa is fully equipped with bottle openers, coffee maker, radio, Cable TV, Blender and George foreman grill. The villa also has a charcoal grill The washer and Dryer worked well. This is right on the beach so you can lay in the room where the TV is and allow the ocean to rock you to sleep. The sea is a bit rough in Barbados but you will not need water shoes as the beach is not rocky. The fisher men will catch fish to sell the guest. one caught a huge lobster for our family. We also tried EEL that the fishermen caught. Public transportation works will and will take you in to Bridgetown for 1 dollar US. Villa is directly on the road the bus rides. My family and I road the bus to the fish fry on Friday night and the bus brought us back home safely. We did not feel unsafe as we would walk the beach side some nights up the steps to the deck to go in the property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just returned from a 3 week stay at Villa Jarrow. We were there over the Christmas holidays. The villa is nice and in a good location. Easy to walk everywhere; grocery stores, restaurants and several different beaches where you can rent chairs and umbrellas as well as various water sport rentals. We took surf lessons at Barry's Surf school which was walking distance from Jarrow. The villa is right on the bus route and we were able to get a bus or taxi van within minutes. One of the highlights of the villa would be the nice big deck overlooking the beach. There is beach access from the deck which is nice. The beach below is pretty quiet and calm. We used this beach for a quick dip to cool off in the morning and evenings, but tended to walk to bigger beaches close by if we were planning on spending the day on the beach. The view is gorgeous. Lots of sea turtles and some days the tide was so low you could walk out to the reef.
We also appreciated the bedrooms. They were spacious and had air:)
The kitchen is fairly well equipped and we were able to do lots of cooking here. Rosanne the cleaner is very friendly. She came about twice a week but I think you can request her more or less frequently through TImothy the villa manager. Timothy is very helpful and we thought he did a great job making sure we were settled in to the villa. We have a 10 month old and found that the house was fairly baby friendly. There was only one small step down so we didn't have to worry about baby gates. The deck was fenced with lattice so she was able to crawl around there as well. There wasn't a bath tub which was a bit tricky with a baby but we made due.
The only other complaint we had was the noise. From the villa kitchen sitting rooms it wasn't too bad but in the bedrooms it could be quite noisy- the street traffic at times, and specifically on Thurs and Saturday nights the karaoke bar across the street was really loud. Brutal renditions of Celine Dion will forever be ingrained in my memory. When we told Timothy about this he was able to call the bar and see if they could tune it down a bit, this did seem to help. The bedroom overlooking the ocean was pretty noisy most nights from music across the bay.
Overall, I would say we had a great time in Barbados at the Villa. The country is beautiful and very safe. Bajans are the most friendly and helpful people we have encountered on our travels in the Caribbean thus far.

Room Tip: The room that seems the least exciting (no beach view, no walk in closet on ensuite) is the quietest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We were at Villa Yarrow end Oct/Nov 2012. The villa is wonderful. The deck is a great place to relax day or night and we loved watching and swimming with the turtles in the bay. Being right on the beach, the constant sound of the sea is heaven! The bus stop to take you around the island is literally across the road. There are further great beaches within walking distance. We would recommend Bobs BBQ at Crystal Waters beach bar on Sandy beach on a Sunday. Good food/music. A mix of locals and tourists. The villa is fantastic for location as everything is on your doorstep. The proximity to the gap meant there was some music drifting by on a couple of nights but nothing to bother us. All part of the atmosphere. The villa itself is beautiful, quirky and very clean. Really handy to have wifi and also AC in the bedrooms. We were very well looked after with Roseanne coming in a few times during our stay to clean and do washing for us. We miss it already and would love to return one day. We would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Villa Jarrow was an amazing place to stay and experience Barbados! My husband and I along with 4 other people just returned from there. We stayed from Nov 9-14, 2012.
We arrived on a Friday and went to Oistins to party with the locals!!! We had the best time! When we returned back to Jarrow, the music from the Gap at the Reggae Lounge carried on till about 5am but didn't bother us a bit! We enjoyed the sounds of the Bajan culture! It's all about the experience and we definately soaked it all in! We met a local that was fishing out in our beach area (Jeffrey) . He owns a catamaran and took us out in it for the whole day.
Jarrow has a cleaning lady, Roseanne, that came during our stay and literally spent her whole day cleaning and doing laundry for us. She was so sweet and didn't bother us at all. I loved this place and everything it had to offer. The location is prime and for us it was perfect! I would love to come back and stay here my next visit to Barbados!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Jarrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Jarrow

Address: St Lawrence | Worthing, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Jarrow is located centrally on the South Coast.It is perfect for all types of Holiday makers as it is within walking distance of some of the best restaurants,swimming, snorkeling, sunbathing golf, fitness centers, tennis courts to be found anywhere on the Island.Where there used to be a night club is now a mouth watering Brazilian restaurant catering easily for children and couples.The Villa faces Half Moon Bay directly. Upon waking up in the morning , your first step could be in the turquoise, clear Ocean, breakfast on the spacious deck, lunching just around the corner. The friendly fishermen will catch fish for you and clean it while you get the barbecue ready on the deck for Dinner.The beauty of the area is breathtaking and just sitting and breathing the lively ozone will rest and revitalize your weary bones and make you want to come back again and again.....so you can see that beautiful sunrise every morning and in the afternoon watch it fade away over the Caribbean Sea as it transforms from afternoon to Evening . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Jarrow Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Jarrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.