We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Surf Beach Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Southern Surf Beach Apartments to your Saves list
Southern Surf Beach Apartments
Rockley Beach, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

We live in Trinidad and usually go to Barbados for a week each August and usually stay in the Rockley area and SS apartments were recommended to us by relatives. It was pretty much a last minute decision and we secured a ground floor room at a very good rate. All rooms are studios of varying sizes and are very well equipped for breakfast/lunch etc. The front desk team (Lara, Audra, Rachel and Summie) couldn't have been more helpful and cheerful and we loved them all. The apartments are situated across the road from one of our favourite beaches and although situated on a fairly busy road, our room was farthest away and we barely heard any traffic. Rockley is a good area in which to stay and there is a good choice of nearby restaurants. We will definitely be booking for next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    29
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
73
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Stayed at the Southern Surf Beach Apartments for approximately 10 days.
Basic Apartments, but I found it to be noisy, was often woken by trucks driving past in the early morning, which is not what you want on holiday.
The staff are very helpful as stated by other contributors, but not exceptionally better than other hotels/apartments that I have stayed in Barbados.
The location is excellent for getting to Restaurants and bars, so if you are looking for a location that is central, it is a good choice. Accra Beach is just across the road and is beautiful.
Also note that the rooms do not have telephones, so there is a communal phone on the stairway, which can be used. The Management also provide Digicel mobile phones which can be topped up, which proved useful as I was in a quite large group and had friends staying in other parts of Barbados.
We were offered a late check-out, which was a nice gesture by the management.
Personally I prefer to stay in a Apartment/Hotel that faces onto the beach. I tried Southern Surf due to the reviews, but this has helped me confirm what type of accommodation I prefer. If you are looking for a very reasonably priced apartment/hotel in a central location this is the place for you. Just be warned about the noise levels.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

I stayed at Southern Surf in March 2008 and again in March 2010 and both were fantastic. This place is a great value on an otherwise expensive island. The rooms are clean and exactly what I'm looking for. I absolutely love the fact that they're right across the street from Rockley Beach, about a block or so from a convenience store, and about 3-4blocks from a larger grocery store. The ladies running the front desk are all friendly and attentive. It's so easy to catch the ZR's running either north or south; makes it so easy to travel to Bridgetown or Oistins. I look forward to another stay at Southern Surf in the future!

Tyler

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

A nice clean apartment but not really up to the reviews here.
The staff were pleasant but not outstandingly nice although they were helpful when booking taxis and they let us checkout an hour late. As it rained frequently, we spent rather a lot of time in our room but ended up being pestered daily by the housekeeping staff.

They kindly told us about the proximity of the road before we booked but the noise was definitely louder than we'd expected. There was wi-fi but it was a bit flakey unless you sat on the balcony.

However, it was value for money and the location near Rockley Beach was excellent. Great eating places really nearby are Bar Kan'ei, Ackee Tree, Just Grillin', and the New York Pizza place which are all cheap and good quality. It's walking distance to St Lawrence Gap, and the bus stop to Bridgetown is right outside. A nearby 99c minimart has all the essentials if you wanted to cook at the apartment. If you wanted to splash out, the very expensive (but worth it) Fusion is just beyond the Chefette fast food place.

Having visited friends' apartments (such as Magic Isle hotel down the road), we probably wouldn't stay at Southern Surf again as we now know of places which are quieter, more spacious and more luxurious for a similar price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Myself and two children aged 12 & 10 stayed here for 9 daysarriving from the UK whilst on a island hop trip, this was our first stop. I was pleasantly suprised with the location, apartment and convenient location of the place. As a luxury vacations holiday planner, it was good to see the tolerance of the owners and the pride taken in the premises. I would recommend to families and others, suited to support your value for money needs. My 10th visit to the island and many more to come.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed here for a week, 21-28 July and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others.
The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable, nothing was too much trouble for them from giving us directions and information and umbrellas when it rained to advising us on our mosquito bites. :-)
They even give you a phone on arrival which you can use for the duration of your stay and free beach towels.

The hotel has wi-fi and as the signal wasn't great in our room, the staff let us use the facilities in the office free of charge.

We were in room 12, which had a view of both the beach and the pool from the balcony.
The room was spacious and kept clean by the daily room service.

The apartments are right across from a lovely beach, close to a number of restaurants, bars and shops. Go to chilly moo for amazing ice-cream and Chevette's for the salad buffet, definitely worth the money!
You can get the bus to Bridgetown and Speightstown just across the road from the hotel and the local taxi minibuses run all the time.
We went to the West Indies T20 cricket tournament while we were here, Kensington Oval is a short walk from Bridgetown centre and easily accessible by bus.

Overall we had a fantastic time here and would like to say thanks to Lara and all the staff at Southern Surf.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

I was treated like an honored guest at the Southern Surf. I travel frequently for business and this location stands out for superlative customer service. The staff attended to my lodging needs and went the extra mile in making sure I was comfortable. The room was immaculate and convenient for my needs. Don't expect a flat screen TV or expensive linens, but you don't need these extras in this beautiful setting. I would visit this location again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Surf Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Surf Beach Apartments

Address: Rockley Beach, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Surf Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Surf Beach Apartments Hotel Christ Church
Southern Surf Beach Apartments Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Surf Beach Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.