We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach and good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Accra Beach Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Accra Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rockley | PO Box 73W, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach and good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We travelled with my wife to Accra Beach for a week with Virgin Holidays. The service from Virgin was good apart from the fact our names was not on the list for the return transfers on our way back home. We stayed at this hotel on room only basis as we wanted to eat out and all inclusive was very expensive.

Good Points - the beach was amazing with white sand and crystal clear caribbean sea. There is a nice plaza just opposite the hotel where you can get food. Also St Lawrence Gap is only 20 minutes with taxi. Hotel is an average 4 star and on the beach with free sun beds. The rooms were ok and clean.

Bad Points - Barbados is a lovely island but it is quite expensive even to eat at standard cafes. The hotel is a bit dull/boring as the entertainment is non-existent.

I would definately recommend Barbados and if you are working to a budget than Accra Beach Hotel will be a good choice. However there are many other better hotels where you can enjoy your stay even more, but with a more price tag.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    276
    88
    59
    23
See reviews for
115
258
30
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Good hotel for package tourists, but not a great hotel if you are on business. Of course the focus is tourism. Great pool area and excellent beach.Food is OK.Dinner in main restaurant was very good.High room taxes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Selected Accra Beach because it is where airline flight crews are housed. I was so very disappointed. During a five-night stay, only one hotel employee smiled or indicated they were happy to have me as a guest: the housekeeper. The front desk personnel took 75 minutes to check me in (I was fifth in line) only to be placed in a corner room next to cobblestone service hallway (think housekeeping carts and other service carts on wheels, at all times of the day and night). None of the breakfast restaurant personnel ever smiled and really conveyed a care-less attitude I chose their hotel for my stay. A cockroach was in the shower the first morning of my stay (I quickly dispatched it to never-never land). The bathroom door jam needed a good dusting. When I asked the front desk (no concierge) how to best travel to Harrison's Cave, I had to wait while the two-person team finished discussing their observations about guests only to be told "Take a bus to Bridgetown, transfer to a different bus station and catch the bus to Harrison's Cave." Rarely have I encountered such a commonplace "don't care" approach and attitude within the Caribbean hospitality industry. Needless to say, I will not be staying at the Accra on any return business trips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peñal, Saint Patrick, Trinidad and Tobago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The view at the hotel was absolutely amazing. With direct access to the beach and the broadwalk, what more can you ask for? It is situated about 5-10 mins away from Bridgetown and there are lovely shops along the famous Christ Church Street. Had a wonderful stay. However at times the staff could have been more polite.

Room Tip: Some rooms come with complimentary Wi-Fi, enquire about this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We picked Accra because of its location and it did not force you to take an all inclusive package. A mere 20 minute ride from the airport then you are in paradise! We got there early and room was not ready yet but who cares! We left our bags with the concierge and headed straight to the beach with our cocktails. The hotel is right on the water and has a pretty nice and long beachfront.
Food in the hotel is average both on food and value, but there is a small strip mall across the street which was a good option. For some reason going a la carte is cheaper than doing their buffet breakfast and lunch, unless you can eat A LOT then it maybe worth it for you. Our room was beachfront with a balcony and hot tub, I thought it was a very good deal for the price we paid comparing to if we stayed at the Hilton which was way more money and not having a nice beach as we did.
The front desk gave us some good recommendations on where to go and where to eat. There is also a local bus stop in front of the hotel for US$1, it is safe to take and pretty easy to follow. A nice alternative if you don't want to take a cab all the time.

The staff was nice and courteous, which is pretty much how all the locals are.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

It was my first time coming to Barbados and I stayed at the Accra Beach Resort. Didn't know what to expect but on arrival it was very nice. Unfortunately, when I arrived a tropical depression was leaving Barbados so there was lots of rain and the beach was very rough. But planned to make the best of my stay. Checking in was done fast given the amount of people was checking in at the same time as it was the Crop Over festival. My room was very nice and the service of the staff very helpful and caring. Housekeeping made sure your room was cleaned everyday which I truly appreciated as I was on the go hitting fetes and checking out what Barbados had to offer. Every morning I looked forward to breakfast which was a hearty spread. The staff a breakfast were really nice and made my mornings enjoyable, Only little problem I had was I am an early riser and would have loved if the beach and pool lounge facilities was available early in morning. Nevertheless, had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

when i arrived there, the first thing i did was sleep... so peaceful. skipped lunch and hit the beach which was so beautiful, and the great thing was that the hotel is on the coastline.I stayed on the beach for over 3hours. the calm and tranquil beach with sky blue waters was to die for.then i had dinner at WYTAKI.. one of the three rest in the hotel. Another cool thing was that the bus to Bridgetown passes at the front of the hotel so it was easy to get around. i can go.on..and on but You got to experience this yourself.... any way i will be back soon BRIM!

Room Tip: island view ..keeps you in tune with the natives ocean view..great if you love nature and looking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Accra Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accra Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Rockley | PO Box 73W, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Accra Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 ½ acre property is ideally located on a pristine sandy beach on the lively South Coast, 20 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the picturesque capital, Bridgetown. Accra Beach Hotel & Spa has been awarded hotel of the year by the Barbados Hotel & Tourism Association in 2002 and 2005. All rooms offer panoramic views of the island, pool or ocean. The center-piece of the lush gardens is a large swimming pool complete with swim-up bar for icy cold refreshments or guests can enjoy cocktails in the comfort of the ‘Sand Bar’. Additional treats and light meals during the day are offered on our fig tree and bar snack menus. The resort has its very own Spa. Immerse yourself in the Chakra Spa lifestyle where you will enter a welcoming and tranquil space to thoroughly relax, rejuvenate and heal you. In our haven each service, amenity and detail at Chakra Spa is created specifically for you; our valued and sacred guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Regatta Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Accra Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accra Beach Hotel Christ Church
Accra Beach Hotel And Spa
Accra Beach Hotel Barbados
Accra Barbados
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Accra Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.