We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“":: blank stare:: okay " ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Accra Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Accra Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rockley | PO Box 73W, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“":: blank stare:: okay " ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Only reason I give Accra beach 3 stars is because it's literally right on the beach and the grounds are kept immaculate.
However ...
Upon check in the room we were given had a strange odor my mom has a strong sense of smell and the response from the front desk was " ::: blank stare::: okay" the grout in the room , the closeness to the elevator , closeness to the ice machine .... Nothing .
It took up until my mom got fed up with the weird smell returning she went downstairs and they just angrily and begrudgingly changed our room . Stoic responses. I wanted to come back for my birthday in October but I'm probably not . Also the "wet floor" sign that lives in the elevator... Ugh

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    346
    122
    68
    32
See reviews for
153
345
38
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stay at the Accra on each stay in Barbados. The hotel is well maintained and situated on the best beach! We have always been treated well and it is great to relax and climatize to a non rushed pace.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent 12 nights over christmas and I must say I thought the ACCRA Beach Hotel and Spa was great. We have stayed in a few other hotels in St James previously which really is lovely, but the ACCRA's location is great, you have the best of both worlds and can explore the many fabulous restaurants on the Island as you are in the middle of St James and St Lawrence Gap. Taxi or car you can go to them all. I was really impressed mainly with the location. The beach is great with loungers and sun shades and accessed directly from the hotels pool area, which is very nice with a swim up bar in the middle. The hotel is very popular. We didn't eat at the ACCRA, had breakfast once, which was ok. Lunches and evenings we ate out. Daphnes, The Cliff, CINCIN, Champers, Tides, Tapas, Harlequin, Lobster Alive, The Crane, The Residence and others that were fab. I would definitely go back to this hotel as was very reasonable and the location excellent. Staff were very lovely and helpful and our sea view room was great. Would definitely recommend if you want a good hotel that doesn't break the bank and is a perfect base is you are intend to explore the island, its many restaurants and other places of interest.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview, the higher the better as pool area can be quite noisy in evenings when they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Spend 12 days here and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Based on the beach you have the option of the beach or the hotels large pools. You also have choice where you eat and drink in the hotel, and being based next to St Lawrence Gap you also have the option of eating in one of the many good restaurants there.
We plan to go back there this year

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

If I would give Accra 4 1/2 stars I would. My girlfriend and I just got back from a 4 night stay here. I had booked a seafront room, but when we checked in they gave us a "complimentary upgrade" to a penthouse suite because there weren't any seafront rooms available (at first I was like "oooo penthouse!"). However, the penthouse suites are basically regular suites except instead of the living room being next to the bedroom, it's downstairs from it. These penthouse suites come with an outdated couch and armchair and a tiny bar area, as well as a small balcony on each floor. The bedroom upstairs was nicely decorated and had a jacuzzi under a skylight in the bathroom. The reason I paid extra for a seafront room is because I LOVE being right by the beach...unfortunately, the penthouse suites are in the middle of the U that makes up the guest room buildings, over-looking the pools and pool bar.
The rooms closest to the beach have much bigger balconies and seem recently renovated/updated. For the record, though, the front desk did call me 5 hours after we arrived saying they had a seafront room available, but we had already settled in and my gf didn't want to move.
The beach is beautiful, the sand is white and never too hot, the water is turquoise and clear with some easy to manage waves...great sunbathing, great swimming, There were always plenty of chairs and umbrellas available (no matter what time you actually get down to the beach) and several guys waiting to help set them up for you. Accra's property is very nicely decorated and aesthetically pleasing. We didn't go in the pools but they looked really nice and the swim-up bar looked fun too.
We didn't eat at the resort very much (mostly due to prices and wanting to try out different places on the island), but the two lunches we did have at the Coco Patch were fine, not amaaazing, but certainly not bad. The service friendly, but pretty slow. That's the main complaint I have, I think.
For breakfast we always went across the street to the little open-air coffee shop for lattes and apple-cinnamon bread. For dinner we checked out the Oistins Friday Night Fish Fry (it's a must go!!! happens every friday!), the St. Lawrence Gap (another place to check out), and Brown Sugar (which had been recommended to us by several people...however it was WAY too expensive for what you end up getting).
Another thing about Accra is how great the location is. Right across the street is a little shopping center that has an ice cream shop (like Coldstone), a convenience store, a little outdoor bar where you can get yummy drinks to go, an Italian restaurant, a Chinese food restaurant, a Middle Eastern restaurant, a donut stand, and some other stuff. It's quite convenient! Anything you could need is really right across the street. It's only a 5 minute drive to the St. Lawrence Gap (a $10 cab ride - in US dollars) and up the other way to restaurants closer to downtown Bridgetown.
In summation! I definitely recommend the Accra for those who don't want to spend an exorbitant amount to stay somewhere on the West Coast (i.e. Sandy Lane, etc) but don't want a dirt-cheap place either. Spend the extra money to get a seaview or seafront room, as the island view rooms face the parking lot. Everyone is friendly, there are tourists from all over the world, and it's in a perfect location.

Room Tip: Seafront or seaview!! Skip the penthouse suites, skip the island view (aka parking lot view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

spent a couple of days at the Accra Beach hotel in Jan 2014. booked at the last minute as we were in Barbados and decided to stop for a couple of more days. Got the hotel from Trivago and it was one of the more moderate priced hotels, so we didn't expect too much. The room was super, modern and clean and the hotel facilities were great... would recommend

Room Tip: ask for a pool/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The holiday was perfect.
Perfect location, great staff especially elton the bar man, and nice food.

I wasnt all inclusive and didnt eat in the hotel much but what I had was great.

It even had some great entertainment on a nite and a manager cocktail party every monday with free food cocktails and a raffle! Could not ask for more!

The room was cleaned every day! And had all facilities I could ask for.

We actualy found it hard to get a good english brekky where we was located. And didnt realise that the hotel had a great selection of brekky which you could get braught to your room! The prices was great 2!!

Overall I loved the hotel! And barbados and I wouldnt want to stay any where else now I have been here!

Thanks accra!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Accra Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accra Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Rockley | PO Box 73W, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Accra Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 ½ acre property is ideally located on a pristine sandy beach on the lively South Coast, 20 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the picturesque capital, Bridgetown. Accra Beach Hotel & Spa has been awarded hotel of the year by the Barbados Hotel & Tourism Association in 2002 and 2005. All rooms offer panoramic views of the island, pool or ocean. The center-piece of the lush gardens is a large swimming pool complete with swim-up bar for icy cold refreshments or guests can enjoy cocktails in the comfort of the ‘Sand Bar’. Additional treats and light meals during the day are offered on our fig tree and bar snack menus. The resort has its very own Spa. Immerse yourself in the Chakra Spa lifestyle where you will enter a welcoming and tranquil space to thoroughly relax, rejuvenate and heal you. In our haven each service, amenity and detail at Chakra Spa is created specifically for you; our valued and sacred guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Regatta Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Accra Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accra Beach Hotel And Spa
Accra Beach Hotel Christ Church
Accra Beach Hotel Barbados
Accra Barbados
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Accra Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.