We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Spray Beach Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Spray Beach Apartments to your Saves list
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Surfer's Point, Inch Marlow, 17122, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Bishopville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The apartments, location, and staff were all excellent! Off the beaten path but just what we were looking for. Close to the airport yet you would never know an airport was close. We stayed in the 3 bedroom/ 2bath apartment and had plenty of room for our crew of 4 adults and 2 kids. (16 and 14 years old)
We had amazing views of Bajan waters at Surfer's point from our deck. The waterfront grounds are covered with an plush "putting green" like grass where you can sun bathe and keep lookout for the abundant turtles feeding in the area.
The staff was super friendly and always helpful with services or when asked questions or recommendations for restaurants or various sights.
We will definitely go back soon!

Room Tip: All rooms have amazing views of the ocean and are easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    45
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
64
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Summary: A quiet location that's great for surfing, but you'll need to travel to get to Town.

Our studio room was near the sea, and on the ground floor. It was decently-sized with a door out to a small terrace and the resort garden overlooking the ocean spraying on the rocky beach. Someone earlier said "don't expect the Ritz" and I'd agree e.g. the bed was creaky and towels were adequate but on the thin side. It was clean, though, so no complaints on that front. Our apartment had a kitchenette area with a fridge and a small wall-mounted TV (which we never used so no idea what channels was available).

There was a dining area in a sort of gazebo in the middle of the resort. Food was good! Unlimited continental breakfast (cereal, toast, coffee/tea, fruit, OJ, pastries) with omelettes and more available for BD$5-10. Fresh fish and other snacks every day for lunch, though dinner was only served on certain evenings (we enjoyed the movie night).

There was a small selection of candies, soda, and beer available at reception, but nothing too substantial.

Wifi was fast when it worked - one of the networks disappeared towards the end of our stay and we had to go to the office or stand out in the garden for an Internet connection. Mildly frustrating but you don't go to Barbados to surf the web, do you?

Service was excellent, everyone was very friendly and helpful - though I found that true across the whole island.

The location is very handy for Zed's surf school (which I recommend), and there's a small sandy beach a few hundred yards away, but the area next to Ocean Spray is rocky. There aren't many bars or restaurants nearby, so you'll have to rent a car, take taxis (BD$40+ to get to Bridgetown) or take the bus to get around.

Handy hint: just two minutes' walk up the road there's a minimart - on the left side of that, follow the path and stand at the far side of the next road to catch the $2 bus into Oistins or beyond.

Room Tip: Waves are constantly crashing against the rocks so if you want the most quiet, get a room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We wanted to stay at Zed's Surf Adventure, but they were booked, so we found these apartments, only a two-minute walk from Zed's, with the same great beach view and relaxed vibe. It's also close to the US$1 taxi bus to Oisten's, a must-do for Friday night (fresh sea food, reggae music, dancing, and people watching).

We stayed in a ground-floor studio apartment that had an a/c, wifi, and kitchen. We mostly hung out on the patio, which looked out onto a nice lawn, which was perfect for lounging/reading or watching the surfers.

The staff were really friendly and helpful, the adjoining outdoor restaurant served fresh, indian-spiced fish dishes and even had an outdoor movie screen. It hosted special nights - our favorite was the grilled fish night and the movie night - we ate Indian food and then watch City of God under the stars - brilliant!

Only a couple of very minor quibbles. The safe wasn't working, the mattress was a big saggy in the middle, and the wifi would crap out quite a bit, but I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it for couples, families, and single travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Don't expect the Ritz but our stay was very pleasant with Mood being a great host. Nice staff and we were well cared for. Andrew and Sade at the front desk were very professional and polite. Great to have a little kitchen to prep some of our own meals. No AC but didn't need it with a constant breeze through the sliding doors. Good little surf spot for surfers of all abilities just down the beach. Great spot if your looking for value away from the big tourist areas! Thanks Mood for the great East Indian dinner! Yum!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I want to share my lovely experience
with any one who is seeking a hideaway in Barbados its
off the crowded and party scene but at very close distance to accessibility.
Ocean Spray Apartment is located on the south coast 10 minutes from the airport . The taxi driver is the one who brought me here thank you ever so much Mickael Parris! This place is amaizing.It is beyond the regular guest house as I find that this is a true concept of its kind.. As you check in you notice it is ran professionaly the rates are very reasonable and you are given all the informations to get around.
there is an immediate sense of peacefulness and de stressing...
The architecture fits the geography and the history and all rooms are filled with the natural ocean spray and the breeze, these elements alone are worth the stay.
Confortable are the rooms and the beds and neat are the bathroom. Choose to stay on the beach front you will be steps away from the waves crushing on the rocks and the garden is so lovely and calls for meditation . If you choose the rooms overlooking the garden the view is speechless. I am not a yogi but evidently after spending only 3 days in this property I did not feel I needed to go anywhere as the ambiance here is so rejuvanating. You have a wonderful gazebo operated by Lee Ann who fed me with her succulent gluten free sugar free pineapple coconut cookies and bars and I wish I could live on those. There are so many places which have a fancy spa but here you get the comfort of a 4 stars hotel without pressure or staffy ambiance it is clean healthy laid back and above and beyond expectations and this comes naturally. "Mood"
The owner creativity is evident and reflects on his property.. Because of other places have close down I checked in for the first time and it will be not the last. I was very impressed and highly recommend. I have spent every single winter in the past 20 years in barbados and I am so glad that i have now found my new spot.
See you next November

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

i have stayed at ocean spray numerous times and each time ive been pleasantly suprised, the staff (everyone from reception to kitchen) treat you like an old friend and make you feel like royalty.
The manager Mahmood, not only told us where to go for days/nights out but took us! it was beyond expectations.
The breakfast is amazing.The restaurant is situated on a grass green being licked by the ocean "spray" totally romantic and magical.
It feels like home everytime i return and i would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a different,special,personal,one off experience of barbados!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Ocean Spray is a very nice place to stay during the summer if you like peace and quiet. The Ocean Spray is what memories are made of. Real nice continental breakfast plan. You need to walk 3 blocks to get to public transportation.The staff is sooooo friendly. Thanks Sade and Andrew at the front desk. Thanks Leanne and Keisha for the good food and thanks June for keeping our room so nice. The sunrises are the best at the Ocean Spray. Thank you Mood for letting your team do there best.

Room Tip: Ocean side has the BEST view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Apartments

Address: Surfer's Point, Inch Marlow, 17122, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our secluded ocean-front boutique apartment hotel is located on the famous Surfer's Point in Inch Marlow, Christ Church, Barbados. We offer our guests 25 fully self-contained apartments ranging from studios, one bedrooms, and our 2 & 3 bedroom family apartments are all with amazing views of the shoreline and our gardens. We are home to the best surfing and kite-surfing action in Barbados. Here you can spend the day surfing or take one of our off-road bicycle tours or get in touch with nature in our tropical gardens. Mamu's Gazebo by the seaside offers daily breakfast and lunch. We are only 4 miles from the Airport and 10 min from Oistins, close enough to all the action but off the beaten track. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Apartment Hotel Christ Church
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Spray Beach Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.