We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divi Southwinds Great Vacation Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Divi Southwinds Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Divi Southwinds Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   St. Lawrence Main Road, BB15017, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Divi Southwinds Great Vacation Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've been staying at the Divi Southwinds for the past 6 years for Christmas and New Year's. It's actually a very nice place to stay if you want a family style vacation.

First, its location is excellent. Barbados is in the Caribbean and has excellent weather. During this time of year you can expect only 1 or 2 days with substantial rain. Barbados has excellent dining and there are almost no casinos (which is good in my opinion). The water is amazing - 80 degrees and clear blue. Sea turtles are often visible in the waves. Divi Southwinds is located in Christ Church, on the Gap - a secondary road populated with restaurants, bars and street food. Dinner is as easy was walking out of the Divi and heading to one of the excellent restaurants nearby. We rarely leave the Gap during our 14 day stay.

Second, the Divi is 3 -star hotel at best. You are not staying there for the luxurious accommodations, but for the value. The units are mostly 1 bedroom, with a sleep sofa and a small kitchenette. It's easy enough to shop at the local grocery stores and cook a lot of meals right in your room. We typically eat breakfast and lunch in our room and do dinner out. The rooms are clean and the staff is pretty accommodating. My only complaint is that the mattresses are rather hard - but I am spoiled with a tempur-pedic mattress at home. There are several "Penthouse" style units on the 5th floor that have the bedrooms upstairs (2 beedrooms). These are much more comfortable if you have more than 4 people in your family. You still get a sleep sofa in the living room.

Third, the beach is amazing. Gentle waves, blue water and white sand. It's a quiet beach with little to no motor craft to spoil the ambiance. We often spend the entire day on the beach - with only a brief break for lunch. The sunsets are not to be missed.

Fourth, if the beach is not your thing, then enjoy the very large pool. It's kept clean and its temperate.

Fifth, the Divi is very reasonably priced. We're now timeshare owners, but the cost is relatively low per night.

The cons of the Divi: Wifi stinks - they keep trying to improve the service, but its just never reliable; the staff is relatively laid back which can mean waiting; never try to check in before 4pm - your room won't be ready; avoid the on-premise restaurant - the food isn't great and there's much better just a block or two away.

In conclusion, if you are seeking a location in Barbados that good for a family vacation, with a great beach and each access to some very good dining, I recommend the Divi Southwinds.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for pool side rooms - you get a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    115
    84
    38
    31
See reviews for
83
105
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Rented a Penthouse for our vacation and was very pleased. I enjoyed my stay at Divi and would definitely return. The rooms were clean, neat and beds were comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped but the electric burners on the stove would not stay flat to the surface. The only con is that housekeeping needs to be mindful of the mold build up around the rim of the tub and shower curtain. The day we got there we asked for the shower curtain to be replaced. It never happened. Days later we had to eventually ask a housekeeper to please scrub the shower curtain and tub area which she did. I encountered one rude maintenance employee but he didn't stop the show. The other staff members were very pleasant and friendly.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in room 206. Nice room.
I tried the breakfast served in the dining area. The western omlette was ok except for this rubbery cheese used as one of the ingredients. Lots of food available for $40 Bds. The sausage and bacon were not good. Birds keep you company while you eat. Don't go to far or they think it is their turn to eat.

The Internet access is slow at .5 Mb per second down and .2 Mb per second up. That is glacially slow. They use this nomadix system that requires you to log in every time you turn on your device. Sometimes it was not available and you would have to call the front desk for them to call tech support.

Also there is no password recovery or reset.
Also they don't have BlueRay DVD Players.

I also had a broken taped up tv remote with old batteries in it.

Doing a load of laundry with cost $10 Bds.

The kitchen is well stocked with dishes and cutlery. There is an electric stove and small refrigerator. The air conditioning is noisy but keeps the room very cool as you may like.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a very tired hotel which needs a serious/radical makeover. The women on Reception was surly and unhelpful -two of our party of 5 had booked direct with the hotel -despite having an email confirmation from hotel she refused to accept it and insisted on charging them both an extra US$96 -this was eventually refunded, but only after a discussion with the manager. The lifts didn't work , the room air-conditioning system very decrepit and noisy and the bath tap didn’t supply water at anything more than a trickle of tepid water! Our "welcome" free drink was served in plastic cups by a very surly barman who was clearly irritated to be disturbed from watching the TV. Breakfast was pitiful. In summary a hotel which needs urgent investment and renovation -it appears to be run for the benefit and convenience of staff rather than guests! In summary, awful service and very poor quality rooms and facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Southwinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Having reviewed your commentary on your recent stay with us, I’d like to take this opportunity to thank you for notifying us of your observations and disappointments. Customer service is the most important issue that we in the Hospitality Industry are faced with, and one that we try to tackle to be best of our ability each day. As a resort dedicated to providing superior customer service, we are continually striving to best serve our customers. When our efforts fail to meet expectations, it is important that the matter to be brought to our attention so that it can be corrected as soon as possible.

Despite not being pleased with our resort, we do hope that the remainder of your stay on the island was pleasant enough and that you’d consider returning to Barbados in the near future.

Yours truly,

Alvin Jemmott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

just come back back from a lovely stay at divi, we were put on the first floor was alittle scared as i have small children ,they said if i felt that way tomorrow they would change for a ground floor when available . but we decided to stay as we like the room and the children were sensible .
We have been coming here for the last 3 years , we feel at home the children can go off to the onsite shop on their own to buy their sweets are somethings for me, feeling independant . I thank the lovely ladies in the shop who at the end of our three week stay brought the children a little good bye present so personal .
The rooms were always cleaned nicely and oh so nice to have the washing up done when i ve benn out ,i again thank the staff .
The children and i love the managers cocktail parties always happy and fun and the lovely stalls .Juliett who can organise anything for you we went on the jammimg for the first time and kids loved it .Wanda Harriet always smiling . I thank you Alvin to having such lovely staff that make my family feel at home .
Only one downer can we please have glasses and proper plates at the beach bar .xx

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place is so quite in September. To be fair, I have to review this place for it's pros and cons.
Pros:
1. The check in and check out were a breeze.
2. St. Lawrence main road is in front of the resort where you can catch a mini bus (white with brown stripes) to Tri-Mart and Big B's supermarket and Bridgetown at the side of the resort. Across the street, you can catch the mini bus to Oistins for the Friday night fish fry or just go there to eat Bajan food or buy seafood to cook. I preferred the mini buses since the locals were more helpful and drop you where you want to go. You pay the driver or conductor $1 (US) or $2 (Bajan dollar) each way. So make sure to carry with you lots of $1 when you go to Barbados.
3. The tap water is drinkable in the resort and throughout Barbados.
4. I made reservations through Julie at the Activities center for all my tours ( Island safari, Harbour Lights dinner show extravaganza) and the shuttle that goes to Bridgetown.
5. The shuttle charged $5/person round trip from the resort to Bridgetown and from Bridgetown to the resort. The shuttle gave us 3 hours shopping. They dropped us in front of a shopping center then picked us at the same place. It was cheaper to buy fruits and vegetables in Bridgetown. We bought a lot of tropical fruits that we cannot find in the US. The fruits ripened within 2 days in the dark. Its cheaper to buy souvenirs at the small shops around Bridgetown and at Woolworth Department store.
6. We had fun at the Harbour Lights Barbados dinner show extravaganza even winning the dance contest.
7. The Island Safari was a roller coater ride but we had a wonderful time seeing the stunning scenic of the island especially Bathsheba Beach.
8. We had an enjoyable time at the Oistins Friday Fish Fry eating Bajan food and danced at the huge stage to the delight of the other tourists and Bajans alike.
9. The Band at McBride thursday night at St. Lawrence Gap (street at the back of the resort) was great but it was already 11:30 pm when they started playing and had a break after an hour.
10. The beddings and bed (king size) were very comportable.
Cons:
1. The place was dead with no single activity at all at the week we were there.
2. There were only 5 guys that attended the welcome information session on Sunday. It was not specific enough where to buy groceries and where to swim at what beach.
3. It was rough to swim at the beach at the back of the resort. You have to go to Oistins to swim.
4. The 2 restaurants at the resort were expensive. We cooked for breakfast and ate outside or bought take out for lunch and dinner. Also, Harlequin and Pisces are expensive restaurants.
5. St. Lawrence Gap was dead during the day in September and even at night with very few tourists going to night clubs or eating at the restaurants.
6. Almost all week that the pool across the restaurant was closed.
7. I was charged already at check in which was returned the next day.
8. The floor at the living seemed not yet clean the day I checked in but improved dramatically days after that.
9. Children would probably get bored staying in this resort.
10. There was no non-stick pots and pans at the unit which made cleaning longer.
11. Not recommend to drive a car since one has to drive at the left hand of the road. The mini buses and buses were very convenient.
Overall, my wife and I had a wonderful time in Barbados.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great location, close to the beach, great staff.

The pool was available for us anytime, no crowds, great events. Close to the gap and public transportation. We lived on the beach most of the time and the food was reasonably priced and pretty good

Room Tip: Garden view is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Southwinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Southwinds Beach Resort

Address: St. Lawrence Main Road, BB15017, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Divi Southwinds Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful south coast of Barbados in Christ Church, the all-suite Divi Southwinds Beach Resort is a casual Caribbean retreat. Divi Southwinds lies along a wide stretch of soft white beach and gentle waves, and is uniquely divided by the St. Lawrence Gap-a lively street, home to restaurants, nightlight and local vendors. An intimate collection of one-bedroom suites is steps from scenic Dover Beach and offers stunning ocean views. Behind the St. Lawrence Gap, over one hundred spacious one- and two-bedroom suites surround a sparkling freshwater pool and feature tropical garden views. All suites at the Divi Southwinds feature oversized private patios or balconies perfect for a sunrise breakfast, fully equipped kitchens, king-sized beds, and sleeper sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Divi Southwinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Southwinds Beach Hotel Christ Church
Hotel Divi Southwinds Beach
Divi Southwinds Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Southwinds Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.