We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunbay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunbay Hotel to your Saves list
Sunbay Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   J Maxwell Coast Road, 15031, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Obviously people have nothing better to do with there time other than moan, had a great stay here staff friendly Deonne on reception went out of her way to help me lovely lady, restaurant staff were great always had time to chat an housekeeping staff were thorough and very pleasant. Pool cleaned daily pool area kept tidy. Lived this hotel n hope to go back soon :-)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    42
    18
    12
    16
See reviews for
28
30
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a few days. My room was very clean, and my balcony was one of a few that looked over the road to the small beach, and I could hear the sea.
The bathroom was a decent size, with a bath and shower, plenty of hot water. There was a hair dryer, although I was only provided with a couple of bars of soap. Nice fluffy towels.
The room has a TV with numerous channels, in English ( American channels). A safe was provided, ( US $2 a day) A small fridge was also in the room. I asked for a kettle and that was provided. There was also an iron and ironing board. The room was of a good size too, with air con if required.
The pool area was pleasant, although some of the sun loungers had seen better days, and the plastic slats underneath were broken. It was a clean area.
The restaurant was basic. The hotel was all inclusive for some, and continental breakfast for others. The hotel's sister hotel was just over the road, where all inclusive could also use. Continental Breakfast was 2 slices of toast, a pastry, a cup of tea or coffee and a (small) glass of fruit juice. Other breakfast items had to be paid for (other that the AI guests).
The evening meal was a set menu. This cost $60 (Barbados) which was a soup, salad, main with a choice of 2 meats, and fish, and then dessert, and included a drink, ie glass of wine.
If you were all inclusive then the lack of choice might get boring.
There was also a "lunch time" menu that was used in the evening, wraps, burgers and sandwiches.
The bar next to the restaurant provided a variety of drinks, and also cocktails.
The was also free wi-fi in the hotel, in the public areas by reception, and the pool. It could also be picked up in some of the guests rooms.
The staff were helpful, and friendly.
A small beach was over the road, and Dover Beach could be accessed just further down the road, to which you could walk to the end, and go through an alley to the lower end of The Gap. The main road was just a couple of minutes walk away, where you can catch a "van" in either direction, Oistins one way Bridgetown the other. You could also get a bus to the airport. Cost of any trip to anywhere is just $2 (Barbados)
In all a well situated, quite hotel to which I would return to in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

If you are a budget conscious traveler and would like a clean, comfortable place to stay, then I would recommend the SunBay Hotel. The hotel itself was somewhat dated, but it was clean spacious and comfortable. The SunBay even had real hot water. (I have found that warm water, not hot, seems to be the norm in the Caribbean). The property is not right on the beach, but you just have to cross the road and presto, you are on the beach. The center courtyard, which can be seen from the room was very pretty. I did not use the pool, so I cannot comment.

The continental breakfast, which was included with the room price, was meager, with two slices of toast, a muffin, juice and your choice of tea or coffee. You could opt for a regular breakfast if you wish, but that is not included in the room price.

The staff at the hotel was friendly and very hospitable. The room had a refrigerator, television, WiFi, a balcony with two lawn chairs and a small table. The airconditioner worked very well, and kept the room cool and comfortable.

Room Tip: There are four floors and an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

My family and I as a party of seven decided to stay at this hotel for two weeks, after reading reviews we were a little bit apprehensive, but upon arrival we were delighted we did stay here the reception staff are warm and friendly, the hotel is beautiful rooms fantastic, pool lovely our kids loved it, ok its not directly on the beach but not even a minute across the road is a small beautiful beach, I cannot see y people moan about this hotel, my partner and I got married on the island and would happily come back to this hotel again, please do ot be put off by negative reviews, this is my fouth time to barbados and it is as good as any other hotel

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We booked very last minute on a bargain web site so had done no research as to where to stay. Great location for eating in St Lawrence Gap and Oistins. Hotel very clean and bedroom a good size and bright and airy with own balcony. The continental breakfast was awful with upgrade to buffet quite expensive for what was on offer there. We had major trouble with getting even warm water through our shower (room 301). The reception girls were friendly and helped us but restaurant staff looked miserable until the final morning when they spoke (tips day?)

Overall if the water had been warm and breakfast good it would have been ideal for our budget and purpose of stay

Room Tip: Not ground floor by pool as you would have a very public outside seating area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our rooms were cleaned everyday, and sheets were changed whenever necessary due to sand piling to bed even though you try to avoid it :) The cleaners were also very friendly and helpful.
We had booked all inclusive for our holiday with kids, buffet breakfast with eggs (fried, scrambled, omelette), bacon, cornflakes, fruits, juice, coffee, toast, muffins... kept us going well until lunch, which we normally outside the hotel. Dinner was simple, maybe a bit plain, but had some highlights like shepherds pie and lasagna.
The restaurant personnel were mainly nice, except for the manager woman who seemed a bit moody at some days.
Bartenders kept us in cocktails and sodas.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms opposite to reception had problems with water coming to bathroom/toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromont
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed at the Sunbay Hotel, poor reception, poor service, poor food . Even woke up with the plaster of the ceiling on our bed. No hot water, breakfast poor, pool dirty. Poor location, located in front of their brother who is situated on the beach. We were in transfer for one night , we will never recommend that hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Deal with a knowledgable travel agent who knows his job and hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbay Hotel

Address: J Maxwell Coast Road, 15031, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunbay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests who come to stay at the Sunbay Hotel find that our Barbados vacation resort offers a very unique ambiance…a tranquil, serene oasis set in a lush tropical garden where you can truly get away from it all and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbay Hotel Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunbay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.