We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay at Bougainvillea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bougainvillea Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free upgrade & breakfast!
Falmouth, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay at Bougainvillea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our family of four (two boys ages 8 and 11) recently stayed in a two bedroom suite at Bougainvillea. The room itself was fantastic and featured a living room / dining room, half bath, and full kitchen on one floor and two bedrooms and two baths on the second floor. Each floor also sported a generous covered balcony with excellent views of the beach. The suite was comfortable, spacious and clean.

The resort itself was nice, and the staff was helpful. There were two restaurants and a swim up bar. We purchased provisions for breakfast, and only ate at Lanterns a few times for lunch, and the food was fine and the service generally was solid (although once there was a bit of a wait) but not spectacular. The blackened flying fish sandwich was a favorite. We did not dine at the resort in the evening, so cannot speak to dinner service.

We found our children were generally made to feel welcome. They were disappointed that they were not able to use the swim up bar (children under 16 were excluded from the pool), but the bartenders Sonia and Jose graciously made them their virgin drinks landside. Our visit corresponded with some rough waters, so we were disappointed that ocean swimming was frequently prohibited, although staff was always friendly when asking us to come out of the water (and we understood the resort is not responsible for nature). We found the beaches to be clean and well tended, and the water sport staff to be friendly and helpful.

The resort, at least during our visit, was on the quiet side. There were other families with children and a few multi-generational parties. The kids club did not appear to be very active during our stay, and seemed to operate mostly by enough demand. There was a small game room for the children with ping pong, billiards, air hockey, etc, which our children enjoyed. The pools are clean and well kept but on the smaller side.

The resort itself was pretty and well kept, but not dazzlingly new or modern. If you are looking for a large, self contained, ultra modern resort, with lots of entertainment and fine dining options, this probably is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for a more low key resort in a nice setting, this would be a very good choice. The staff and other guest were endearing, and we enjoyed the resort as a stepping off point for exploring the island.

The location is good, being a short cab or bus ride from St. Lawrence Gap and Oistin, and these locations are walkable for the adventurous during the day (nighttime with narrow streets and limited sidewalks would make this more challenging. We found many excellent restaurants within a short distance, such as Champers, Tapas and Nara. And we enjoyed the fish fry in Oistin, visiting Pat's on one Friday and Fred's on the other. Our kids loved the catamaran sail on El Tigre, and visiting more remote parts of the Island on a private tour with Charlie.

We very much enjoyed our stay at Bougainvillea.

Room Tip: Our suite, 5328, was spacious and offered stunning views from the third and fourth floors. Perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    448
    94
    25
    19
See reviews for
394
641
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I just got back from a 5 day stay at Bougainvillea, it was perfect! I travelled with two teens and a toddler and we all enjoyed everything the resort had to offer. We stayed on the 3rd floor in the one bedroom deluxe suite. It had a nice view of the pool bar area and some of the beach. It was a workout climbing those steps with a toddler we didn't mind.

Staff
They were so friendly, professional,caring, and down to earth. From Kelly at the front desk, Stephen at concierge, Rachel at the gift shop,Jose at the bar, Nicole in Lanterns, to Andre at the bar...I can go on and on about every wonderful staff member. Every single person greeted you and asked how you were. They went above and beyond to make sure you had everything you needed.

Hotel
The hotel is so beautiful and well kept. The grounds, public toilets, beach, showers, pool area, children's play rom, gym, and the rooms were very clean! Our room was cleaned daily and to perfection!

The only one place in the hotel that could use a slight makeover would be the game room. I think they should have a token machine in the the game room so you don't have to go back to the reception desk when you want to play something else.

Restaurants
We only ate at Lanterns for lunch and for a buffet. The food was good but the buffet price was too high, about $35 US plus taxes and surcharges per person.
The food was delicious. I found the lunch to be very good at a reasonable price. I saw a lot of reviews about the slow service in the restaurant but we did not have to wait long at all. The speed of the service was as fast as a typical restaurant in the US.
The restaurant manager was awesome and very caring.

Beach
You have to get up early to get a beach chair with shade. Other than that, there are always plenty of chairs on the beach. The beaches are well kept. We were never harassed by any merchants on the beach. The water was very rough and looked dangerous for swimming but a quick dip was ok.

Even though there were a lot of guest there, it never felt over crowded. There were two happy hours, and that's when you would see a lot of people. Each happy hour is only for one hour so It was hard to get more than one happy hour priced drink. The hotel definitely could use either a longer happy hour and/or increase the bar staff during this time.

The staff loved my son and even gave me a little break to get a drink by holding him for me.
I highly recommend Bougainvillea, and I cannot wait to return!!!!!

Thank you Bougainvillea for a fun and a relaxing 4 star vacation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtice, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was my first time in Barbados but definitely not the last. Bougainvillea Beach Resort delivers excellent accommodation and service. Without being intrusive, the staff pay attention to detail and try to anticipate your needs before you ask. The resort is not over whelming in size nor pretentious in attitude. The smiles are free. Rest and relaxation will find you by the pools or just a few steps down to the beach. The one bedroom main floor suite felt like home away from home with a beach bungalow feel. If you choose to cook some of your own meals, the kitchenette is well equipped to meet your needs. Room service offers a varied menu and was excellent. Unlike many resorts, I was happy to see that the main pool with the swim-up bar stays open till 10:00 pm. I have travelled extensively and I can say that Barbados is the best Caribbean island I have visited. It is safe, taking into account normal travel precautions of course. The water is clean. The island is easy to explore. Many wonderful restaurants. Lots of things to do and see. Above all, the local people are welcoming with a friendly disposition. My only regret is that I didn't stay longer. I really don't feel the need to look any further than Bougainvillea on my next visit. When you find a good thing...stick with it. Now I have to check my calendar to see when I can make it back to my little slice of paradise.

Room Tip: Note that there is a "quiet side" by Waters Edge restaurant and a more "active"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Manager at Bougainvillea Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review!

We appreciate your taking the time to write us up and provide us with feedback.

Barbadians are very proud of their island and what it has to offer and we are delighted that you discovered this for yourself!

Please know we look forward to welcoming you back again and ensuring that your next visit here at Bougainvillea meets and exceeds your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The hotel is wellplaced and well designed to make the most of its position. Nice views from the rooms. A good beach and friendly staff. An easy walk down the beach to the St Lawerence Gap for more evening entertainment. We would definitley use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Manager at Bougainvillea Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review!

The Resort is located almost exactly between St Lawrence and Oistins making it an easy walk or a very short cab ride to either of these popular ares. With Bridgetown only several kilometres away it is rather convenient!

Maxwell beach is one of the quietest beaches on the island providing our guests with a long stretch of fine white sand.

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and provide us with feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Bougainvillea and ensuring that you have a wonderful holiday once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was a really great hotel, hard to find fault with.

Our room was great and had a brilliant view of the ocean. The kitchen came stocked with a full range of pots pans cutlery etc if you did want to cook whilst you're away.

Food was quite pricey but as is most of Barbados and I don't think the hotel was any more so, the food was also really good as were the cocktails.

Probably the highlight was the lovely nature of all of the staff they were all so welcoming and warm. In particular they seemed to adore and make a great fuss over children in a very genuine (not forced) way so if you are staying with a family this is lovely.

Not really busy or noisy late into the night which was good for us but if you are looking for a livelier time everywhere you might find this is fairly close via taxi.

Great free beach and sports gear; buckets, spades, body boards, snorkels etc are all really nice extra touches.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom villa but think it may have been a "luxury" one but it did have a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Manager at Bougainvillea Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for the kind review!

Our rooms do indeed have stunningl views and it is wonderful to hear that you were so taken with our staff. Barbadians "Bajans" are famous for their kind nature and friendliness and we are proud to say that we have an amazing team representing that here at Bougainvillea.

We do receive comments regarding food prices and sadly there is not much we can do. Being a small island nation a large part of our food has to be imported and as a result our costs are incredible. We do our best to ensure that our Guests receive high quality and value for money, even if it may appear that some items may look exorbitant.

Thank you for taking the time to review us and know that we aim to make sure that your next vacation with us is just as wonderful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Having arrived off of a flight with British Airways that was quite frankly a nightmare due to an overly hot cabin we were delighted when guest checkin unexpectedly announced that we had been upgraded from our Junior Suite to a Penthouse Suite. Our room was very spacious and very well maintained. The resort website is very accurate in room descriptions so I won't repeat here. House keeping ensured the cleanliness and re-stock of the room each day and made sure we were not without anything. The public amenities were also extremely well kept and always presenting a clean and fresh odour from the daily replaced flowers.

The sea is not the placid waters you might expect from the Caribbean because of the location of the hotel (border of Atlantic and Caribbean). It does however have its upsides in that the body boarding and other waterspouts are exciting but do require you pay a little attention to the little ones. The water is very warm (typically 26c/27c) and the sand is white and unblemished by litter. It should be said this stretch of beach is far better than any of the bays we were recommended to go to. In fact the bays are difficult to park at and we noticed a number of storm water outlets running into the sea close by. This is a big positive for the resort to have this private stretch of beach. Also you do not get hassled by beach vendors. There are the occasional ones who are permitted to access the beach and they are strictly forbidden to hassle beyond an initial expression of interest.

There are two restaurants for those who wish to dine within the hotel. The first is Lanterns and the second is Waters Edge. We dined both within the hotel and occasionally outside but most of our meals were within due to a very tired and exhausted 9yr old (from 8+ hours of pool and sea play). For three of our days at the resort Waters Edge was closed for refurbishment however when it opened we were not disappointed. I will add to this section on dining that it is the Achilles Heal of the resort. We had two bad experiences that I have to put down to broken process. Both the front of restaurant staff and the chefs are excellent. The food that comes out of the kitchen is first class, however we had two instances out of two nights that were A La Carte dining where the time taken from food order to making it to the table was excessively long. On questioning the GM of the resort I established that they had only recently (two weeks previous) taken back the ownership of the restaurants in house hence the refurbishment. It was a problem but I do expect the resort to have ironed out this little blemish by the time of this review publication.

I have read reports of uninterested staff and miserable faces. We did not experience that - on the contrary many staff were proactive in knowing their customers and always smiled and welcoming. The beach and Water-sports guys were just great in helping with sun shades and requests my 9yr old daughter might have made.

All in all we had a great time and I think I can speak for our fellow travellers in saying this hotel lives up to expectations.


Would I stay again? - Absolutely.


Summary Positives:
Very friendly, positive and helpful staff.
Perfect location (obviously based on our preference).
Very clean and well maintained.

Summary Negatives:
Unless you are very picky there are none other than the infrequent inconsiderate smokers who ignore the requests not to smoke in public areas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Manager at Bougainvillea Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review!

Bougainvillea's rooms are some of the largest rooms on the island and we are happy you noticed!

Maxwell beach does sometimes tend to get choppy, however this is normally only the case when there is an offshore swell or stormy weather. As a result our guests do get a bit of a change and some boogey boarding thrills should the weather be so inclined!

Our restaurants have recently undergone some dramatic changes we are pleased to let you know that our Head Chefs and Bartenders have already been creating innovative and wonderful things! We can promise you that on your next visit we hope to surprise and exceed all your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to write us up and we look forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have to barbados many times but chose this hotel as this time we had our 6year old daughter in tow. We have stayed all over the island some of which were higher rated than bourganvillia but we wouldn't study anywhere else now. Staff are amazingly friendly. We had a deluxe one bedroom apartment which was perfect. Spotlessly clean, extremely well equipped and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in (more so than the savoy in London). My daugthter asked to ho knto the kids club (which she had never fone before) and absoloutely loved it, do went back most days st her request) thankyou melissa. There are a few nights with entertainment, I would recommend you see the band on Sunday night as they are amazing. Entertainment usually finished about 10.30 but this is late enough. As we up early every morning and made theist of our days.
The restaurant lanterns is good but we did go down the gap most nights. A decent meal with a couple of drinks. A starter each and a no fuss main is going to set you back £100. Which can get expensive but this is barbados.
We ate a couple of times from leroys food van (opposite hotel from 12 - 2pm mon - fri) which was delicious. And only £6 each and I could never finish the amount of food.
We did the adventure land jeep safari and it was amazing. I really recommend this trip. So much so that we cancelled out car hire as we had seen everything we wanted to on this tour. Harrison's caves is a must.
Would I return to this hotel??? In a heartbeat. The one and only slight downside was that I couldn't take my daughter into the sea on our beautiful beach as it was too rough, but all beaches in barbados are public and they're are some truly amazing ones. I can't recommend this resort highly enough. For families and people looking for a beautiful quiet holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, Manager at Bougainvillea Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review!

Bougainvillea thrives on being family friendly and we are delighted that your daughter enjoyed our Kids Club!

It is unfortunate that during your stay here we did have some off shore swells rolling in which caused the sea to be rougher than usual. This is not normally the case!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in Barbados and at the Bougainvillea Resort and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#3 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views and conveniences including kitchens, free Wi-Fi, IPAD/IPOD docking stations and flat screen TVs. Junior suites, one and two bedrooms have dining/living areas with sofa bed. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Regatta Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Resort
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bougainvillea Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.