We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing view of Barbados” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coral Sands Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Worthing Beach, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An amazing view of Barbados”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Coral Sands Resort was close to the Airport which was an excellent start to our stay in Barbados. The room was spacious with a breathtaking panoramic beach view, we can only describe as AMAZING. The room was comfortable with lots of wardrobe space. We would have liked the option of a Kingsize bed rather than two doubles though. The kitchen and the appliances were in good working order...and we were very happy to have Ice cubes ready in the freezer! The balcony furniture was quite basic...however, the view more than makes up for the lack lustre chairs. The room was cleaned daily and the staff were always friendly, although, a little scarce at times (we were offered a complimentary drink...but were unable to take up the offer because the Bar was nearly always closed). All in all, loved our stay at Coral Sands especially the new drapes and cushions!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    61
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
83
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here in March, 2012 for our 20th anniversary for 1 week. I've been meaning to review this hotel for some time. We began in a room on the first floor. The room was ok, but the outdoor patio was right next to the pool affording no privacy. They told us ahead of time that you could not request a specific room. Eventually, they moved us to a 3rd floor room. The view of the ocean was breathtaking. The room was fine. Nothing luxurious. The kitchen was useful for breakfast and lunch. I ended up loving Barbados, but it takes a little getting used to. We felt really safe walking all over the place and took buses everywhere. However, this hotel is next to a closed up former resort that seems abandoned. It is surrounded by other properties that are immediately adjacent to it. It is not like you are driving up to luxury. While the hotel itself is very very nice, the immediate surroundings are surprisingly run down. However, I would recommend the hotel because of the view from the room. The staff were pretty friendly. All in all, good hotel, good location, just note what I mentioned above.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Took spouse and small child (15 months) to Barbaos for the weekend. Nice hotel in good location. There's a small market nearby and a good all hours restaurant directly across the highway. Also some other small eateries. About 10 minute walk to the Gap. Hotel sits right on the beach. We practically had the place to ourselves. Crib was provided and the room was quite nice with a large balcony. Restaurant was ok. Its pricey though. If I remember right, it was wifi in the room for a daily fee ($15 USD daily I think). We ate across the street alot and also bought items from the minimart nearby. Be prepared, because Barbados in general is on the more expensive side. If you're looking for crystal clear blue waters and soft white sand, you've come to the right island. The hotel beach access was great. Can't say enough about how picturesque the beaches are. Nice hotel in a good location not far from the airport (15 mins or so). Would definitely consider going back. Little one had a good time on the beach and in the calm waters. The pool was quite nice too.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view, but the higher up you go the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is well situated on Worthing Beach a nice stretch between Dover & the Gap. As we stayed at the tail end of the season our experience may not be representative of the peak. Hotel was very quiet, so we almost had the pool area to ourselves. This was great but there was a distinct lack of staff during our whole stay. OK if you want to be self sufficient and find your own way - but when you step off the plane what you really need is things immediately on hand without having to trek for a simple cold drink.
Elevator did not work during our whole stay (5 days) which would have been very incovenient had we had any access issues with our room being on the 3rd floor!
The rooms are spacious & the sea view is fantastic. Maid service was thorough, but all fixtures & fittings need a bit of tlc and are a bit tired. I fully understand the 3* rating. All the fixtures worked and the self catering kitchen was well equipped. A/C worked and was quiet - a blessing in the heat!
Pool area again quite tired - and evidence of the lack of staff in that an ashtray by the pool not emptied for 3 days!
Overall basics catered for, buy certainly no luxury here. Works as a budget hotel if you can get the sort of discount we managed to secure - would have been thproughly dissappointed if I had to pay full price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I've stayed at the hotel for 2 nights on a business trip. It's not a five star hotel based on Canadian standard but still, the room was very clean and very spacious given also the fact that there's was a full kitchen. Hotel staff were very friendly and very helpful with every question I had. I would recommend for a longer stay as I think every room face the beach and also include a large balcony. I also agree that the food option at the restaurant is also limited.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have stayed at the Coral Sands for 5 years now. Everytime has been a very positive and relaxing, private holiday. The rooms are very clean, the staff friendly and have NEVER had issues with bed bugs!!! lol. The last time we were there was in April of this year (stayed for 3 weeks) to get married on the beach. The staff & management were great and made the event everything we had hoped for and very accommadating.. Our friends and family stayed in a number of different rooms at the Coral Sands for the wedding and there was only positive feedback from all. The outdoor BBQ and steel drum music was held by the bar / pool area. It was a very intimate setting and thank you all once again. I can't give Coral Sands all of the credit without saying "thank you" to Lisa at Barbados Weddings for the planning & organizing of it all. She worked closely with the management & staff at the Coral Sands to make sure that it was exactly what we wanted. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. We plan to keep staying at this hotel because it truly is a little piece of paradise!!!! Thanks you guy's (and gal's). Rob & Ali

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
644 reviews 644 reviews
228 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
1,069 helpful votes 1,069 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was our third stay; the previous had been in December 2006. This time we stayed 11 nights from 3 August 2012.

The hotel is a 4 storey building set back from the road in Worthing , a friendly (but less fashionable) area in the south of the island. At the rear, the hotel is directly on a white sandy beach. It is under 30 mins by taxi from the Airport. Cost BDS 40 (about GBP 13). There is a very occasional blue bus.

Plus points:
1. Very large rooms with two double beds. Shower room with toilet, dual wash basins, fully equipped kitchenette, and masses of storage space for clothes. We had room 101 on the ground floor which gave us easy access to the outside. The patio with table and chairs enabled us to breakfast outside each morning, preparing it in our kitchenette from supplies bought in the local supermarket.
2. Helpful, friendly staff. 24 hour reception meant our much delayed arrival after midnight found someone ready and willing to greet us.
3. Small pool about 10m on the decking. Open all hours.
4. Small restaurant we used on our first morning but which we hardly ever saw used thereafter. It offers lunch but similarly unused.
5. Wifi costs BDS 30 for 8 hours. Speed was good but no coverage by the patio. In Photofinish shop about 100m from the hotel, fast internet access was available for BDS $ 20 per hour.
6. There is a lift to upper floors but it was out of action for the second half of our stay.
7. Rooms have air conditioner units. They tended to be noisy however and there were no instructions to explain what the various symbols on the remote control meant. We found this to be a difficulty in all the hotels in which we stayed.

At the far end of Worthing, close to Accra Beach, is a launderette. We used this and ironed using the iron and board in our room.

We ate out each night. Champers was most stylish but Pisces and Bellinis were good. Mojo had some simple dishes. Aspara we liked but was not open often. Waterside was good but almost deserted the night we went.

August is the hot rainy season. Take an umbrella, but the wet ground dries quickly. There are lots of small biting insects. Use a deterrent ointment at nights and apply Anthisan on bites to calm them. Not dangerous but an annoyance.

This hotel was by far the best of the four at which we stayed in the Caribbean this trip.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms give easy access to pool and the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Coral Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Beach Resort

Address: Worthing Beach, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Sands Beach Resort consists of 31 ocean front, fully self contained luxury Studios. Coral Sands Beach Resort is located on the South Coast of the island, on Worthing Beach, which is one of the best beaches on the island. The calm turquoise water is ideal for swimming any time of the year. We are eight miles from Grantley Adams International Airport and four miles from the Capital, Bridgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Coral Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sands Beach Hotel Christ Church
Hotel Coral Sands Beach
Coral Sands Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.