We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Caribbean hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bougainvillea Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Caribbean hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed at the Bougainville for ten days with our 6 month old daughter and couldn't ask for a better vacation.

The room was spacious, clean and they provided us with both a cot and a high chair so we could enjoy breakfast and lunch on our large balcony.

We ate at both restaurants, the food was good and we can really recommend eating there on Monday nights when they served a Caribbean BBQ.

The staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful and they always went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable.

The pool was nice and clean and they made great drinks in the pool bar. The beach was great, plenty of chairs and umbrellas and the guys working at the water sports were always helpful. The waves were pretty high, fun for us but can be difficult if you have young children.

If you are looking for a great and helpful taxi driver ask for Ricky who normally parks outside the hotel.

There were plenty of good restaurants in the Gap and in the Hastings area and a visit to Oistins fish market on Friday night is a must. All of these places are only 5-10 minutes away in a taxi and if you don't travel with really young children you can easily walk to the Gap.

Overall we truly enjoyed our stay at the Bougainville and can't wait to go back.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    494
    100
    27
    20
See reviews for
422
715
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Nice resort on the south side of Barbados. Beach was beautiful. Hotel rooms are nice, clean and spacious although not very modern and probably could use a little bit of updating. Resort has more of a traditional island feel. I liked having a living room, small kitchenette and outdoor patio. We were on the ground floor just steps away from the main pool which I thought might be too noisy, but it actually worked out perfectly since we could just run back and forth from the room to the pool or beach through the front patio door. Grounds are nicely kept. The staff is overall pleasant and helpful. Service can be a bit slow in the restaurant, but then again, I am judging this by New York City standards, not island standards. I found the people of Barbados in general to be friendly, helpful and proud of their island. Food at the 2 restaurants was good (we only had breakfast and lunch there, not dinner), a little pricey but Barbados in general can be a little pricey. But very convenient to just grab breakfast or lunch right there. Good to note that there is a very small convenience shop just a few steps away from the hotel which was cheaper than the hotel gift shop for snacks and water, drinks, etc. Wish I had discovered this sooner as I only found in it on my third day there. The clientele of the hotel tends to be on the older side (mostly Brits and Canadians) )and it seems like a lot of them are return customers which says something about the resort. If you are looking for nice place to relax, enjoy the beach and venture out at night then this a very good option.

As I said, I really loved the beach here on the South side as compared to the beaches on the West side. The West side is more posh and has a better nightlife but the beach was much nicer on the South side in my opinion. There were plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas to go around (complimentary). Only thing lacking is that there is no waiter/waitress service on the beach, but the restarant and pool bar are literally steps away so not a big deal.

Again, the staff was very nice and accomodating. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to go to Barbados and stay on the South side. Good to note that the hotel is less than 10 minutes cab ride from St Lawrence Gap which is basically a road that is full of bars and restaurants. The Mexican restaurant at the top of the Gap is very good and usually lively. I wouldnt suggest walking there from the hotel, its best to take a taxi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just returned from a week at the Bougainvillea. I had previously been to the island and stayed elsewhere, however I got a good price at the Bougainvillea during peak season so I stayed there this time. Overall I have no complaints.

While not in the luxury category, the Bougainvillea is a GREAT place to stay and a great value for a 4 star hotel (I booked for approx. $290 USD per night during peak season and that included the hotel tax). The entire hotel (rooms, beach, pool and hotel grounds) is extremely clean (and I'm a stickler for cleanliness). The rooms were spacious and equipped with a full kitchen. The balconies are spacious and provided a great ocean view. There were usually enough chairs by the pool and the beach. The staff was very friendly and accomodating.

I especially appreciated the pool bartender (Jose?) and the resident cab driver Wayne. They were extremely accomodating with providing information and transportation.

Check-in was quick and efficient as was check out. We booked a deluxe studio but were actually given a Junior Suite which I loved and if I stayed here again I would book the Junior Suite.

I did not like breakfast at Lantern's in (overpriced buffet without anything notable on it) but I loved the flying fish cutter and the macaroni pie offered on the lunch menu. It was excellent.

The beach is a little rough as to be expected on the south side of the island, so you may not want to stay there if you have small children or are not a strong swimmer. If you are looking for waves, then this is the beach for you.

Room Tip: I in a Junior Suite. It was spacious with a nice sized balcony and views of the ocean and pool. high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This place is a gem. The beach has clear water and beautiful sand and is longer than most on the island. Our suite was directly overlooking the beach (worthwhile to request one closest to the beach) and we were able to put the two fans on and leave the balcony doors open all night to listen to the sound of the waves. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and we found the grounds and rooms to be very well cared for, with a recent coat of paint. We only ate a few meals there, which were fine (BBQ night was good) and headed to Oistins and St. Lawrence Gap for other meals, which are both very close by cab and even walking distance to the Gap during the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I just had to write a review of the lovely resort. We stayed here for 4 nights last week. The resort is beautifully kept, very intimate and clean. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Sue at the front desk was so helpful making reservations for us. A wonderful welcome by all the staff. The beach is breathtaking, and our room was beautiful with a balcony that looked out onto the ocean. They had Happy hour each day that was a nice touch, we didn't eat at the restaurants, but enjoyed the Wed evening musician, who was incredibly talented (we had coffee/tea and dessert and enjoyed his show, not to be missed. The only negative if i had to say, was when the other post mentioned the waves being huge, they are not making that up..... the waves are so big it makes it difficult to swim. So if you have kids and love hangin out in the ocean, this may be a problem. We walked each morning down the beach towards Dover Hotel and cut through the path and walked across to street to Oceans 15 for nice Americano's . I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

What a gem to find. Booked this hotel without really looking into it last minute booking on advice of. Friend that it was clean. Well that is an understatement, this is a hotel that you would wish to book to get the real Caribbean feel. We arrived on my husbands 'special' birthday and from singing happy birthday at reception to the card and bottle of sparkly in the room the welcome could not have been better. Gives you the real Caribbean feel. Room was spotless, views from the balcony were spectacular, spacious rooms with cooking facilities if you wished to self cater. The food in the restaurants were a little limited however they do not object to you bringing in your own food and drink they even supply a bar-b-que for you to use if required. The rooms did not have the feel of self catering but this was not a problem if you wish to do so. I think this must be a unique feature of any hotel I certainly have not come across it before. I must say breakfast would have been welcome as the cost of room only is not cheap but this would not deter me from going again. We did stay at the height of the season and am sure later in the season you could strike a deal with them for bed and breakfast even all inclusive. We did get the local bus to the fish market shindig at Oistins and this is not to to be missed atmosphere is great food superb. All in all a fabulous stay would certainly return. Hats off to all the staff.
Ps if anyone visits and has a sail the newly acquired catamaran have a thought for my husband and friend who helped to assemble this to the enjoyment of all the sunbathers on the beach at the time who thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment for the afternoon of watching the men try to assemble. It did not occur to them to read the instructions first but what man needs instructions !!!

Room Tip: We had room 5307 view were fantastic but to be truthful do,not think any room is without a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Bougainvillea is a great hotel which is right on the beach and located between the busy attractions at St Lawrence Gap and Oistins. The grounds are immaculate, the rooms extremely spacious and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. We had a great time here and I would definitely book again if coming back to Barbados. Thanks Bougainvillea for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#4 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#4 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Regatta Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Resort
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bougainvillea Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.