We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unremarkable but good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pirate's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pirate's Inn to your Saves list
Pirate's Inn
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Browne's Gap, 15151, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Herts, England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Unremarkable but good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

The Pirates has something of the feel of an American motel, with parking outside and a rectangle of two-storey apartment buildings surrounding a small pool, bar area and courtyard. The rooms (I'm assuming all of them are basically the same as the one we had) are a decent size, simply furnished with ensuite bathroom, kitchenette and balcony overlooking the pool. The folk running the place were friendly and efficient, and general maintenance was excellent. The best thing about the Pirate's, however, was its proximity (2/3 minutes stroll) to the new boardwalk, which runs along the seafront past various bars, restaurants and hotels to Accra Beach (about 10 minutes walk away). This was one of the best beaches we found on the island...at least as nice as the ones up on the glitzier and far more expensive West Coast. Hastings is also quite well situated for seeing other parts of the island. So, all in all, a very good place to base yourself for a Barbados holiday, if you're not bothered about emptying your bank account to rub shoulders with Simon Cowell and Michael Winner.

Room Tip: They all seemed pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    66
    23
    3
    7
See reviews for
26
91
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

I agree with all of the positive reviews it was a good place to stay. A nice walk along the boardwalk, a very good meal at " Just Grillen' ". Thanks to Cecil and Janet.
Terry

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I traveled with my rugby team to Barbados for a tour in March, 2011. We landed in Barbados, awestruck by the blue-green sea and warm breeze. A little nervous about the hotel we had reserved for such a large group of us (54), Pirates Inn most pleasantly surprised each of us!
I've stayed at a lot of hotels, but Pirates inn has the friendliest service I've ever experienced. The staff is helpful, knowledgeable, accommodating, and go out of their way to get to really know and interact with customers. By the end of your stay at Pirates Inn, you'll be friends with the staff, not just guests--we all were!
The unit I stayed in included two bedrooms with 3 beds and a bathroom in each; and a common area with a large, open living room and full kitchen. There was more than enough room for us. It was very clean when we first arrived, and cleaned consistently throughout our stay. Oh, and we opened the front sliding door and the pool was on our front step!
The toughest choice at Pirates Inn is whether to stay and drink some of the captain's grog by the pool, or take the one block walk and lay on the beach. If you can make that decision, the amazing staff at Pirates will take care of the rest!
On behalf of myself and Vassar College Rugby, Pirates Inn has been unanimously declared the best hotel this side of paradise.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

I stopped at this hotel for one night which was listed as one of the hotels used by Virgin Atalntic.After entering the room for th first time I noticed that the windows had no net curtains so that meant I had to have the curtains closed at all times when changing clothes as I could be seen by people in the swimming pool over from the poolside restaurant. Before going to bed I went to the main desk to purchase air conditioning for the night and after payment of a fee you would be given a remote control to activate/control the air conditioning .After an hour of looking the main desk could not find the remote control (no air conditioning)and as it was late nothing could be done and I was told that I should turn on the fans and open the sliding doors in the room and hope that the rooms would cool down.I can report that I had the most horrendous night due to the severe heat and when the morning came I was not a happy man.What makes it even worse nobody from the Pirate Inn management enquired to my well being and even offered an apology.I do not recommend this hotel to anybody

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pirateone, Manager at Pirate's Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
We truly regret that this guest did not enjoy his brief stay with us.

We wish to assure guests that our rooms are all outfitted with draperies to ensure adequate privacy.

When an energy fee applies for the use of the air conditioning, we strive to ensure that there is no inconvenience to guests in accessing this service. We have put measures in place to ensure that the circumstances described here do not recur.

It is always our desire that we are able to learn of, and deal with, guest issues on property, however, we wish to thank this guest for taking the time to post this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

This is a 2-star hotel, so don't expect glitz and glam. Having said that, it's a great hotel and offers all the essentials - spacious clean rooms, small kitchen, TV, free Wi-Fi... The staff is friendly and helpful, and the swimming pool is big enough to have a dip, paddle and cool down when it's hot! And as our intention with our holiday was to spend most of the time sightseeing, this hotel was perfect in terms of serving a functional purpose.

When we were there, the other hotel guests were mostly retired people, which suited us to a tee, as we wanted somewhere peaceful - but perhaps not very exciting for young families with young children. Nonetheless, everyone was so friendly and happy - and be sure to enjoy Happy Hour between 6-7pm (and make sure Cecil makes your drinks for you - he is very generous with his measures!) as prices are VERY reasonable. Even some of the locals drop in for a drink or two and share a laugh with you.

The location of Pirate's Inn is great - 5 minutes walk from the glorious Rockley Beach, convenience shops, bars, restaurants, shops... so convenient. It's also only a 20 minute drive from Grantley Adams Airport (depending on traffic), 15 minutes to Oistins and 10 minutes to St Lawrences Gap. But for an authentic Bajan experience, we highly recommend a little gem of a restaurant - continue down Browne's Gap for about 200 yards and you'll see Shaker's on your left. Great Bajan food for decent prices. And opposite Shakers there's Joan's Rum Shop - have a drink Barbadian style before stumbling back to the Pirate's Inn in a haze of rum!

Pirate's Inn - a fantastic little hotel :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

An intimate little Inn. Rooms are spacious, adequately equiped good security and lovely staff, especialy with the addition of Cecil the always cheerful bar tender. Beds are comfortable and rooms kept immacutalely clean. A clean and wel kept garden area with pool and loungers. There are mostly repeat gusets her for long winter stays so can be a bit clicky. There is a small dining area where they serve meals virtually allday and produce some of the best presented food on the island. The whoeplace isd based on pirate themes hich might put you off, but don't let it. They provide evening entertainment from time to time with a lovely buffet. I will be going again for the peace and security.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

we have to admit when we saw the hotel from the outside we were a little dissapointed. it looked small and a little run down. however our greeting more than made up for our dissapointment. the family hotel was run adn organised very well. the hotel itself is quirky and fun. the rooms and centered around a pool which is really quite relaxing. the pool is so close to your room, which is great for lounging around. the staff were great very friendly.
this was a mere stop off in barbados for us. stayed 5 days. it was not the most luxurious hotel but clean, fun and welcoming. we enjoyed our stay and would recommend to those on a budget, looking for basic ammenaties. based on price we paid, could not fault the hotel !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pirate's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirate's Inn

Address: Browne's Gap, 15151, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pirate's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirate's Inn is an intimate, family-run apartment-hotel centrally located in the Hastings area, seven miles from the Airport and three miles from the capital Bridgetown. It is 100 metres from the Boardwalk which gives access to one mile of beautiful South Coast beach. 22 fully equipped studio apartments feature kitchenettes, en suite bathrooms, cable TV, phones, free wireless access and in-room safes. All rooms face onto the central pool. There is a Bar and Bistro on site with an all day menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Pirate's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirate`s Hotel Christ Church
Pirates Hotel Christ Church
Pirates Inn Barbados
Pirate's Inn Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirate's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.