We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed there in December, Best Vacation Ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Bougainvillea Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER FAMILY FUN
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stayed there in December, Best Vacation Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Wow, I was blown away by my amazing vacation I just had (end of November-beginning of December 2012), by how friendly and accommodating all the staff was that was working. The entire resort itself has a friendly, relaxing, welcoming feel to it. The amazing views that each of the rooms offer, the two pools to choose from (one with a swim in bar), the beautiful white sand beach and crystal clear blue water are only steps away, your won't have to leave the resort to have an amazing Caribbean vacation. Top all that off with the fact that if you leave your windows open at night, you can listen to the waves crash along the shore, giving you a peaceful sleep...

However, if you do decide you want to do something more exciting, Oistins Fish Market, is within walking distance to the East, offering amazing food and entertainment, or the same distance away to the West, St.Lawrence Gap offers a wide variety of restaurants of all kinds of cultural backgrounds, as well as a very lively nightlife scene.

Rent a car one day or hire a taxi and do a tour of the island! One day my family rented a car, and the other day my grandma and her elderly friends hired a taxi to take them on a scenic tour, this was easily arranged through the front desk and they provided us with many options to choose from. So many beautiful places to check out, it will make it hard to leave once your vacation has ended!!!

Bougainvillea truly makes you feel as though you are in Paradise. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    757
    441
    94
    25
    18
See reviews for
382
635
22
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed in the one bedroom suite in December. Totally relaxed atmosphere and the staff are very courteous. Would suit families and couples alike although you need to go into Oistins or St Lawrence gap for the nightlife.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I took my family here in November - we had a great time. we found it interesting that this year we paid less than the all inclusive by a lot of $$$ and the staff were nicer. mmm. Coming from the states Barbados wassnt the cheapest place to go, having said that we got value from resort and the interest in ensuring everything goes well with your stay in unbelievably good. From check in, to the lovely ladies and gent serving at the bar, Sonia, Roxy and Heulio ( I think his name was - soorry about that), to the lovely housekeepers who kept our room really clean. When my eldest daughter got sick one of the housekeepers went and got some soda to calm her stomach and then checked on her a few days later. Terrific caring service. Just to clarify this wasnt anything food related - I think it was a cocktail on teeenage and travelling! My youngest daughter is already talking about going back next year - DONT tell her- but we will. In short this property was excellent in every way and all our interactions with staff were extremely friendly ( but genuine friendly and caring) not like big chains.We love this place and the staff especially - look ofrward to booking again.For families and couples in fact anyone this is a great resort and the beach was closeby and clean. location to Oistens and the Gap were all within5-10 minutes ride. We did try the food on the resort and it was excellent - the main reasoin we didnt eat more in the resort was because we like to try different places -

Room Tip: We did use Connie out side for lunch - Connie and Lee have vans each that bring different types of f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Falls,NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing six night stay at this well maintained and friendly resort. Two beaches and two pools absorbed all guests quite nicely. The second pool and beach were uncrowded. Our one bedroom with separate living room and kitchen was beautifully appointed. They don't tell you up front but if you ask you can borrow blenders, toasters, barbeque equipment etc. Ask! All desk attendants were extremely helpful and friendly, taxi always waiting out front. We had lunch at the outdoor beach restaurant, nicely prepared, priced well for a resort. Our last morning wake up call, confirmed by us twice, never happened making our tardy trip to the airport anxiety laden. Not having a meal plan and going off the resort was entering the world of poverty on an island with little infrastructure, a shocking contrast and sad to witness even though we are seasoned world travelers. Restaurant and grocery prices were sky high, ie lunch @$42US was the norm on a Sunday drive along the Atlantic coast. Even at the excellent Brown Sugar restaurant lunch for 2 was $64 US but the setting was enjoyable with good food, not great food. We didn't care for the fish that was out and asked if there was other fish and were brought beautifully cooked Flying Fish. We thought Ostins was over rated and overpriced, lots of pressure from hawking booth owners. The small cove hugging St Lawrence Gap had many restaurants to choose from, we had a nice meal at Cafe Sol but service was very slow. Our best find was a take out or eat in buffet in the duty free shop Cave Sheppard in Bridgetown on the second floor in the front of the building. Our fish was delicious, large portions, good prices and friendly helpful service. Cappuccino lovers be forewarned - this is a former English Colony that tends toward tea, search for a good cup o cappuccino was challenging, beware of instant, ask first! Ramshackle Bar (St James Parish, Mt Steadfast, on Highway 1) was a good experience due to the beach setting, ambiance and ex pat Brits. Food choices were mainly fried but good, lively beach scene. Big numbers of snorklers were observing turtles.
We would advise this resort with a meal plan for those looking for a relaxing full service mid sized resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here the first week in December and had a wonderful time. We stayed in a studio and were very happy with the room. It had a large balcony, view of the beach/ocean, a separate bedroom area, nice sized living room area, and a fully equipped kitchen. Everything was nice, modern and clean. The kitchen had all kinds of pots, pans, a colander, silverware, dishes, cups, microwave, toaster, oven, stove, freezer and fridge. The only real complaint I had with the room was the AC, as it was extremely weak. There are also no paper towels in the kitchen.

The beach was gorgeous- decent sized waves, soft sand, clear water. Be careful of the crabs that crawl out of the large rocks at either end of the beach! We also saw a large monkey near the pool bar one afternoon- very cool. They supposedly come out at about 6am and run free around the premises when no one is out there yet. There were always plenty of beach chairs and the guy at the sports activities stand will put an umbrella up for you if you ask. Make sure to catch a good sunset on a night it's not cloudy- we got amazing pictures of one of them!

We did some souvenir shopping in Bridgetown, which wasn't that impressive a town. We wish we had known that Oistins Fish Fry not only has fish, but also chicken and pork, so it's worth checking it out even if you don't like fish. The hotel offers free shuttles to both Bridgetown and Oistins on certain days and times.

The food was extremely expensive at the resort and the quality of the food depended upon which time you ordered it. Same with drinks- some seemed to have no alcohol, others were very strong. Denis at the pool bar makes very strong drinks so I highly recommend him:) My fiance loved Leroy's van that came to the front of the hotel for lunch every day selling sandwiches. Very good value.

Overall, we received excellent service and accommodations. The entire staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and eager to help. They never made us feel like we were a burden and always had a smile for us. I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Wow, we loved the Bougainvillea Beach Resort hotel. We went there with 2 kids aged 3 & 4 and the staff were sooo friendly to them. Roxy, Sonia and Manuel were stars but the whole staff were excellent. I went there on a surfing holiday and managed to get some good surf at near by south point. Zed surf place is nearby and you can easily hire stuff.

We had the 2 bedroom suite which was nice and a lovely view over the pools and sea. The beds are super comfy and the rest of the room is fine. Only 1 restaurant was open when we were there and the food was ok. The food for kids could be better as most things get served with chips but the kids did not complain!!

The pools are really nice and 1.5ft deep pool is good for the small kids. We put the kids into the kids club a couple of the times and the staff were really good. We also got a baby sitter through the hotel and had no problems.

Loved the place and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

First time at Bougainvillea and what a time it was - lovely hotel staff - all very helpfull and almost everyone we met were there for the 2nd or more time - a Canadian, Rod, was back there for the 30th time. It was not difficult to see why. Thankyou to all the staff for making our stay very enjoyable. We shall go back. John and Debbie Lowe.

Room Tip: top floor has higher ceilings and is only one flight of stairs up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#3 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views and conveniences including kitchens, free Wi-Fi, IPAD/IPOD docking stations and flat screen TVs. Junior suites, one and two bedrooms have dining/living areas with sofa bed. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Regatta Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Resort
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bougainvillea Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.