We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE BARBADOS. Villa Jarrow Good spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Jarrow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christ Church Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Jarrow
Save
You added Villa Jarrow to your Saves list
St Lawrence | Worthing, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“LOVE BARBADOS. Villa Jarrow Good spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Villa Jarrow was a very good choice by my family coordinator. The location is right close by everything. Yes you do hear the noise from the night life of the gap. This is how close you are to all of the clubs if you do not have a problem with walking you can walk up to all the clubs like Reggeaville which most nights did not have a cover charge. The Villa is fully equipped with bottle openers, coffee maker, radio, Cable TV, Blender and George foreman grill. The villa also has a charcoal grill The washer and Dryer worked well. This is right on the beach so you can lay in the room where the TV is and allow the ocean to rock you to sleep. The sea is a bit rough in Barbados but you will not need water shoes as the beach is not rocky. The fisher men will catch fish to sell the guest. one caught a huge lobster for our family. We also tried EEL that the fishermen caught. Public transportation works will and will take you in to Bridgetown for 1 dollar US. Villa is directly on the road the bus rides. My family and I road the bus to the fish fry on Friday night and the bus brought us back home safely. We did not feel unsafe as we would walk the beach side some nights up the steps to the deck to go in the property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just returned from a 3 week stay at Villa Jarrow. We were there over the Christmas holidays. The villa is nice and in a good location. Easy to walk everywhere; grocery stores, restaurants and several different beaches where you can rent chairs and umbrellas as well as various water sport rentals. We took surf lessons at Barry's Surf school which was walking distance from Jarrow. The villa is right on the bus route and we were able to get a bus or taxi van within minutes. One of the highlights of the villa would be the nice big deck overlooking the beach. There is beach access from the deck which is nice. The beach below is pretty quiet and calm. We used this beach for a quick dip to cool off in the morning and evenings, but tended to walk to bigger beaches close by if we were planning on spending the day on the beach. The view is gorgeous. Lots of sea turtles and some days the tide was so low you could walk out to the reef.
We also appreciated the bedrooms. They were spacious and had air:)
The kitchen is fairly well equipped and we were able to do lots of cooking here. Rosanne the cleaner is very friendly. She came about twice a week but I think you can request her more or less frequently through TImothy the villa manager. Timothy is very helpful and we thought he did a great job making sure we were settled in to the villa. We have a 10 month old and found that the house was fairly baby friendly. There was only one small step down so we didn't have to worry about baby gates. The deck was fenced with lattice so she was able to crawl around there as well. There wasn't a bath tub which was a bit tricky with a baby but we made due.
The only other complaint we had was the noise. From the villa kitchen sitting rooms it wasn't too bad but in the bedrooms it could be quite noisy- the street traffic at times, and specifically on Thurs and Saturday nights the karaoke bar across the street was really loud. Brutal renditions of Celine Dion will forever be ingrained in my memory. When we told Timothy about this he was able to call the bar and see if they could tune it down a bit, this did seem to help. The bedroom overlooking the ocean was pretty noisy most nights from music across the bay.
Overall, I would say we had a great time in Barbados at the Villa. The country is beautiful and very safe. Bajans are the most friendly and helpful people we have encountered on our travels in the Caribbean thus far.

Room Tip: The room that seems the least exciting (no beach view, no walk in closet on ensuite) is the quietest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We were at Villa Yarrow end Oct/Nov 2012. The villa is wonderful. The deck is a great place to relax day or night and we loved watching and swimming with the turtles in the bay. Being right on the beach, the constant sound of the sea is heaven! The bus stop to take you around the island is literally across the road. There are further great beaches within walking distance. We would recommend Bobs BBQ at Crystal Waters beach bar on Sandy beach on a Sunday. Good food/music. A mix of locals and tourists. The villa is fantastic for location as everything is on your doorstep. The proximity to the gap meant there was some music drifting by on a couple of nights but nothing to bother us. All part of the atmosphere. The villa itself is beautiful, quirky and very clean. Really handy to have wifi and also AC in the bedrooms. We were very well looked after with Roseanne coming in a few times during our stay to clean and do washing for us. We miss it already and would love to return one day. We would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Villa Jarrow was an amazing place to stay and experience Barbados! My husband and I along with 4 other people just returned from there. We stayed from Nov 9-14, 2012.
We arrived on a Friday and went to Oistins to party with the locals!!! We had the best time! When we returned back to Jarrow, the music from the Gap at the Reggae Lounge carried on till about 5am but didn't bother us a bit! We enjoyed the sounds of the Bajan culture! It's all about the experience and we definately soaked it all in! We met a local that was fishing out in our beach area (Jeffrey) . He owns a catamaran and took us out in it for the whole day.
Jarrow has a cleaning lady, Roseanne, that came during our stay and literally spent her whole day cleaning and doing laundry for us. She was so sweet and didn't bother us at all. I loved this place and everything it had to offer. The location is prime and for us it was perfect! I would love to come back and stay here my next visit to Barbados!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We just returned from a 5 night stay at Villa Jarrow. 3 couples in our late 20s and early 30s. Close walk to 2 supermarkets that have free shuttle return with us and our groceries. seconds away from 4 must visit Barbados restaurants, Pisces, Bellinis, Cafe Sol and Churraco and Paulo's Churrasco do Brasil all right on the St Lawrence Gap tourist area. On a main bus route into Bridgetown, and Oistins. The Villa itself had wi-fi, satellite tv, a/c in the bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, amazing patio overlooking the bar, beach area, walk out into knee high warm blue water for about 400 yards.
Fisherman come in during the day and we where able to buy fresh fish, and we even traded a rum and coke for some smaller fish he would not have been able to sell but which tasted awesome on the bbq for our lunch!!
The only concern would be anyone that cannot sleep through noise.....Friday, Saturday and Sunday you will hear music from the Gap area till around 6am. We sleep though anything because we party till about 2am anyway.
The place was so clean, and was even cleaned half way through out trip. Laundry on site.

Room Tip: If you go in a group the master room will get street noise in the morning, but has its own bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We have just returned from Villa Jarrow where we had a fantastic time and the villa was absolutely perfect for relaxing and enjoying Barbados in a wonderfully restored villa right on a small peaceful bay. We swam everyday in the bay with very little surf due to the ridge further out. This was accessible by a few steps from the decking of the villa onto the beach which felt almost private into the stunning azure blue ocean. The villa had every facility you require and the owner Timothy even installed Wifi for us. The villa was beautiful and very clean and with the large decking we spent most of our time out there. There was noise at the weekend from neighbouring Rum shack but we just went and enjoyed the festivities and were made most welcome by the friendly Bajans. I personally think that the vibrant atmosphere at the weekend was part of the fun of having a villa right at the Gap.
Lots of fantastic eating places and nightlife just a short stroll away.
We would not hesitate to return back to Villa Jarrow and would strongly recommend this place to anyone who embraces the local lifestyle and wants to stay in a stunning villa in a perfect setting.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed at the Villa Jarrow with a group of friends in September 2011. We had read the previous reviews and were concerned by some of them but thought we would give it a chance....we LOVED it! The Villa is amazing with its stone walls and immense charm. The photos cant begin to describe how beautiful it really is. The Villa is tucked in between two restaurants so during the day you basically have the beach to yourself (with the exception of the local fishermen leaving out in their boats). Comments about the "flotsam" on the beach were lost on us as the only thing we saw was a little seaweed/kelp that gave us the chance to find and help save 8 baby sea turtles! Jarrow is at the very beginning of the St. Lawrence Gap and therefore the perfect location. You can walk the entire gap, to eat, shop, drink or whatever suits you. The Villa is clean and the staff was wonderful. Patrick was more than gracious to us in our stay even making recommendations on places for us to visit and places that we most likely would not have enjoyed. The reviews about the noise can somewhat be justified due to the street however if you have ever been to Barbados in this area you are already aware that everything is on the street unless you are in a stuffy hotel/resort, which is not what the Villa Jarrow is about! If you are a light sleeper, which I am, ear plugs do the trick and that small compromise is definitely worth the pleasure of staying in this gorgeous place! If I get the opportunity to come back I will stay here again anytime as we had the time of our lives at the Villa Jarrow!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Jarrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Jarrow

Address: St Lawrence | Worthing, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Jarrow is located centrally on the South Coast.It is perfect for all types of Holiday makers as it is within walking distance of some of the best restaurants,swimming, snorkeling, sunbathing golf, fitness centers, tennis courts to be found anywhere on the Island.Where there used to be a night club is now a mouth watering Brazilian restaurant catering easily for children and couples.The Villa faces Half Moon Bay directly. Upon waking up in the morning , your first step could be in the turquoise, clear Ocean, breakfast on the spacious deck, lunching just around the corner. The friendly fishermen will catch fish for you and clean it while you get the barbecue ready on the deck for Dinner.The beauty of the area is breathtaking and just sitting and breathing the lively ozone will rest and revitalize your weary bones and make you want to come back again and again.....so you can see that beautiful sunrise every morning and in the afternoon watch it fade away over the Caribbean Sea as it transforms from afternoon to Evening . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Jarrow Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Jarrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.