We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Golf in Barbados” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barbados Golf Club

Barbados Golf Club
Durants, Barbados
246 428 8463
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Having just been reconstructed in 2000, this golf course provides one of the most beautiful courses on the island.
Fonthill
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun Golf in Barbados”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our third year golfing at this course however it is the first time we met the owner. His business approach and philosophy is like the island – just right.

The golf club itself is very similar to many of the courses back home in the Niagara Region Canada with regard to amenities. Staff were always great and the members are friendly and easy to talk to – expats from all over and locals. Although the Barbados golf course itself is not up to the manicured NA golf course standards it is really allot of fun to play for the average golfer. I would recommend that you bring a range finder with you because distances to the pins are hard to gauge. There are a few marshals out on the course but they tend to have a live and let live approach. There are no hospitality carts out on the course however there are plenty of water coolers made available. Also coolers are provided on all carts and you can fill it up with whatever you choose any time of day. If you happen to stay at a partnering hotel or Inn you can get an additional 10% off of your green fees. There are 3, 5 and 7 play green fee packages sold which with the discount will cost ~ $82 dollars American with the cart which is reasonable for Caribbean golf. If you are a walker it is even cheaper – and the course is very walk-able if you want your exercise. By far this is the best value for your buck for golf in Barbados.
This course is good for the ego considering it is at sea level – the fairways are hard and fast and your ball does tend to go a long way-we have only played the course in Barbados’s dry season so I can’t speak to the other seasons. You may want to think twice about your wedge play on your approaches. The soil is generally thick, sticky and will stop a wedge dead in its tracks if you try to go for high spin shots.Many of the greens are smallish and elevated in one fashion or another and it is generally hard to stop your ball. You had better also know how to read the grain on the greens – the speed difference is night and day. To make it a bit more challenging there is also always a good wind to make club selection even more difficult. The name of the game on this course is bump and run – much more links style. Relax, play and enjoy the BGC.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    32
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A fantastic Golf Course....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a fantastic golf course with friendly staff making every effort to make our day a memorable one.
The service was second to none with even the director taking time out of his day to give us help and advise not only for the golf but for local attractions and fantastic tips of the island. Our wives were welcomed in to the clubhouse to meet up for lunch at the 19th!

The course has everything you need even a drinking water facility on most of the holes.

I would certainly recommend this course to anyone who'll listen !
Thanks we will be back

Julian Medd

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“January 2013 Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is the best balance of value and course conditions on Barbados.
If you are an average golfer who likes to golf with others this is the
course for you. Very welcoming and helpful manager. Regular members
friendly. The restaurant was a nice spot for lunch after a round.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Golf on Barbados”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

What a wonderful time we had at the Barbados Golf Club golfing 3 times a week during the month of January! The course is well maintained and very scenic. We walked the course, all but the last day when we treated ourselves to power carts. We were impressed with the personable and efficient staff. We will be back next January and look forward to another month of golf at your wonderful club.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best value on Island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

It's relative cheap and easy to get on. $75-$100 with cart. Not a high end course, but has enough length. Greens a little suspect, not of N American quality. Tips.
Yardage markers are to the front of the green, not the middle.
Tons of roll, hard fairways, hard greens. I normally hit a P wedge 100 yards. Have had some P Wedges got 160 yards or more on low ball flight, a hard bounce and greens that tend to have lots of roll off the back.
On quite a few holes you need a good drive to the proper side of the fairway or you'll not be able to have a shot at the green.
If you're an average golfer do not try to hit the middle of the green with anything higher than a P Wedge or you will be off the back.
There's a very short par 4. Don't be fooled by the yardage in. It's uphill and into the breeze. I've hit a 100 yard club from 80 out and been short.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbados Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Barbados Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbados Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Barbados Golf Club to your Saves list