We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Bar and perfect Wedding Venue!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfer's Bay

Surfer's Bay
Green Garden, Landsdown | Silver Sands Barbados.W.I., Barbados
1246-2625483
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A small rustic beach bar...down by de sea......
Antigua, Guatemala
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Beach Bar and perfect Wedding Venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We visited Surfers Bay in 2011 and fell in love with the setting. There was a great atmosphere, live music, food and drinks. So when we got engaged it was the obvious choice of venue for us.

Steve, the owner exceeded our expectations in organising the food, drink, entertainment and set things up exactly as we wanted it. All 55 guests couldn't be more complementary about the food, service and setting.

We would highly recommend Surfers Bay for a night out whether it be food with family and friends, a few drinks or as a choice for an organised party or wedding. Brilliant!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    44
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“a real island experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place is kind of out of the way but it's worth finding it. We had dinner there on our last
night and wished we could have returned. It has the feel of a rustic surfer place where it seemed like a lot of the clientele were locals. It was very busy and we were lucky to get a table. They do have tables down on the lawn too for overflow. The food is fine but not really what you go for. It's the low key island vibe. There was a band when we were there playing 60's music. The atmosphere was lively, relaxed and fun. Tiki torches light the night. We had hot dogs which were tasty and some good rum drinks. A festive casual place.And the food is very inexpensive.Gorgeous view of the surf beach.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great friendly neighborhood beach bar!!! A gem on the island!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I made it to Surfer's Bay on a Sunday night when there was a great crowd, live music, a bonfire, and a great sunset. Fun times were had by all!!! After last night, this has become my favorite bar in Barbados -- if not any many countries. There was a great mix of people at the bar -- all ages and backgrounds. And everyone was have a great time -- enjoying the view, the music and the company. I will DEFINITELY be back before I leave the island and know that I will always come back here in the future.

They also have a great Happy Hour - 5:30-6:30 p.m. - with $2.50 USD Rum Punch and other drinks. I will always try and return for Sunset and Sunday night with the live music is a must!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
“Awesome place!! Hard to find!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Went there with my girlfriend tonight for some dinner, driving around for like 20 minutes trying to find this place, very little signage, went through some rough places but in the end it paid off, beautiful scenery, good food and nice drinks, $83 Barbadians (around $50US) for a Beer, a Piña Colada, Shrimp and Chips $39 Barbadians and the Big Hakuna Burger that was $29 Barbadians, all in all nice place to go, just gotta get over the 5+ dogs that are in and around the place barking for a living.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best place to be ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Pretty much the place to be in the world ever. Very laid back comfortable environment ideal for getting away from it all while still being in very good company. The food is great and the staff certainly know how to make some serious cocktails.

The music is a very big highlight as a hub of local and global talent seem to always be ready to jam the night away.

If I have already been to paradise I'm pretty sure it was here!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfer's Bay also viewed

Oistins, Christ Church Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Oistins, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Surfer's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfer's Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.