We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maxwell Beach Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christ Church Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maxwell Beach Apartments
Save
You added Maxwell Beach Apartments to your Saves list
Highway 7, Maxwell, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Nice Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We spent a week here and had a great time. The room was adequately equipped. The kitchen was very small, so was not fully stocked, but enough to get us through for a week. The hosts were helpful and directed us to great places to eat and sights to see. The room was clean and well kept. The grounds were clean and well kept. Location is within walking distance to plenty of places to eat and nice beaches. I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Maxwell Beach Apartments, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thankyou for your review. The kitchenettes in the studios are basic but have gas oven/ hob, microwave, fridge/ freezer, kettle, toaster, coffee maker and of course crockery, glassware cutlery and pots and pans. If any additional equipment is required ranging from a blender to a lobster pot we will do our upmost to provide it.
We are pleased to hear you thought the rooms were clean and well kept and its nice to hear you would consider returning. We would of course look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This was our second visit to these apartments and you always wonder if they will live up to your previous expectation. We needn't have even thought about that as even before we arrived we received excellent service from both Martin ( in booking) and Peter with details like car hire.
This time we stayed in the upstairs studio which is exactly the same as the 2 downstairs except you can see across the bay from the balcony.
There is something about this place we just love. It provides us with the ability to completely switch off from our busy lives and taste a little of the paradise that Barbados offers. Because it's not a large complex you feel much more integrated into local life and the relaxed way they live.
The location is great: 10 minutes to the supermarket, a very small convenience store across the road, on the main bus route into Bridgetown and all this while being 15 metres from the Caribbean Sea! Going to sleep and waking up with the sound of the waves is just wonderful!
If you want the glitzy Barbados that the glossy magazines offer you then this isn't for you, but if you want to experience the genuine Bajan experience then you will do no better than here. Yes the studios are basic but so is the price, so no complaints on that front!
Peter is always on hand if needed but never overbearing....even finding me an extension lead as the plug socket was too far from the mirror for my hair straighteners!
What this place does is offer ordinary people who wouldn't normally be able to afford the 'Barbados' experience the chance to visit the island at an affordable price.
Would we stay again? ...yes without any hesitation. Thank you Maxwell Beach Apartments for another wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Maxwell Beach Apartments, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. It is always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests. We believe our location is a perfect place to come to relax and get away from the hussle and bussle.
If however you do want to get out and about busses pass regulary, you can even get all the way to Speightstown for $2BDS
The apartments are basic but clean and functional. Should any items such as hair dryers or irons be needed we are happy to provide them upon request.
We are delighted to hear that you would return for a third time and of course you would be most welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I've recently returned from a 3 week stay at Maxwell Beach apartments.

i chose to stay here as the apartments after my first visit to Barbados and staying in a hotel near by. The apartments sit alone with a beautiful little white sandy beach right at your front door. They are situated in a perfect location with easy access to both Oistins which is a great place to be on a Friday night where you can socialize and mingle with the locals have a dance and a drink or just sit back and relax and enjoy the evening or you could also go St Lawrence Gap here there are lots of nice places to eat and many different variety of bars to choose from karaoke, live music, clubs etc. with there being a bus stop at the front of the house there is no need for taxi fares as the boogie buses pass every few minutes those are cheap and very cheerful to ride .

My apartment was very comfortable and clean and equipped with just what you need. I would definitely recommend to stay here and would like to return myself again in the future. Also Peter was always near hand if you ever needed anything and would go out his way to help you make sure everything was alright ,very welcoming and friendly i look forward to returning .

Lisa

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Maxwell Beach Apartments, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for the nice words. We appreciate you taking the time to let fellow travellers know what we have to offer.
The fish fry in Oistins is busiest on Friday and Saturday nights but is open every evening. You are right, it is a great place to meet new friends or just people watch. Not to mention have amazing fresh fish and an ice cold beer.
It is nice to know you would consider returning. We hope it is in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedworth, Warks
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We recently spent two weeks in the Sea Front Apartment over Easter and had a fantastic holiday. We had been to Barbados for the last 2 years and had stayed in Hotels on the Sea Front, but wanted something a little different, and we certainly found it at The Maxwell Beach Apartments.
I booked through their website about 8 months before we arrived, and the communications I had with Martin were always timely and informative with all my questions being answered. Booking was easy and I paid a 20% deposit and paid the balance approximately 6 weeks before we arrived. There were 4 of us stopping in the beach front apartment, and I believe it was very good value or money.
The whole booking experience was very good. Martin also booked our airport taxi for us and Leroy was waiting for us, with a smile.

Peter met us as soon as we pulled up at the apartments, and was both professional but also very welcoming. He gave us a quick tour through the apartment, after helping us with our bags, and as soon as I saw the view, I knew we had made the right choice!! The balcony is large with a 6 seater table and chairs and a small wicker settee, and the view is to die for, 10-15 metres or so away is the Caribbean Sea in the most beautiful colours you can imagine. Perfect!!
The 2 bedrooms are both spacious, clean with excellent air conditioning and loads of storage space. The living room is also large and has everything you need in case you want to spend a night in…but I can’t think why you would ever want to. The kitchen is functional and well kitted out, but a little “tired”, but we didn’t come to Barbados to spend all day in the kitchen so was fine for us.
Peter was a very good host, available and informative but not overpowering at all, he struck the perfect balance which is not always easy to do.
We used the loungers in the beach garden a lot and although the sea was a little rough on occasion we were regularly on the beach and in the sea which is 4 or 5 steps down from the garden, and then a step onto a flattened rock and onto the soft sanded beach.
We used the gas BBQ that Peter has, on a couple of nights, and bought some fantastic Mahi Mahi and King Fish from the local Oistins Fish Market, probably the best fish meals I have ever had, and listening to the waves and the twinkle of the moon on the sea, certainly added to the experience.

This is a review of the Maxwell Beach Apartments, so I am not going to go into detail on the many great places to eat, be entertained or simply be amazed by the beauty of the island, you can let Peter do that.
My best memory of the holiday was getting up far too early each morning just to have a coffee by myself on the balcony just looking at the view, as they say on the TV program it’s all about the location, location, location!!

Room Tip: The front bedroom is 10-15 metres from the beach, the sound of the waves certainly help you to get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Maxwell Beach Apartments, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for the informative review of your stay with us.
As soon as you email us we try to respond as quickly as possible. Our aim is to give you all the information you require as promptly as we can.
We can arrange airport transfers so you can relax as soon as you arrive in Barbados. Our driver will greet you with a smile and share bits of information with you on the short journey to the apartments.
It is always nice to meet guests when they arrive and see the smile on their faces when they see the location.
With Oistins only 10 minutes walk away it is an ideal place to get your fresh fish, bring it home and have a Bajan barbeque.
I can tell you all the places to eat no matter what your preference and usually I sit down with guests the day after arrival and go through all the places to visit, restaurants to eat at and other bits of local knowledge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We spent a week at Maxwell Beach apartments in March.

Booking was easy and the owners were readily available via email to answer any questions we had.

Upon arriving we were met at the airport by a friendly driver who took us to Maxwell Beach Apartments for $20 USD. Peter met us upon our arrival and gave us a tour of our apartment and the grounds.

We stayed in one of the main floor apartments. The unit was clean and had everything we needed for the week. It's nothing fancy, but we only used the room to sleep and shower, so it was more than suitable for our needs.

The beach is incredible. There were many times during the week where we had the entire beach to ourselves! It was such a nice change from the crowded beaches at many resorts.

Peter was very helpful and checked in with us every few days to see if there was anything we needed or if he could make any arrangements for us.

It was a quick 10 minute walk to the supermarket, and Surfers Cafe (great burgers!). We also caught the bus from the main road just outside the apartments and felt very safes touring the island.

If you're looking for an affordable place to stay with a beautiful beach, look no further. We will definitely be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Maxwell Beach Apartments, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
We are glad to hear your experience was an enjoyable one. From the initial enquiry to throughtout your stay we try to offer the best service possible.
The beach outside the property is usually very quiet. Guests often comment that it is their private beach. Although its nice to enjoy solitude on a beach, all beaches in Barbados are public.
We believe we offer great value and at an affordable price and it is nice to hear you would like to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Leaving the snow and cold behind us and being greeted by a cheerful Leroy at the airport to take us to Maxwell Beach Apartments was definitely a great start to our three week holiday. My husband and I could not have found a better place. We had a ground floor studio apartment, one of three studios. There is also a first floor two bedroom apartment. The kitchen was well equipped as we are both passionate in our cooking skills. Our host, Peter, commented on the delicious aromas coming from our place. A 10 minute walk to the Oistins fish market and Supercentre grocery store was all I needed to buy the local ingredients to prepare Bajan cuisine during our stay. Since it's a repeat visit to Barbados, we skipped on the usual tourist places and settled down to a relaxing vacation. Several meters away is the beautiful Caribbean Sea. The front yard is the beach with lounge chairs and single seat hammocks hanging from the almond tree. The bus stops are close by and you can always take the ZR minibuses into town and back for $2BDS single fare. St Lawrence Gap is just several minutes bus ride away. Peter was so helpful with any of our requests and helped arrange a car rental for two days. We traveled across the island to the East Coast to photograph the rugged beauty of Bathsheba, Foul Bay, and Cattlewash. If you have the chance to go to the East coast, stop at the Bay Tavern at Martins Bay for the most exquisite red snapper and macaroni pie. Picnic tables are set up on either side of the small road and along the coral beach of Martins Bay. Our apartment was exactly what we wanted; clean, comfortable and close to the sea. Evening serenades by the whistling frogs and lull of the waves added to this perfect holiday rental. And we have already booked the same apartment for next year's holiday. It's a perfect location for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Maxwell Beach Apartments, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for the kind words and informative review. As you mentioned we can arrange car hire with a reputable company either to be picked up at the airport or dropped of at the apartments. If car hire is not your thing then busses run regulary between the airport through Oistins, St Lawrence Gap and onto Bridgetown, for only $2BDS.
We look forward to seeing you again in March 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Maxwell Beach Apartments is a prime location, situated in walking distance to the supermarket, various beaches and Oistins, where the fish fry is celebrated on Fridays and Saturdays. There is a direct bus connection to Bridgetown, St. Lawrence Gap, Sandy Lane and the complete west coast just across the street. Don´t worry: You won´t hear the road noise at all! And the most beautiful thing: There´s a beach in front of the house, crossing the little garden with a couple of sunbeds.
We stayed at one of the ground floor studios. There´s a little patio, which is ideal to have breakfast. The roomy apartment is really comfortable and very, very clean. This is especially important for us in regards to the bathroom and the bed! A thorough cleaning is done every 5 days during your stay. Sheena and Martin also provide a laundry service at a fee of 20 BDS$. The kitchen is equipped with the essential furniture, the bathroom with showering towels, washrags and beach towels.
Sheena and Martin were friendly and helpful with good and reliable insider tips for excursions and evening activities (restaurants, bars etc.). They were always available, responded quickly without being obtrusive at all.
The best choice ever!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, General Manager at Maxwell Beach Apartments, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Maxwell Beach Apartments.
Although the studio apartments are basic we hope they have everything you might need and we do our very best to ensure they are very clean.
As you mentioned a laundry service is available, which includes washing, drying and folding. We provide all linen and bath towels, flannels and hand towels. We also provide beach towels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maxwell Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxwell Beach Apartments

Address: Highway 7, Maxwell, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Christ Church Parish
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Maxwell Beach Apartments Hotel Christ Church
Maxwell Beach Apartments Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxwell Beach Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.