We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most attentive staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Accra Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Accra Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rockley | PO Box 73W, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The most attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I have just returned last night from a one week stay at Accra Beach Resort. While not a full fledged 5 star resort, the place was very clean, the grounds were immaculate, the food was good but what stood out most was the outstanding customer service by everyone. The bell desk, front desk, security, management, chambermaids, waiters/waitresses were all extremely helpful, friendly and providing excellent customer service. The location of the hotel is also fantastic and the beach is amazing with lots of beach umbrellas and lounge chairs. While I have stayed at many 5 star brand hotels-this one topped if for me as a result of their customer service and cleanliness.

Room Tip: If you have an Island view room you are facing the road so you need to be aware that there is some n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    300
    105
    59
    25
See reviews for
130
277
35
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Following a delayed departure from Tobago due to mechanical problems we had an emergency landing in Barbados in April '14; the trauma of this was softened by our arrival at Accra Beach! The reception staff were so pleasant and helpful in a difficult situation. We couldn't of been more delighted with the suite we were in for 2 nights/3 days (I think??!). The service of the housekeeping staff was excellent, the suite was spotless. The food/refreshement situation was a little disappointing but I think this was a reflection on the fact we were a group of unplanned guests who arrived with no notice and the date and time of departure kept moving; there was confusion regarding what the airline would pay for and, having been in Tobago on an all inclusive basis it was a little frustrating that we couldn't continue that agreement rather than negotiate one soft drink with a meal (which couldn't be a juice!), seemed a little pedantic considering the circumstances. That said the hotel was welcoming, clean, tidy, set on a beautiful beach with helpful staff; there is an arcade of shops across the road (that was an experience to cross as it was busy but vehicles would literally screech to a halt to let you cross, or offer you something to buy...)... it was an unexpected experience that we are glad we encountered!

Room Tip: We were given accommodation following an emergency landing - we were lucky to be given a suite, over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here for 5 hours rather than at the airport!! Was a good choice. Worked out 100 bajan dollars for 2 adults for a day pass. Children under 5 are free. Day pass included; free use of swimming pool, towels, and showers. Plus they have their own secluded private beach for hotel occupants. The beach is amazingly calm and peaceful when we was there. It was a good place to be so we could chill and relax before catching out 8 hour flight back to London. Made a world of difference!! My son loved the pool!!!

Would highly recommend stay here for the day if you have quite a few hours spare and want to check out Barbados.

Drive is 15-20 mins away from airport which is perfect too!!

If you have young children with you like me then they will love the park across the road from hotel plus 'chefette' restaurant (similar to burger king) has a indoor play area they sell ice cream, milkshakes, burgers, yummy fresh flying fish burgers, crinkly fries and even roti... :-) and the price is very cheap indeed!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossgar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Just back after spending 2 weeks at the Accra, Our room 119, over looked the main road which can be quite busy and noisy. The interior of the Hotel is starting to show its age in places, having said that, it is spotless. Our room was serviced twice daily by the excellent and very friendly housekeeping staff, nothing is too much for them. The beach is excellent, plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. We didn't eat in the Hotel, as there is plenty of choice in the surrounding areas, including The Gap and Oistins

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Accra Beach Hotel Barbados

This is our second visit to Barbados. The first time we came was nine years ago to Crystal Cove on the west coast, which was excellent.

This time my wife and I stayed in the Accra Beach Hotel on the south coast for two weeks at the end of May in room 114. The hotels rooms are over three levels.

The weather was very hot 28-30C with high humidity. Mornings had a little cloud but clearing later. There was quite a strong breeze most of the time which was welcoming in the heat of the day.

We had a pool/sea view which was great as I had previously read that other rooms had views onto abandoned hotel, which was correct. Try to get a pool/sea view as a busy road runs past the front of the hotel.

The breakfast was huge, ranging from cereals to fry ups and fruit to cakes. There was a live cooking station for boiled/fried eggs or omelettes.
We never had lunch or dinner in the hotel so I cannot report how the food was for those meals, although menus still looked very good for choice and value.

We never ate in the hotel because there was so much choice of bars and
restaurants around the surrounding area.
Most of the bars did your fast foods of pizzas and burgers (which were very good) and a few good restaurants which were more formal.

We ate in the Tapas, Burts, MoJo, Just Grillin and Champers restaurants all which we're excellent and were in short walking distance of hotel.

The room was a good size with a huge bed, possibly size of two double beds pushed together, with a bathroom with good shower but no bath, toilet and sink with very large top and mirror.
Our room was kept lovely and clean by the housemaids daily, who were very friendly and polite. The room had most of the amenities needed a kettle, coffee machine, iron/board and hair dryer.
We had a medium sized balcony with two chairs and a small table to sit at.

The hotel Is a horseshoe shape, some of the rooms had sun in the morning on the balcony and some had it it the evening. Ours didn't have it at any time of the day.

The beach in front of the hotel is first class. We are not normally beach people but the sand is nice and the sea warm. The staff cannot do enough for you, they will place sun beds where you want with umbrellas and beach towels.
The pool is also very good. It has a swim up bar, and lots of sun beds scattered around.

Overall we would say the hotel is of an excellent standard but some of the fixtures and fittings in the room are looking a bit worn and need some maintaince and sprucing up.
The staff at the outside bar were a little slow to serve at busy times, they only seem to have one or two staff serving no matter how many people are waiting.
Anyway that's the bajan way.

Room Tip: Pool or sea view rooms best. Second or third floors have better views over plants and trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a great place to participate in the all inclusive option. The food is very good at the hotel. There are 3 restaurants. The best place for dinner and view is "The Deck" located right on the beach looking at the ocean. They run on island time, so you can't be in a hurry. The food was very good and with the all inclusive, you drink all day and all night if you want. The only air conditioned restaurant was just off the lobby with a polynesian theme spelled close to: Wytwokay (Y 2 K) It was comfortable in there, but the food was better on the Desk. Just a note of interest, unless you tell the front desk, or housekeeping, they turn your air conditioning in the room off after housekeeping is done - they can get quite warm, like a sauna, so if you want to be comfortable, remind them to leave it on. The staff is very friendly, they just run on island time..slow. Also the swim up bar in the pool is great!

Room Tip: A pool view will almost always give you some of an ocean room as well. You want to look into the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed at Accra for a few days and I must say it was generally a nice stay. I can basically sum up my stay in a list of pros and cons, so here goes;

Pros-
-great location (surrounding area has restaurants and a few bars). Bounded by a Main Road so accessing public transportation to get to Bridgetown, Oistins and St. Laurence Gap, for example, is easy
-Accra beach, on which the Hotel is situated is quite lovely but has a fair amount of wave action and strong currents and is the start of the boardwalk which is awesome for an early morning or evening jog or walk. There are several restaurants that you can also access off of the boardwalk as well
-turtle nesting on Accra beach if you like that sort of thing
-breakfast buffet was awesome and well prepared
- linens changed everyday (in true 4 star fashion) rooms cleaned properly everyday
- Views of the pool and ocean from the room are truly a sight to see
- the pools were quite nice
-reliable internet!

Cons-
-my room had a strange odour which hit me from the first moment I stepped into the room. housekeeping could do nothing to abate the bitter scent. I believe that the wooden sliding blinds could have been the source
-the AC in my room was an adventure. It dripped water, did not sufficiently cool the room and occasionally sent ice projectiles flying. I asked for repairs to take a look, but that only briefly stopped the drip (lost cause)

Altogether, I believe that Accra has a good vibe and ambience and the location will always be advantageous. I do however, believe that it needs some upgrading to deal with the day to day issues surrounding their facilities

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool/ beach or beach from the second floor up. More advantageous views and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Accra Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accra Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Rockley | PO Box 73W, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Accra Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 ½ acre property is ideally located on a pristine sandy beach on the lively South Coast, 20 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the picturesque capital, Bridgetown. Accra Beach Hotel & Spa has been awarded hotel of the year by the Barbados Hotel & Tourism Association in 2002 and 2005. All rooms offer panoramic views of the island, pool or ocean. The center-piece of the lush gardens is a large swimming pool complete with swim-up bar for icy cold refreshments or guests can enjoy cocktails in the comfort of the ‘Sand Bar’. Additional treats and light meals during the day are offered on our fig tree and bar snack menus. The resort has its very own Spa. Immerse yourself in the Chakra Spa lifestyle where you will enter a welcoming and tranquil space to thoroughly relax, rejuvenate and heal you. In our haven each service, amenity and detail at Chakra Spa is created specifically for you; our valued and sacred guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Accra Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accra Beach Hotel And Spa
Accra Beach Hotel Christ Church
Accra Beach Hotel Barbados
Accra Barbados
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Accra Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.