We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Barbados” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naru Restaurant and Lounge

Naru Restaurant and Lounge
Shak Shak Complex, Barbados
246 228-6278
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi, Caribbean, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Barbados”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We holiday in Barbados almost every year and have made Naru our No 1 "go to" restaurant on the island. The location is fabulous, right on the boardwalk and the food is amazing and cooked to perfection. Even the drinks menu is extensive and delicious but what makes Naru really stand out is the excellent service.
Lisa, the owner, has set an exceptionally high standard of service and in Kevin and Joseph they have amongst the best waiters I have seen anywhere let alone just in Barbados! That said the rest of the team are all first class as well.
The setting, the ambiance, the excellent service and wonderful food make a visit to Naru a truly memorable experience. Top class!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    129
    25
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Pilipino Sushi... Scores as high as Kyoto and Tokyo! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

A truly amazing find in Barbados! This venue has it all from the food, service and menu to the execution of an entire nights feast. My daughters and I dined on the soft shell crab, sashimi , nigiri and chocolate mouse cake. We found this to be a delight in so many ways! The ocean front dining just takes it to a new level! Go and be amazed! Five Stars from a global traveler and picky service fanatic. Well done Barry!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent, delicious food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Service was really good, starting with drinks and nibbles, then waiter asking if we needed help in understanding the menu, or had any questions about any of it. My questions were dealt with really well - they would be delighted to put less jerk on my mahi-mahi.
Starters arrived, and all looked beautiful. They tasted amazing too.
Main courses all excellent.
Decided that puddings worth a try - they were! The theme of interesting combinations of flavours ran through to desserts, and portions were generous.
Great views down the beach and over the sea.
Service was exceptional, even for barbados - very professional and thorough, without being in the way. Staff seemed to want to please every customer by serving great food, rather than expecting customers to worship the food because it was great.
There is an extensive sushi menu, and a comprehensive non-sushi menu. The non-sushi menu was divided up into starters and main course, and all seemed clear. Help in understanding it was offered in a charming way.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

At long last I have found a restaurant in the Caribbean with wonderful food and service. I was warmly welcomed to the attractive setting and had a table near the boardwalk and water's edge. The menu had a wide choice of Asian/Barbados flavors. The catch of the day was a well balanced and tasty dish. Instead of the rabbit I had the catch of the day because I needed to try the Barracuda. The Trio of banana for dessert was excellent, wasabi banana custard (panacotta), banana in filo pastry. Beverages were of an equally high standard. The service was excellent unlike most of the Caribbean. Thank you, this was the best dinning experience I have ever had in the Caribbean in the past twenty years.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Sushi Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We sat at a table with an ocean view at Naru and our server was one of the best we have ever had. The sushi was perfect and the sake was excellent. We ventured out and ordered the mu shu duck and we weren't disappointed. All of our selections were amazing and well paired. If you're looking for sushi while in Barbados then this is the spot.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naru Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
Prospect, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Naru Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naru Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.