We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class service all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Bougainvillea Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER FAMILY FUN
london
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“First class service all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked this hotel purely on trip advisor posts, I thought that at least some of the wonderful reviews would be misleading, but no , this place is top notch in every way. Donny the manager ( and Barack Obama lookalike ) has the place running like a well oiled machine , from the room service team who were fantastic to mervie in the restaurant , not one single fault. The room was spacious and well appointed, lovely beach beautiful clean and refreshing pools. You will not be disappointed .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    756
    440
    94
    25
    18
See reviews for
381
634
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northwest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stay at this resort week of Dec 8th. Very nice resort, well maintained and clean. We had a room with a kitchen in it, comes with all appliances. The room was spacious and a great balcony with an ocean view. No bugs at all!! Rooms had air conditioning too. The ground arent too big, just the right amount of grass, pools, trees etc. Highly reccommend this resort as the balance of pools, beach is perfect. The on-site restaurant tries their best to satisfy all your needs. They also have entertainment several of the nights, it was a nice touch and added to making dinner interesting and lively. They server breakfast thru dinner each day which we tried out and all meals were very good.
The Staff was VERY helpful. My wife and I couldnt believe how friendly and helpful everyone was. My sister's room had a problem with the airconditioner, they came and repaired it immediately and offer a few free drinks, which wasnt necessary at all.
The location is very good. close to St Lawrance Gap and about 15 from Bridgetown.
Will definitely go back to this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Had a fantastic one week stay, on arrival we were upgraded from deluxe studio to deluxe one bedroom which was a nice surprise. As well we missed our flight and arrived a day late, the hotel was nice enough not to charge us the night we missed. I consider that a nice bonus since many hotels would still insist on charging. The room itself was nice and clean and the resort is right on the beach. The beach waters are very swimable with small waves, we got some boogie boards which were complimentary from the water sports desk provide by the hotel. Ate at lanterns a cople times, breakfast is good. Dinner wasn't that great from a value perspective, I'd recommend trying other places on the island. We rented a car for the full week and the area is great as a hub to travel from if you want to check out the island. Very close to st lawrence gap, listings and bridgetown is not too far either.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Bougainvillia from 5th until 19th December 2012- our 6th visit, the last being in April this year. We appreciate a self-catering resort that allows freedom of where to eat on the island.
The resort has always been excellent and we have never even tried to look at other resorts on the island. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, the staff exceptionally friendly and courteous, the tap water is incredibly pure, the entertainment is superb, and the beach is fantastic.
We particularly like the Guest room facilities that can be used on your last day having checked out of your room. This means you can stay on the beach and have a place to shower and change before you need to depart.
We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the sea and wonderful gardens. Views from the third floor up are best but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Absolutely delightful, from the rum punch when we were welcomed to the goodbyes when we left. My strongest praise for this resort goes to the staff there, who were friendly and helpful at all times. We had a deluxe one bedroom unit on the ground level, overlooking the pool and a few steps to the beach and the ocean. The bougainvillea were in full bloom. Everything was clean, neat and spotless. The beach where we spent a lot of time and and pool area were uncrowded. We had 3 dinners and one lunch at the Lantern's restaurant and they were excellent. Especially, we recommend the Thursday Caribbean buffet which included entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Maybe I'm being unfair when I score this hotel as a 'poor'. We had to stay in this hotel for one night as our BA flight from Gatwick to Bridgetown, Barbados was delayed by four and a half hours so we missed the connecting flight with Liat Airlines to St Vincent. Our room was a good size but there was not even a bottle of water in the room to clean our teeth with. The curtains did not close. The bedside light wouldn't work. Nobody answered the phone for reception or housekeeping. A representative for Kuoni had made the arrangements for the accommodation but had not made any provision for our evening meal or for breakfast and as we should have been staying in a 5* All Inclusive Resort on St Vincent we were far from happy as well as being hungry and thirsty! We could have paid for our own meals in the restaurant, but we were tired and had lost the will to live by then!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BougainvilleaResort, Manager at Bougainvillea Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We are very disappointed that you decided to post this given your acknowledgement that your score of “poor” is unfair. It is always upsetting when flights are delayed, missed or cancelled and perhaps this, along with being hungry and having an expectation of a 5* All inclusive resort (something we have never represented ourselves to be) has more to do with your experience than your actual stay.

When we receive a call about airline passengers who are inconvenienced, we do our best to accommodate them, regardless of the time of night and the lack of notice and this is what would have been done in your case.

Meals would have been the responsibility of your booking agent, airline or yourself. We do offer a pre-book option on meals but this was not requested when your booking was made with us. It is unfortunate that your stay was not based on better circumstances as we are confident that you would have been able to enjoy our restaurant & bars and the convenience of the well-equipped kitchen facilities offered in your room.

You may also like to note that Barbados is a coral and limestone island as compared to most of the other islands in the Eastern Caribbean, which are volcanic. The coral & limestone creates a natural filtration system and as a result, Barbados has one of the purest water supplies in the world. Our water is safe to drink from the tap and very safe for cleaning teeth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Wow, I was blown away by my amazing vacation I just had (end of November-beginning of December 2012), by how friendly and accommodating all the staff was that was working. The entire resort itself has a friendly, relaxing, welcoming feel to it. The amazing views that each of the rooms offer, the two pools to choose from (one with a swim in bar), the beautiful white sand beach and crystal clear blue water are only steps away, your won't have to leave the resort to have an amazing Caribbean vacation. Top all that off with the fact that if you leave your windows open at night, you can listen to the waves crash along the shore, giving you a peaceful sleep...

However, if you do decide you want to do something more exciting, Oistins Fish Market, is within walking distance to the East, offering amazing food and entertainment, or the same distance away to the West, St.Lawrence Gap offers a wide variety of restaurants of all kinds of cultural backgrounds, as well as a very lively nightlife scene.

Rent a car one day or hire a taxi and do a tour of the island! One day my family rented a car, and the other day my grandma and her elderly friends hired a taxi to take them on a scenic tour, this was easily arranged through the front desk and they provided us with many options to choose from. So many beautiful places to check out, it will make it hard to leave once your vacation has ended!!!

Bougainvillea truly makes you feel as though you are in Paradise. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#3 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views and conveniences including kitchens, free Wi-Fi, IPAD/IPOD docking stations and flat screen TVs. Junior suites, one and two bedrooms have dining/living areas with sofa bed. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Regatta Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Resort
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bougainvillea Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.