We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ACCRA BEACH HOTEL IS AN EXCELLENT CHOICE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Accra Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Accra Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rockley | PO Box 73W, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“ACCRA BEACH HOTEL IS AN EXCELLENT CHOICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

First time visiting Barbados and thanks to Trip Advisor we made the right choice in choosing Accra Beach Hotel. The location is ideal as we were not renting a car and wanted to take advantage of using the Bus or ZR Vans paying only 2 BDS per person. (Conversion $1.00 US). We never needed to take a taxi as the bus stop is a few feet away from the hotel and the ride is a short distance to Bridgetown, St. Lawrence Gap or Oistins. Walking to nearby restaurants and even St. Lawrence Gap is possible but is sometimes tricky manoeuvring on broken up narrow sidewalks or the road. There is also a shopping plaza called Quayside Centre right across the street from the Accra Beach Hotel. There is a 99 Convenience Store in the mall which is a little more expensive but convenient than the larger Trimart or Super Centre grocery store which is about a 20 minute walk towards St Lawrence Gap. There is a cell store which sells long distance calling cards for 10 BDS or 20 BDS. (conversion $5.00 or $10.00 US). To call Canada it is only 15 cents a minute and there is a pay phone right at the entrance of the mall. (cheaper than calling from your hotel room) There are a few really nice souvenir stores in the mall and not expensive. Nice selection and much better than searching for souvenirs in Bridgetown or St. Lawrence Gap. There are a few clothing stores that are very expensive. There are also some restaurants and of course you have to try Just Grillin Restaurant Jerk Chicken sandwich platter with 2 sides. The grilled potatoes and coleslaw are very good (21.95 BDS.). Just to the left of Quayside Mall a block away is a nice place to have breakfast called Terasu Kafe and reasonable. There is also the Scotia Bank next door and they are open during the week from 8am to 3pm. Saturday and Sundays the banks are closed. The U.S. rate is always the same. For $1.00 U.S. you get 1.98 BDS. While we were there the Canadian dollar was fluctuating. One day it was 1.98999 and another day it was 1.97445. You can always change your money at the hotel for convenience but the rate is not as good as the bank. A lot of places accept U.S. dollars and usually they will take $1.00 U.S. for the price of 2 BDS. But you will get change back in BDS.

We really enjoyed our stay at Accra Beach Hotel. It is just like the photos. A very attractive hotel. The pool area ,The Lagoon Swim Up Bar and grounds are beautiful. The beach area is very nice, soft clean white sand. Lots of loungers and umbrellas available included for the guests of the hotel. There is a nice boardwalk that starts at the Accra Beach and finishes close to Coconut Court Hotel. It will take 15 minutes to walk and is nice in the early morning sunrise at 5:30am and the sunset at 5:30pm. We were very happy with our accommodations. We had an oceanview room on the 3rd floor with a very nice view of the pool and beach area. The a/c worked great and was quiet. A pleasant relief from the scorching heat outside. The room was large and clean and nicely decorated. The King bed was very comfortable including the pillows. The bathroom was large, clean and had a very useful long sink counter. The water pressure though is not strong. You don’t need an electrical adapter for North American appliances. The room has a fridge which is useful for keeping water and drinks cold. A tip: you can get a cup of cold water at the Lagoon Bar from a self serve dispenser. The room has an iron and ironing board, a hairdryer, coffeemaker. If you would like a kettle just ask and they will bring one right away. If you feel like a cup of coffee or tea after 11pm they have it available in the lobby for free.

For Breakfast we wanted only a light breakfast. Quite reasonable if you want a self serve at the Sands Bar. Make your own toast and it will only cost 3 BDS. Tea is also 3 BDS. Opens at 6:30am. At the COCO Patch Restaurant you can have a full breakfast or you can order separate and it is cheaper. Two eggs, toast and tea is 20 BDS. We tried the Wytukai Restaurant but the menu that particular evening was from the COCO Patch. We had the Mixed Fish Grill and the Grilled Pork Cutlet and it was very dry. Not impressed with the food but the restaurant decor is so nice. It has a very nice Polynesian ambiance. At COCO Patch or the Lagoon Bar for Lunch the Turkey Club Sandwich is very good and it comes with some nice fries and coleslaw. (24.99 BDS.) There is a 17.5% VAT tax on everything including groceries. Most times it is included in the price.

We were very disappointed with the nonexistent entertainment that was advertised on the Accra Beach Hotel website local events calendar. We were looking forward to the Wednesday Karaoke night. It didn’t happen and the excuse was there was a private function going on in the same area. Then we were planning on attending the Thursday night BBQ and entertainment. Well that too hasn’t been happening for quite some time as it is low season but they still have it listed on their website for the month of November calendar.

The Monday Night Welcome Reception was very nicely done. It was out by the pool terrace and there was live music being played in the background. They offered Rum Punch, Fruit Punch or their special drink which was deliciously refreshing. There was also very tasty Hors d’Oeuvres being served by waiters and a platter of Red Velvet Cake and Pineapple Tarts that were so yummy. The Managers of the different departments of the hotel were present and made a point of talking with the hotel guests and asking how everyone was enjoying their stay at the Accra Beach Hotel. I feel that was a nice touch to genuinely wanting to know if anyone had any issues. There was also a draw for some very nice prizes. A Catamaran Cruise, a Jolly Roger Cruise and a visit to the Chakra Spa. On Wednesday afternoon in the lobby there was a lady serving juices and cookies for guest appreciation. That was also a very nice idea. Very much appreciated. I loved the Bajan Cherry Juice so much, I went across the street to 99 Convenience Store and bought a 1 litre carton. I hope I can find that type of juice in Canada at a West Indian store.

I found that the staff of the hotel were very pleasant from the cleaning room staff saying "Good morning" when passing them in the hall to the staff in front of the hotel saying "Hello" when passing them in the Lobby. But I must make special mention of this very lovely girl, Nakeshia I met at the front desk when I went to inquire about some directions. Wow what a friendly, pleasant young lady. She really went out of her way and was very informative. I could see how passionate she is and enjoys being helpful and really wants you to also enjoy the experience of Barbados. She usually works at the front desk from 2:30pm to 11pm.

I would highly recommend the Accra Beach Hotel as it is in a good location, the beach area is nice (not rocky) small waves, boardwalk entry and close to many restaurants.

Some Recommendations that we liked in visiting Barbados: Teds Island Tour, Jolly Roger Lunch Cruise, Souvenir Stand in front of Harlequin Restaurant in St. Lawrence Gap-nice selection of costume jewelry, purses, wood crafts and reasonable (can bargain with price) Harlequin Restaurant in St. Lawrence Gap-very colourful, nice ambiance, 10 Saints Beer –very nice smooth, Bert’s Sports Bar Restaurant – delicious Pear Gongonzola Salad, Champers Restaurant in Christ Church-delicious Spinach Salad with apples and toasted almonds, Pats Place in Oistins-delicious grilled tuna and flying fish, Sunbury Plantation House-nice lunch buffet, delicious bread and butter pudding, Any grocery store- Tortuga Caribbean Rum Cake (Golden Original).

Some disappointments: Stores close at 5pm during the week and Saturday earlier. Sunday stores are closed. Pelican Crafts in Bridgetown most shops closed due to low season and not much choice. Evenings in St. Lawrence Gap are very quiet. Not much going on as I assume it is low season. Duty Free at Airport-don’t sell 10 Saints Beer(company said it is opening in the near future)

Room Tip: Oceanview request higher floor away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    370
    130
    68
    32
See reviews for
167
363
39
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is more a 3 star (in my opinion) with slightly dated interior. The pool however is very nice, and so is the access to the beach, which is fantastic. The sand is white and water turquoise as you would hope Caribbean to be.

Breakfast at the hotel is good, there is a choice of foods and if you can find the chef, you can get a freshly cooked omelette or eggs whichever way you like them. The rest of the food is ok and coffee is average, which seems to be the norm in the Caribbean.

We had a room that looked onto the road and it was somewhat noisy from the traffic so a room overlooking the pool might be better.

The hotels is slightly on the expensive side for what it offers but if you plan to spend all day at the beach, it's perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have been to Barbados on several occasions, but this was the first time we had stayed in an hotel and not with our family who live up on Gun Hill!

Have to say the reports we had received about the Accra Beach, lived up to all our expectations, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, helpful, friendly staff, excellent accommodation, great restaurants, nothing too much trouble, we left, having made new Bajan friends and will probably return again next year!

Room Tip: We chose an "island view" room, having been to the island several times before. Try and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The service is excellent-very friendly & efficient staff.The hotel is modern with very nice rooms.We has an Island view room which is some what noisy & moved to a Pool view-perfect!
My husband & I have visited Barbados 4 times.This time with West Jet Vacations which was very well organized.Transportation is easy.We travelled on Blue Bus U.S.1$.Reggae bus is great as is yellow bus -all the same price & takes you almost anywhere.The grounds and gardens are beautiful & well maintained.The entire hotel is spotless.Monday Nights have a manager's cocktail party so you get to meet the staff. Wednesday is Karioke-really good talent!
We really enjoyed our stay & will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms were worth the extra cost to us,but other people we met were happy with Island vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is strategically located abt 20 minutes with taxi from the airport and 20 mins from Bridgetown. In the hotel there is a very nice pool and there is also a private beach with umbrellas and sunbeds. The hotel has 2 bars and 2 restaurants and the bars offers lite snacks at meal times. Very good room service menu and fast service to obtain it. Rooms are ok, nice and clean. Only remark, the rooms are equipped with minibar but there is nothing inside.... Morning reset of the rooms happens quite late during the day and at different times day after day. However the overall impression is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for one night and a half a day only as a result of a flight cancellation – this was efficiently organised by Virgin Atlantic staff, and this is a Virgin Hotel and you can tell !!

We thoroughly enjoyed the experience of the Accra Beach with its well appointed bedrooms, very modern, clean, fantastic and beautiful grounds with a fab beach. A very attractive looking hotel and grounds. Even though it was a huge hotel (approx 200 rooms), you didn’t feel like you were crowded with people everywhere as it was very large and spacious. There were lots of nice peaceful shady places to relax and sleep and relax, and plenty of padded luxury sun loungers.

The buffet breakfast was excellent as, although it offered the usual cooked breakfasts, it also offered a very good range of healthy options. The lunch was very tasty too and well cooked and presented.

The hotel is situation in St Lawrence Gap and is set away from the main road so it was pretty quiet for its location, you couldn’t even hear the traffic from the main road nearby,

The staff in this hotel were very friendly, very welcoming, happy to help considering we descended on them at the last minute at 11.00 pm – very efficient indeed and we cannot fault this hotel at all

This is our 12th visit to the stunning island of Barbados and we have stayed in lots of different hotels - so we would definitely choose to stay in this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Accra Beach Hotel & Spa October 10 thru 17, 2012. Booked our vacation via Jet Blue for an ocean view room and had a great view of the ocean, pool and manicured gardens.
After checking in and being shown to our room by the bellman, we were informed that local calls were $1B’dos per call. I made two successful calls on Wednesday afternoon. On Thursday I attempted to call the same numbers, but got fast busy signals. We assumed there were problems with the telephone lines, since that is a common occurrence in Barbados. However, on Friday we discovered that the line had been restricted. We spoke to the manager on duty, Frank Small, and made it clear that upon check-in we were not informed about the $1B’dos charge, and after being told by the bellman we assumed an itemized bill of telephone charges would be presented at check-out. Mr. Small verified with the front desk that guests are not informed about the phone charges unless they make an inquiry (they were honest). The matter was satisfactorily resolved by us leaving a cash deposit, and knowing that in future, all guests would be advised of the call charges which would be included under incidentals.
Friday a tropical wave passed through Barbados and we were all confined to the resort for the entire day. I decided to make a local call, and discovered that despite leaving a cash deposit the line had again been restricted, and for a second time we were not given prior notice. I called down to the front desk and requested the on duty manager, Trisha Joseph. She informed me that she would investigate and call back. The line was reopened and Ms. Joseph gave an ambivalent excuse about a room number mix up. Despite not being completely satisfied with her explanation we put the incident behind us. In the evening after the rain stopped and the winds diminished a little we decided to sit on our balcony and enjoy a glass of wine. Dear reader I am sure you are sensing a “now what?” Plaster from the Balcony ceiling fell on my head and chair. At this point in time I was not in the right frame of mind to speak to another manager so I waited until Saturday morning. My husband took pictures, and this time the on duty manager, Maria Braithwaite. She was both concerned and apologetic. She immediately had us upgraded to a suite, and followed up with a bottle of sparkling wine. Thankfully the remainder of our stay was uneventful and enjoyable.
No one wants to encounter problems on vacation, but it is the manner in which these problems are resolved that can bring guests back or have them looking for another resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.9 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#1 of 8 in St Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,156 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#3 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#4 of 8 in St Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#8 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 1,541 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Crane Residential Resort
The Crane Residential Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accra Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accra Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Rockley | PO Box 73W, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Accra Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 ½ acre property is ideally located on a pristine sandy beach on the lively South Coast, 20 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the picturesque capital, Bridgetown. Accra Beach Hotel & Spa has been awarded hotel of the year by the Barbados Hotel & Tourism Association in 2002 and 2005. All rooms offer panoramic views of the island, pool or ocean. The center-piece of the lush gardens is a large swimming pool complete with swim-up bar for icy cold refreshments or guests can enjoy cocktails in the comfort of the ‘Sand Bar’. Additional treats and light meals during the day are offered on our fig tree and bar snack menus. The resort has its very own Spa. Immerse yourself in the Chakra Spa lifestyle where you will enter a welcoming and tranquil space to thoroughly relax, rejuvenate and heal you. In our haven each service, amenity and detail at Chakra Spa is created specifically for you; our valued and sacred guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Accra Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accra Beach Hotel And Spa
Accra Beach Hotel Christ Church
Accra Beach Hotel Barbados
Accra Barbados
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Accra Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.