We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was a bit slow but well worth the wait!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naru Restaurant and Lounge

Naru Restaurant and Lounge
Shak Shak Complex, Barbados
246 228-6278
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi, Caribbean, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dundas, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service was a bit slow but well worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We went with a group of 9 people and there was also a VERY large party on the patio. We did have to wait for our food but they brought out some crispy won tons to help tide us over. I got the sweet potato and plantain soup and it was the best soup I've had in ages. Our table did some sharing (small plates style dining). The duck spring rolls were wonderful too. The best part of the evening was the dessert. We shared the doughnuts with cinnamon and then trio of banana desserts. The bananas were to die for. If I wasn't leaving the island today I would go back again :)

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    320
    111
    21
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We just got done eating at Naru and had a wonderful meal. It was a bit pricey but the staff was very attentive and the food was excellent. The wild mushroom risotto was incredible! We were able to get in last minute, which was also a plus.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

My girlfriends and I had our Annual Christmas Dinner at Naru Restaurant this year and were absolutely delighted by their excellent food and service! We have had bad experiences in the past at other restaurants and were a bit nervous as to what this year would bring.
I have to say we were totally thrilled that this time around we have found a restaurant that delivers what it advertises. The food was beautifully presented and delicious. Service top of the line and ambiance divine.
We will definitely be going back!!!
thank you again Naru's staff for making this Christmas Dinner so perfect!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband and I ate here in the middle of December and true to previous form, (Barry was exec chef and co-owner of the prestigious and much missed 'Southsea' restaurant) - Barry and his chefs served the tastiest food we had on the entire island. My husband doesn't eat fish and he pronounced his beef fillet with garlic mash, balsamic glaze etc as 'divine'; I on the other hand, happily ate some of the best sushi and sashimi ever tasted! The location is beautiful, set on the new boardwalk just up from Accra beach and the fusion of the food transgresses into the gorgeous trendy decor. Definately one of the best eating and tasting experiences to be found on that little island :)

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A New Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Now this is a restaurant that makes me proud to be Bajan....imagine that the sushi world now has a Proper Pork Maki roll!

Naru is such a fun place to dine. The staff are so friendly and really go out of their way to make sure that you have a good time. It was refreshing to see such an innovative menu with so many new and exciting flavours to discover. Every dish was fantastic and I can't wait to go back!

My only negative comment would be that Naru could really utilize their seaside location better; despite being right on the boardwalk overlooking the sea, outside is very dark and you really don't appreciate how beautiful a view it is...Maybe some torches would do the trick? That said, the food is so reasonably priced and everything else is so good that it takes little away from a wonderful and unique dining experience.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naru Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Prospect, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Naru Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naru Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.