We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, great hotel and beach, would happily return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bougainvillea Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, great hotel and beach, would happily return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed 5 nights with my sister and 80 year old father recently, were met upon arrival by manager on duty, a lovely woman who made sure our booking requests were all honoured perfectly, she accompanied us to our rooms unexpectedly, a great start. We booked 2, 1 bedroom suites, which were different but both lovely, fully equipped, huge balconies, comfy beds, etc. Staff could not have done more to go out of their way, greeting you at every turn, hoping things were going well, asking about dad many times per day. We had minor issues, which were mostly caused by US, i.e. locking ourselves out of a room safe one night, then clogging a toilet another night, plus one (small) drippy air conditioning unit incident, all of which were met with the utmost professionalism and immediate attention. Then they sent a bottle of sparkling wine to one of our units, with a most unnecessary "sorry for the inconvenience" card, part-way through our stay, which was very classy indeed. We felt that we should have been sending THEM a sorry card.

Service at Lanterns (the only restaurant in operation when we were there) was great, breakfast, lunch or dinner. Prices were "as expected for Barbados" and it was refreshing to be served a couple of dinners with fresh herbs, very "au courant" ingredients, etc. The view from Lanterns, of the beach, all open air, was worth the price of any meal we enjoyed there.

The beach is wide, lots of chairs, the watersports guy will set you up in short order with an umbrella if you don't happen to grab a shady spot early in the morning. Lots of beach to walk, which we took advantage of, small to medium waves each day to swim/jump in, (seemed to be calmer in the morning hours), fellow guests also enjoying the resort, no matter if they were there for a wedding, a family trip with small kids (kiddie pool!), or a mixed group like mine. The resort was full of Brits who were good hotel companions, despite mostly keeping to their "own", understandably.

Would have to say that the only area for (huge!) improvement was the pool bar ... utterly hopeless for our entire stay and this is the bar option for most of the day. Didn't seem to matter what time it was, how busy (or not!) they were, the service was painfully slow, not cheap for sure, and they very often had only one person working, during what were very predictably busy times. They seemed to spend a lot of time chatting with a few chosen guests, ignoring their non-regulars, taking forever to make a simple rum and pineapple drink, with many questions, confounded by us redeeming our "one free drink coupons", closing earlier than the stated hours, you name it. This is truly a missed opportunity as we simply decided after a few days, that we would mix our own "free" drinks from the rum we bought at the mini-mart 50m away, but would truly have rather patronized the hotel bar, since we enjoyed the property so much and wanted to support it.

Keep in mind that the mini mart (labelled by other patrons as "grocery store") is indeed just down the street, but if you are looking to make any meals whatsoever during your stay with your full kitchenette, is really just a juice/bread/rum type of store, so no ingredients available there to make a real meal from, so you will have to make a bus/taxi run to a real grocery store if you want "kitchen ingredients". Not a big deal at all, but pack/prepare accordingly, as we will do next time.

If you are still reading (!!), please tip your housekeeping team each day with a donation of your choosing, on your pillow (that way it is not misconstrued with money you may have left around in your unit), as I doubt they share in any other tips you might leave for restaurant staff, etc., because they do the dirtiest work, at the lowest level of pay. Same goes for the gardeners, who ensure the property is regularly re-planted, watered and beautified, but who are the silent heroes, no?

One night when my dad and I were returning to our respective units, after our usual midnight watching of stars, listening to ocean waves gracefully crashing in the background, we ran into a hotel worker, decked out in a hair net and with an enormous bag of garbage over his shoulder, and before we could even express a "good evening", were met with him asking us if our evening and stay were pleasant/to our liking. I of course said that we were having a very enjoyable evening but that we were thinking his evening was less than ideal, given the circumstances. This is the kind of employees this hotel has put in place. Nevermind that I had also gotten our suitcases mixed up upon arrival, which saw me carrying my dad's over to his unit and vice versa, but of course, some very busy employee witnessed this and gave me some serious questioning and insisted that I needed some help, he would give it (not a bellman for sure) and was none too pleased to hear that I would do it myself, (due to his service standards) since it had been my mistake, but big thanks anyway.

The only big outing we undertook was to Mullins Bay beach, which was touted as a great excursion/great beach, which cost quite a bit to get there and back from in a taxi (dad was 80, not too interested in the local transit), but was a great disappointment. We arrived to a rasta dude totally harassing my dad, barely letting us past him, who was apparently the watersports guy on that beach, but who was definitely high as a kite and more than a little obnoxious. The beach was not nearly as good as at the hotel, but did cost us lots to get chairs, an umbrella and which saw us visited by rasta dude a few times in the ONE hour we stayed, about us taking part in his "motorized" watersports offerings. Um, no thanks. There is a beach club resto/bar there, which seemed to be very separate and apart from the dude and his brother who rented chairs, but we didn't stay long enough to take part. A bit of a wasted day/taxi fares, but an experience nonetheless.

Didn't make it into Oistins for the big Friday night Fish fry event, having arrived late aft on a Friday, but had a couple of affordable restaurant recommendations in hand from a somewhat local before departing Toronto, all of which worked out to some extent. Within walking distance from the hotel is the Croton Inn, which is a very "local" place, but served quite good food from a limited menu, and you can definitely walk there. We also took a taxi one night to the plaza located directly across the street from the Accra Beach Hotel, where we ate at "Just Grillin", which again serves simple, local food at a reasonable price - outdoor eating with no fancy frills, which is just fine with me. The more sophisticated/touristy place we went to, was called "Tapas", a very affordable taxi ride away, which offered some very interesting culinary choices, true to their name, in the form of small dishes, meant to be shared, from a large menu of choices. Great ambiance, beautiful location on a "boardwalk" and the ocean (get a table on the second floor for a view), delightful food at "Barbados affordable" prices.

Bottom line is that we enjoyed the hotel immensely, and we have stayed ALL over the Caribbean over the decades. The service and seemingly-genuine friendliness of the hotel was fabulous, rooms were great, beach was awesome (we are BIG beach people) and we would return in a heartbeat. Barbados is a very unique island holiday experience, in that it is outside of the main Hurricane belt, very close to South America, but also enjoys a higher standard of living than many of its fellow nearby islands, hence the somewhat higher prices. It is highly civilized and priced accordingly. It is not unaffordable, but the cost of a trip there can quickly exceed your budget if you do not plan, do your homework, or stay at an all-inclusive resort, which more of are popping up in recent years. I was married there, 25 years ago, but honestly found that, armed with info, I did not spend more money this trip, all these years later, you just have to be smart and prepared to investigate before leaving. I'm not a shopper, so have no comment on that, other than to say that people whose primary reason for travel is shopping, should truly re-evaluate their lives and get in touch with the ocean, the people and the experience of travel, without mindlessly gathering more consumer goods and "labels" without experiencing their surroundings. Barbados is well worth the longer flight and the slightly higher prices, if you are a seasoned traveller, Done it all, Barbados wins hands down. Will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    461
    97
    25
    19
See reviews for
401
663
22
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband booked this trip as a surprise 30th wedding anniversary gift for us, although we were only there for 3 nights and wish we were there longer. On the way there from the airport (15 mins) we were a little dubious about the place because of the route getting there was like in some residential area and in the middle of nowhere but as soon as we got there, we were so impressed with the decor and the view of the sea from the lobby! The studio room we booked was clean, bright, spacious and comfortable, it has a good size balcony and looking over to the beach. The bathroom was huge and a adequate size of a kitchen big enough to cook a decent meal. Outside round the back of the hotel, there were 3 different size pools and a really nice pool bar which serves some cocktails and beer for half price during a happy hour everyday. They have a nice restaurant which you can have breakfast, lunch & dinner (watch the sunset) right on the beach, heavens! This a very friendly and sociable hotel and we met a few people during those short 3 days. We will definitely go and stay there again if we go back to Barbados! First class! Well done!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We decided to splurge a little on our last night in Barbados, and so stayed one night at this hotel. We didn't get to spend a great deal of time there, which was a shame in a sense because it had more of a resort feel than our previous hotel, but it stuck in our memory nonetheless. Their restaurant had great atmosphere, and though our lunches were ok-ish, the desserts we got later that night after a sunset catamaran tour were fantastic. The hotel's beach was also quiet and nice, and the night we were there, there was a live band which people were enjoying from both the beach and the hotel's pools.

The room itself - and we're not sure if they gave us this room because we said it was our honeymoon, though there was a wonderful bottle of champagne waiting for us in the fridge - was amazing. It was a top floor room with a private deck with a hammock, balcony with a view of the pools and beach, and a four post bed with a huge bathroom. We wish we could have stayed more nights to enjoy that room!

The only odd thing on our stay was that we left our bags at the hotel before we did the catamaran tour, as our room was not ready yet, and they appeared to stay sitting right across from the front desk while we had our lunch, and were still there when we left on the tour. It seemed okay because they were in full view of the desk staff, but it seemed strange that they weren't taken somewhere more hidden.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Traveled here in October with my family and we had a few issues upon arrival that were quickly rectified as mentioned by my mum on a review below.

The location is fantastic, right on the beach as well as a good base to get around to Bridgetown and to oistins. Transport is also great whether you want to use taxis or the buses.

The only drawback during my stay was having the room cleaned after 2pm nearly everyday! It kind of disrupts your relaxing time if you're in the room and you have to move to get your room cleaned!

The staff and people of Barbados are extremely friendly and made my first trip to the country a great experience. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Block 3 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BougainvilleaResort, Manager at Bougainvillea Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Our thanks to you and your Mum for your reviews; we are happy to know that you are both looking forward to your next holiday with us!

With regard to housekeeping service, our room attendants work a full 8 hour day, so some rooms will be cleaned earlier than others. Generally, this does not present a problem as many guests choose to spend their days on the beach, by the pools or exploring the island. However, anyone requiring early service may request it and we would be happy to arrange accordingly. Please be sure to request on your next visit as we would want you to have a great stay with no drawbacks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickinghall
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 weeks stay at the Bougainvillea Beach Resort from 22nd October to 5th November .On first impressions the room appeared to be a bit disappointing , the grouting in the shower was grubby and even though we were told that the room had been updated it still looked a bit tired but when we went onto our balcony we had a sea view which was fairly amazing especially at sunrise. We opted to go self catering and were pleased that we had a full sized cooker in the kitchenette area of our accomodation, microwave, kettle and a large fridge with a freezer compartment and various cooking utensils.
There is a very small shop nicknamed 'Arkwrights' by some and the Co op by others just outside of the hotel perimeter which sold bread milk etc but these were at a premium price compared to the Supermarket, There is one located in Oistins which is a about a 20 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi ride away, The taxi ride will cost you $20 bbd each way. We did find that prices there were more expensive compared to the UK but as long as you tried to keep to local produce then it wasn't too bad. We did find however find meat and eggs expensive .
Now Back to the Bougainvillea.
The staff were always polite and helpful , Jose and Onika and Melissa and Sue to mention just a few, but nothing was too much trouble for anyone from the groundstaff to the security guards to Nicholas( i think that was his name ) who patiently put out our sun umbrellas and took numerous requests for snorkelling equipment, kayaks etc.
The weather was good just a couple of showers but they had been and gone before you you realised it .The beach was lovely about a 1/4 of a mile long just enough for a quick walk to stretch your legs if a break from lounging on the sun beds was required. Unfortunately we missed the hatching turtles which made their way from the nest to the sea in the early evenign but were told it was an amazing sight
Our room was always clean and tidy when we went up for our lunch at about 1 with more than enough fresh towels laid out everyday.
There is entertainment laid on a few nights a week but you don't have to eat at the restaurant to enjoy it, as it is all open air . There is a managers cocktail party and craft event held on a monday evening which is quite enjoyable with free rum and fruit punch.
Overall we would recommend the bougainvillea and are looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just returned from staying 11 days at this hotel (25th October - 5th November) and I will give a fair and honest appraisal of the hotel.

We went to Barbados for a family wedding (held at the Crane hotel - A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. location), so it was my first time in Barbados, but not in the Caribbean.

On arrival, the room allocated to us was on the fourth floor - no lifts! My husband, daughter and I did not like the room (not a good start) and we went and spoke with the Manager. She was very helpful and looked on their computer to see what other rooms were available. I was shown two rooms in other parts of the hotel. We took the second room which had more space than the first two and had an excellent view overlooking the pool and the ocean. Thank you (Lena?) you turned around our holiday!

Lanterns Restaurant: Staff here were very nice - hi Anne! However, the food is repetitive and for what you get, it is expensive! We quickly got bored with the menu. Thankfully, Leroy came to the rescue. Monday to Friday, Leroy has his food van parked at the front of the hotel and for $20 - 25 Bajan dollars, you can get a full meal. Trust me, it is better value for money than Lanterns. (The rooms have kitchen facilities, so if you want to cook while on holiday you can do so, there is also a bbq drum which you can book out if you want hold your own bbq night.)

Bedroom: The rooms were nice with a large bed and kept very kept very clean, however, my only gripe is that the rooms should be cleaned much earlier - on several occasions, our room was not cleaned until 2pm, and the latest time was 3pm!!! My other gripe - I know - I lied, was the sofa bed. Uncomfortable if two people are sleeping on it as it dips in the middle and if you have long legs, they will dangle over the edge.

We travelled to Oistins for the fish fry on several occasions and we loved it. Oistins is a must for anyone going to Barbados - especially if you want a change of food. Uncle George is the place, but be prepared to queue for up to 45 mins - however, its worth the wait.

St Lawrence Gap is not far from this hotel and there are many other restaurants to eat at. We went to Harlequin several times and thoroughly enjoyed the food,

All in all, Bougainvillea is a nice hotel and we would go back - only if we could be guaranteed to have the same room!!

I would have scored the hotel excellent, but the restaurant and the late cleaning meant we had to deduct some points!

Barbados is a beautiful island - friendly people, gorgeous beaches, lovely food and a good transportation system. The taxi's are clean, air conditioned, comfortable and always available. On several occasions we used the government buses - blue - you need to have the correct money - $2.00 Bajan, to get around to local places. The smaller buses pack too many people in and are dangerous so watch out!

Go to Barbados, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Block 3 - the view are very good and only 90 seconds to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a one bedroom in the main building over looking the pool. The room was a good size and the kitchen was open and the living room had a pool/partial ocean view cause we were on the 4th floor.The staff was really nice and I think it was a Tuesday when they had manager's coctail which was nice. The beach was a bit too rough for swimming most of the time but still enjoyed it. The worst part was the buildings were sort of separated so when it poured you always got soaked trying to get from the rooms section to the restaurants. Location was good if you had a car but if you didn't, you had to walk about 10 minutes up to the main street to catch the bus. Overall, was good and will go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#3 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Resort
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bougainvillea Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.