We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bajan Breeze Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christ Church Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bajan Breeze Guest House
Hart's Gap, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Bajan Breeze for 6 days over the Easter break in April 2012. We were in Barbados to watch the Aussies play the West Indies in a Cricket Test Match. Bajan Breeze is perfectly located, a short mini bus ride to Kensington Oval, St Lawrence Gap, Oistins and everywhere we wanted to get to. Karen is a terrific host with good local information. Lots of restaurant options and beach quite close.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    12
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
21
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

My husband and I came to Barbados for our honeymoon. We found this place on wikitravel and decided to stay here because we were on a budget and we didn't want to stay at one of those resorts where you never leave. I am so glad we picked this place - Karen was a wonderful hostess and made us feel very welcome. She gladly answered any questions we had about the island, where to eat, etc. She even arranged for a driver to pick us up and drop us off at the airport. The guest house is very close to the beach, so even though it's not on the beach you can walk there in like 5 minutes. It's also within walking distance to a lot of restaurants, the bank and some bars. The room itself is very simple but spacious. You can elect to only use the air conditioning at night too and same yourself some money (you will need that air conditioner!!). Overall, it was very enjoyable and if we ever go back to Barbados, we'll definitely consider staying here again! Thank you Karen!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddinge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The Location was very good, close to the beach and just a few meters from the bus stop. The room was clean and suitable if you are on a budget vacation. We liked that the room was equiped with a fridge, a kettle, plates and mugs, so we could easily make our own breakfast. We also liked the free inernet conection which worked well. Karen was an excellent host! Lotta and Rikard

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF East Bay
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

The Bajan Breeze was ideal for us, an excellent value on a sometimes expensive island. Our large, clean room had a double bed; a wall air conditioner for warm nights; large casement windows to catch the afternoon and evening breezes; a small, attractive, modern bathroom (shower); chest/dresser, armoire, and bedside tables; an electric tea kettle; tea bags, condiments, dishes, and utensils; and a small refrigerator. There's a microwave oven and dining table in the cozy common area, along with sofas and a library of tourist guides and secondhand books.

A successful English entrepreneur who relocated to Barbados after visiting many times, proprietor Karen was a perfect, expert hostess—forthcoming and helpful, respectfully absent, or charmingly sociable according to what we needed at any moment.

When we travel in the Caribbean we enjoy staying in small hotels or guest houses that serve business people as well as tourists. The evening we arrived at Bajan Breeze, Karen was chatting on the front porch with another guest, a university lecturer from Trinidad who was consulting at the OAS offices across the street.

This is a primarily residential neighborhood just off a two-lane arterial road, which you cross (easily) to get to the beach. As other reviewers have mentioned, there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance with different cuisines and prices. Trust Karen to guide you. The lovely new (at the time of our stay) tea shop on the corner offers tea, coffee, pastries, and Indian-influenced sandwiches from morning until about 5:00 p.m.

Karen arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport when we arrived. We were so happy and impressed with our driver that we contracted with him (at a very reasonable price) to drive us around the island one afternoon -- a local’s eye-view of business, tourism, and daily life on Barbados. It was great fun and a very informative overview for this, our first, visit.

Three exceedingly well-behaved small dogs also reside at Bajan Breeze, confined to Karen's quarters at the back of the house. I was delighted to meet them, but they don't usually socialize with guests and are not allowed in the guest rooms. If you're very allergic, though, you may want to take care.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Bajan Breeze was a good place to stay. The location was great. The beach is near, just across the street and there are also good restaurants nearby. Our rooms were nice and clean. Karen, the owner of the guest house, was very helpful. She told us a few tips when we got there and she helped us when ever we needed help.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Bajan Breeze is a small guest house with two double rooms and one single room with en suite bathroom in each. The spacious shared living room has TV, microwave and toaster. You will find iron, fridge, kettle, set of dishes in every room. You cannot quite cook there, but there is all you need to make a breakfast and simple lunch.

Karen (the owner) is wonderful and welcoming. She will help you with everything you may need, recommend the places to eat and visit. There is plenty of brochures and books in living room containing information about different activities on Barbados.

Karen cleaned the rooms very thoroughly, changed the towels and beds every other day. There is big mirror in bathroom and on the cupboard. The shower and WC were functioning very well and everything was very clean.

The fan cooled the air in minutes and it has different regimes. It sure works a bit loud, but not too loud to bother you when you go to sleep. You can pay for the night A/C only (as we did), then it's cheaper. During the day time you will most probably enjoy Barbados anyway :)

There is free Wi-fi, you will have to ask the password from Karen.

Location is good. 3 minutes to the closest hotel beach, it's public and you can use it freely. There is a beach bar with happy hour, pool, restaurant, WC's, which makes staying on the beach very comfortable. The bus stop is right in the end of the street (1 minute walking), a lot of places to eat and drink on the same street.

All in all it is a great place to stay and I would recommend it to anybody who is looking for the best value for such price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

The rather good reviews set my expectations too high and I was therefore disappointed. The main problem was that I simply couldn't sleep for the heat and the traffic noise. The fan must have been the cheapest fan ever produced in China as it did absolutely nothing to move the air. Having fitted carpet on the floor didn't help. It was only for one night but I'm afraid I wouldn't repeat the experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bajan Breeze Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bajan Breeze Guest House

Address: Hart's Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Christ Church Parish
Also Known As:
Bajan Breeze Guest House Hotel Christ Church
Bajan Breeze Guest House Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bajan Breeze Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bajan Breeze Guest House to your Saves list